Author:
Category:

Full biography of Sean Lee - from early years to resounding success

The story of a genius: Sean Lee and his rise...

The story of Sean Lee, a wonderful musician and composer

Composer of music for films, television and games, indie soul songs and funk electronics, as well as producer and multi-instrumentalist - Sean Lee began his eclectic musical career at the end 80s years. Lee completed his first solo album in 1996 year, but it never received an official release. Then at the beginning of the new century, Sean began to collaborate with labels such as Ubiquity and wall of sound, and formed Ping Pong Orchestra. He later formed Electric Peanut Butter Company. Sean Lee worked with Clutches by Hopkins, created music for the game Bully (2006)…Meanwhile, highlights of his intermittent musical work included documentaries Elevate (2011) and Let It Soul (2018). We invite you to learn a little more about this talented person ...

Early years

Sean Lee...
Sean Lee...

Sean grew up in a rural area on the outskirts of Wichita, State Kansas. His mother is half Lebanese, half American Turkey, and his father is Irish American. While his peers were into corporate rock and line dance melodies, Sean liked black funk... Later, the local Baptist church expanded his understanding of black music, but when he sang and played drums in its gospel choir, he found that some of the his white friends disapproved of his interest… Sean soon decided to leave the Midwest, but not before playing in a local band lotus with future country superstar Martina McBride

First steps

Next stop in destiny Shona - Los Angeles. Already a capable multi-instrumentalist (by then Sean already mastered the guitar, drums, bass and much more), Lee started writing songs. There were bands, publishing deals, relationships, tours, and day jobs... Simply put, more and more marks were appearing on the pillar of his experience.

Soon Sean was introduced to the producers Dust Brothers: so, he spent a lot of time chatting, drinking cappuccinos and recording mix tapes from their dusty record collection. During this period, Sean became friends with the deceased Jeff Buckleywith whom he recorded "Honky Tonk Woman"!

New stages and new successes

Sean Lee
Sean Lee

In 1995 year Sean moved to London, where he recorded his solo debut on DJ Gilles Peterson's Talkin Loud label. For completely incomprehensible reasons, the album was never released. It destroyed not only plans, but also the soul Lee: like someone erasing 3 years of your life... Deciding to write and record on his own terms, Sean continued to work. He created the infamous series "Planet of the breaks", as well as 5 volumes "Ape Breaks", becoming the most sampled drummer of his generation. He gave away CDs of songs to friends for no reason other than hoping they would like it. As Sean continued to make music his way, the airplay of the self-financed EP prompted several major labels to call him. He had no intention of getting back on the corporate merry-go-round. Instead, he opted to sign with Mark Jones in wall of sound.

“Mark was happy to release a record that sounds exactly the way I wanted…”

Sean subsequently became the lead artist on the new album. Monkeyboy, which included the cult song "Happiness".

The new millennium - what did it bring?

Bully 2006
Bully 2006

2004 year was marked by the release soul visa (only in Japan, on Rush!). The album was later released worldwide under the label BBE. Album Harmonium was released in 2005 year in Japan again under the label Rush! As a Ping Pong Orchestra, Lee has released 10 albums (including Music and Rhythm, Moods and Grooves and Strings and Things). Sean was soon offered his first full soundtrack to a film… The industry was quick to embrace the sound Ping Pong Orchestra, and soon tracks PPO have been used in many American TV series. IN 2006 Sean also composed the soundtrack for a Rockstar video game titled Bully — a computer game in the genre of action-adventure with a third-person view and an open world…

During this period, an EP is released Ping Pong Orchestra vs Nino Moschella with a song "Kiss The Sky". Subsequently, this track will become the “single of the week” on itunes: it was downloaded more than 200 thousand times in one week! Unwilling to rest, in his London studio "Trans-Yank" Lee has been working on a number of new albums, including an album of covers Ping Pong POP entitled "Hit's The Hits"which was released October 9, 2007 of the year.

2008 year brought musically traveling around the world albums Miles of Styles, and Clutch of the Tiger — Lee's collaboration with the producer Clutches by Hopkins. The doors to the "world of funk" Lee opened at the beginning 2011 years with the release of the album World of Funk with Ping Pong Orchestra. That same year, Lee collaborated with singer/songwriter AM for the album Celestial Electric

Finally…

Without slowing down your fruitful schedule, in 2013 Lee paired up with AM again for the album La Musique Numerique! Golden Age Against the Machine, a tribute to rap music from the beginning 80s to the middle 90s, followed in 2014 year. Remix album Skeewiff vs. Shawn Lee went out in 2015 year, as well as the third LP AM and Sean Lee. As for the Ping Pong Orchestra, the project returned with Techstar in 2017. Continuing to occasionally work on music for television, short films and games, Sean Lee wrote the music for the documentary Let It Soulwhich premiered in 2018 year. Seems Sean Lee is the new hardest working (tiger) man in show business! And it's hard to argue with this fact...

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...
Related Articles

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

What You Didn't Know About World Legend Mireille Mathieu - A Story Full of Surprising Episodes

The history of Mireille Mathieu in facts: from the early years to world fame One of the most legendary French singers in history, Mireille Mathieu earned her status as a legend completely...

Автор:

Категория:

Полная биография Шона Ли – от ранних лет до оглушительного успеха

История одного гения: Шон Ли и его становление...

История Шона Ли, прекрасного музыканта и композитора

Композитор музыки для фильмов, телевидения и игр, инди-соул-песен и фанковой электроники, а также продюсер и мультиинструменталист — Шон Ли начал свою эклектичную музыкальную карьеру в конце 80-х годов. Свой первый сольный альбом Ли завершил в 1996 году, однако он так и не получил официального релиза. Тогда в начале нового столетия Шон начал сотрудничать с такими лейблами, как Ubiquity и Wall of Sound, и сформировал Ping Pong Orchestra. Позже он сформировал Electric Peanut Butter Company. Шон Ли работал с Клатчи Хопкинсом, создавал музыку для игры Bully (2006)… Между тем, основные моменты его периодической музыкальной работы включали документальные фильмы Elevate (2011) и Let It Soul (2018). Предлагаем узнать об этом талантливом человеке немного больше…

Ранние годы

Шон Ли...
Шон Ли…

Шон вырос в сельской местности на окраине Уичито, штат Канзас. Его мать наполовину ливанка, наполовину американская индейка, отец — американец ирландского происхождения. В то время как его сверстники увлекались корпоративным роком и мелодиями с линейным танцем, Шону нравился чёрный фанк… Позже местная баптистская церковь расширила его понимание чёрной музыки, но когда он пел и играл на барабанах в её госпел-хоре, он обнаружил, что некоторые из его белых друзей не одобряли его интереса… Вскоре Шон решил уехать со Среднего Запада, но не раньше, чем сыграть в местной группе Lