Author:
Category:

The story of German rave-lifers Scooter

The composition of this band changed, but the story remained the same. And today we offer to remember it...

We tell you about one of the most famous bands from Germany

"Scooter." - is a truly legendary band that has been delighting audiences with powerful electronic hits for decades. The band was formed in 1993 year in Germany. During the '90s, they released many great tracks that are still relevant today, as evidenced by the number of views of their clips on YouTube, which often surpass tens of millions.

The composition of this band changed, but the story remained the same. And today we offer to remember it.

Getting started

"Scooter, early years
"Scooter, early years

The band was officially formed in 1993, but its history began much earlier, in the mid-80s. That's when the acquaintance Hans Geerdes (aka H.P. Baxter) и Rick Jordan. The guys quickly agreed on their interests and came up with the idea that it would be a good idea to create a musical project. The sister of one of the members was invited as a vocalist, and the recording of the debut record began. Before the world was introduced to the giant "Scooter."The band experimented a lot and had a lot of downfalls. The friends had to change several names and experience a dozen genres before they became themselves. In this they were helped by their manager Jens Tele.

At first they were "Celebrate the Nun., then "The Loop."And so, at the end of 1993, the world learned about "Scooter."! Their debut single "Vallée De Larmes" entered the top 10 of the national chart and was the beginning of a tremendous career.

Creativity: the main hits and successes

H.P. Baxter
H.P. Baxter

After success. "Vallée De Larmes" The band's debut performance took place, which drew attention to the young, but very interesting project. "Scooter was rapidly gaining popularity, and already in 1995 the debut album "...and the Beat Goes On!". The record presented new high-profile hits, among which everyone is well known "Move Your Ass!" and "Hyper Hyper.". The release was followed by nominations, critical praise, and gold and platinum status. The worldwide circulation gradually passed the mark of several hundred thousand.

The band managed to keep the original sound on the second album, which was called "Our Happy Hardcore.". But at the same time, the lyrical composition "I'm Raving" made it clear to fans that Scooter is something unpredictable and unique every time.

The second half of the 90's marked a change not only in the sound, but also in the composition of the band. Ferris Bueller left the project and went on a solo voyage. Soon he was replaced by Axel KuhnHe would stay with the band until 2002. Already with him is released the most successful and to this day popular hit "How is the Fish?"The music video for which had more than 60 million views on YouTube.

At the end of the century, the track saw the light of day "Faster Harder Scooter."marking the imminent release of "Back to the Heavyweight Jam" - Scooter's sixth studio album.

Unfortunately, not all of the songs on it were powerful and successful, and therefore the sales volumes were rather sad.

What did the 2000s bring?

Group "Scooter"
Group "Scooter"

With the advent of zero, an album was released Sheffield, which featured hit "Sex Dwarf" and "She's the Sun".

In the same period, the group experiments with individual singles, the most successful of which were "Posse (I Need You on the Floor)" and "Aiii Shot the DJ".

Alas, in 2002 the composition of the team changed again: this time, in order to develop a solo career, he left Axel Kuhn. But this did not affect the growing success of "Scooter"! A year later, a scandalous video for the track was released Weekend!, which only fuels the interest of the public.

The first half of the 2000s brought a hit track "The Night and Maria (I Like It Loud)", but the second one can hardly be called smooth.

decline in popularity

Beginning with 2006 the band has released many releases and remixes and has also performed at several major festivals. And suddenly another member leaves the team - Jay Frog, in whose place comes Michael Simon. In this composition, a popular composition is created "Behind the Cow" and album "Ultimate Aural Orgasm". Sales were, and there was a success. But even then there was a decline in public interest.

In 2008, the group went on tour, where the composition was born "I'm Lonely". Soon "Scooter" released a few more tracks and began to actively share their plans with the fans.

scooter today

H.P. Baxter
H.P. Baxter

Today "Scooter." continue to work on new music, despite the fact that their repertoire is already rich. The members state that they basically do not make deluxe albums with major hits: it is important for them to stay afloat and delight fans with fresh tracks.

Over the years, the group's line-up has undergone several more changes: it was left by Rick Jordan and Phil Speiserwho took his place. In 2019, a keyboardist joined the group Sebastian Schilde, with whom Scooter played their 18th tour "God Save The Rave".

Interesting Facts

The Scooter group, a frame from the video How Much Is The Fish? (1998)
The Scooter group, a frame from the video How Much Is The Fish? (1998)
  • Vocalist H.P. Baxter and manager Jens Tele remain the most devoted and constant participants of the project since its foundation in 1993.
  • Peak of popularity "Scooter." came in the 90s: then not a single disco could do without the tracks of this group. The secret of success is very simple: light and easy-to-remember texts! The musicians adopted this feature from their colleagues "The KLF"which Baxter personally admitted.

  • The team likes to experiment with other people's material and sees nothing wrong with that. At the same time, everything is done completely legally: so that there are no problems with copyrights, "Scooter." indicate on the back of the records the names of the people whose samples they used.
  • Today, the German trio has about 70 music videos, two dozen studio records, as well as more than 500 weeks on the singles charts and about 300 weeks on the album charts! The total world circulation exceeded 40 million.
  • In the work of H.P. Baxter relies first on the melody, and only then on the text. It is also curious that when writing tracks, the musician uses a rhyming dictionary. This explains the absurdity of the lyrics and the lack of any deep meaning.

How Sergey Zakharov's career after prison: the complicated story of the famous baritone of the USSR

The Life of the Pop Singer Sergey Zakharov Estrada appeared in the 1960s as a unique style of Soviet song. Compared to modern Russian pop music, it...

"Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain": the last song sung by the King Presley

All about the song "Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain": when and by whom it was performed, history and covers Losing an idol is always a very traumatic event, but how...

Lemmy Kilmister and his best movie roles

All about Lemmy Kilmister: band success, movie roles, biopic about the legend Rock stars who have made music their life and made huge contributions to the genre have shown...
Related Articles

The famous hit of the band "Zero," the clip to which everyone has seen

History of the song "I'm Coming, Smoking" by the band "Zero": interesting facts, clip "Song about unrequited love for the Motherland" is an album with unconditional hits, which is among the iconic...

She gave us a childhood: we remember the legendary Yelena Kamburova

Everything about Elena Kamburova: childhood, development of creativity, fame Not every viewer can appreciate the artist's soulful contribution to creativity, but there are people who understand...

Cool covers of Russian rock hits and one beautiful parody - Top 6

"Stellar" covers of famous Russian rock songs Covers are now living a "new life" in the music business. Some covers become so famous that they outshine the original compositions. So.

Where are the Zemlyane, a band whose hits were sung by the entire USSR?

All about the band "Zemlyane": history, creative work, hits The bands that started their history in the times of the Soviet Union have a rich history. Now you can find not so...

British rockers adored in the USSR

Top British Rockers Adored in the USSR Despite all the bans and difficulties caused by "getting" records with this kind of music, in the Soviet Union foreign rock and roll simply...

Автор:
Категория:

История немецких рейв-долгожителей «Scooter»

Состав этого бэнда менялся, но история осталась прежней. И сегодня мы предлагаем её вспомнить...

Рассказываем об одной из самых известных групп из Германии

«Scooter» — по-настоящему легендарная группа, которая вот уже несколько десятилетий радует публику мощными электронными хитами. Коллектив был образован в 1993 году в Германии. В период 90-х им было выпущено множество шикарных треков, которые остаются актуальны по сей день: об этом свидетельствует количество просмотров их клипов на YouTube, которые часто переваливают за десятки миллионов.

Состав этого бэнда менялся, но история осталась прежней. И сегодня мы предлагаем её вспомнить.

Начало пути

«Scooter», ранние годы
«Scooter», ранние годы

Официально группа была сформирована в 1993 году, но её история началась гораздо раньше, в середине 80-х. Именно тогда произошло знакомство Ганса Гирдеса (он же Эйч Пи Бакстер) и Рика Джордана. Парни быстро сошлись в интересах и пришли к мысли, что было бы неплохо создать музыкальный проект. В качестве вокалистки была приглашена сестра одного из участников, и началась запись дебютной пластинки. Прежде чем миру был представлен гигант «Scooter», группа много экспериментировала и терпела много падений. Друзьям пришлось сменить несколько названий и познакомиться с десятком жанров, прежде чем стать собой. В этом им помогал менеджер Йенс Теле.

Сначала они были «Celebrate the Nun», затем «The Loop», и вот в конце 1993 года мир узнал о «Scooter»! Их дебютный сингл «Vallée De Larmes» вошёл в топ-10 национального чарта и стал началом грандиозной карьеры.

Творчество: о главных хитах и успехах

Эйч Пи Бакстер
Эйч Пи Бакстер

После успеха «Vallée De Larmes» состоялось дебютное выступление группы, которое привлекло внимание к молодому, но очень интересному проекту. «Scooter» стремительно набирали популярность, и уже в 1995-м вышел дебютный альбом «…and the Beat Goes On!». Пластинка преподнесла новые громкие хиты, среди которых прекрасно известные каждому «Move Your Ass!» и «Hyper Hyper». За релизом последовали номинации, похвала со стороны критиков, а также статусы «золото» и «платина». Мировой тираж постепенно перешагнул отметку в несколько сотен тысяч.

Группе удалось сохранить оригинальное звучание и на втором альбоме, который получил название «Our Happy Hardcore». Но вместе с тем лирическая композиция «I’m Raving» ясно дала поклонникам понять, что «Scooter» — это нечто непредсказуемое и каждый раз уникальное.

Вторая половина 90-х ознаменовала изменения не только в звучании, но и в составе коллектива. Феррис Бьюллер покидает проект и отправляется в сольное плавание. Вскоре на его место приходит Аксель Кун, который пробудет с группой вплоть до 2002 года. Уже вместе с ним выпускается самый успешный и по сей день популярный хит «How is the Fish?», клип к которому набрал более 60 миллионов просмотров на YouTube.

На закате столетия свет увидел трек «Faster Harder Scooter», ознаменовавший скорый выпуск «Back to the Heavyweight Jam» — шестого студийного альбома «Scooter».

К сожалению, не все композиция на нём были мощными и успешными, а потому объёмы продаж оказались довольно грустными.

Что принесли 2000-е?

Группа «Scooter»
Группа «Scooter»

С наступлением нулевых в свет вышел альбом «Sheffield», на котором были представлены хитовые «Sex Dwarf» и «She’s the Sun».

В этот же период группа экспериментирует с отдельными синглами, наиболее успешными из которых стали «Posse (I Need You on Floor)» и «Aiii Shot the DJ».

Увы, в 2002 году состав коллектива вновь изменился: на этот раз с целью развивать сольную карьеру ушёл Аксель Кун. Но это не сказалось на растущем успехе «Scooter»! Годом позже выходит скандальный клип на трек «Weekend!», который лишь подогревает интерес публики.

Первая половина 2000-х преподнесла хитовый трек «The Night и Maria (I Like It Loud)», однако вторую сложно назвать гладкой.

Спад популярности

Начиная с 2006 года группа выпустила много релизов и ремиксов, а также выступила на нескольких крупных фестивалях. И вот внезапно команду покидает ещё один участник — Джей Фрог, на место которого приходит Майкл Саймон. В таком составе создаются популярная композиция «Behind the Cow» и альбом «Ultimate Aural Orgasm». Продажи были, и был успех. Но уже тогда наблюдался спад интереса публики.

В 2008-м группа отправилась в тур, где родилась композиция «I’m Lonely». Вскоре «Scooter» выпускают ещё несколько треков и начинают активно делиться с фанатами своими планами.

Scooter сегодня

Эйч Пи Бакстер
Эйч Пи Бакстер

Сегодня «Scooter» продолжают трудиться над новой музыкой, несмотря на то, что их репертуар и без того богат. Участники заявляют, что принципиально не делают делюкс-альбомы с главными хитами: для них важно оставаться на плаву и радовать поклонников свежими треками.

За прошедшие годы состав группы потерпел ещё несколько изменений: его покинули Рик Джордан и Фил Спейсер, пришедший на его место. В 2019 году к группе примкнул клавишник Себастьян Шильде, с которым «Scooter» отыграла свой 18-й тур «God Save The Rave».

Интересные факты

Группа «Scooter», кадр из клипа «How Much Is The Fish?» (1998)
Группа «Scooter», кадр из клипа «How Much Is The Fish?» (1998)
  • Вокалист Эйч Пи Бакстер и менеджер Йенс Теле остаются самыми преданными и неизменными участниками проекта с момента его основания в 1993 году.
  • Пик популярности «Scooter» пришёлся на 90-е: тогда без треков этой группы не обходилась ни одна дискотека. Секрет успеха очень прост: лёгкие и быстро запоминающиеся тексты! Данную фишку музыканты переняли у своих коллег «The KLF», в чём Бакстер лично признавался.

  • Коллектив любит поэкспериментировать с чужим материалом и не видит в этом ничего плохого. При этом всё делается совершенно законно: дабы не возникли проблемы с авторскими правами, «Scooter» указывают на обороте пластинок имена людей, чьи семплы они использовали.
  • Сегодня в копилке немецкого трио около 70 музыкальных клипов, два десятка студийных пластинок, а также более 500 недель в чартах синглов и около 300 недель в чартах альбомов! Общий мировой тираж превысил 40 миллионов.
  • В творчестве Эйч Пи Бакстер делает ставку сперва на мелодию, а уже потом на текст. Любопытно и то, что при написании треков музыкант пользуется словарём рифм. Это объясняет абсурдность лирики и отсутствие какого-либо глубокого смысла.

Как сложилась карьера Сергея Захарова после тюрьмы: непростая история знаменитого баритона СССР

Жизненный путь эстрадного певца Сергея Захарова Эстрада появилась в 60-х годах прошлого столетия как неповторимый стиль советской песни. По сравнению с современной российской поп-музыкой она...

«Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: последняя песня, исполненная королём Пресли

Всё о песне «Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: когда и кем была исполнена, история и каверы Потеря кумиров всегда очень травматичное событие, но как...

Лемми Килмистер и его лучшие роли в кино

Всё о Лемми Килмистере: успех группы, роли в кино, байопик о легенде Рок-звёзды, сделавшие музыку своей жизнью и внёсшие огромный вклад в развитие жанра, проявляли...
Похожие статьи

Знаменитый хит группы «Ноль», клип к которому видел каждый

История песни «Иду, курю» группы «Ноль»: интересные факты, клип «Песня о безответной любви к Родине» – альбом с безусловными хитами, который входит в число знаковых...

В составе рок-групп они были мировыми легендами, но «соло» позабылись даже поклонникам

Участники культовых рок-групп, которые пытались, но не сумели построить ослепительную сольную карьеру Историй о том, как после ухода из группы музыканты сумели построить ослепительную сольную...

Она подарила детство: вспоминаем легендарную Елену Камбурову

Всё о Елене Камбуровой: детство, развитие творчества, известность Не каждый зритель может по достоинству оценить душевный вклад артиста в творчество, однако есть люди, которые понимают...

Он исполнил лучшие хиты начала 2000-х – где сегодня Сергей Жуков

Всё о Сергее Жукове: ранние годы, создание группы, факты В 90-е годы в России происходят колоссальные изменения. Новый виток истории рождается и в музыке: на...

Крутые песни Цоя, которые слышали только самые преданные поклонники

Малоизвестные песни Цоя, которые могут претендовать на звание хитов «Кино» – одна из самых необычных групп в истории русского рока. С одной стороны – ею...

Крутые каверы на хиты русского рока и одна прекрасная пародия – Топ-6

«Звёздные» кавер-версии на знаменитые композиции русского рока Каверы сейчас проживают в музыкальном бизнесе «новую жизнь». Некоторые перепевки становятся настолько известными, что затмевают оригинальные композиции. Так,...

Где сегодня «Земляне» – группа, чьи хиты напевал весь СССР

Все о группе «Земляне»: история создания, творчество, хиты У групп, начавших свою историю во времена Советского Союза, история богата событиями. Сейчас можно найти не так...

Британские рокеры, которых обожали в СССР

Топ британских рокеров, которых обожали в СССР Несмотря на все запреты и трудности, вызванные «добычей» пластинок с подобной музыкой, в Советском Союзе зарубежный рок-н-ролл просто...

Gibson: история одного бренда, который чуть не утратил доверие рок-звёзд

Gibson: история создания бренда, успехи и неудачи В истории каждой знаменитой фирмы есть свои взлеты и падения. Практически невозможно найти бренд, который на протяжении всего...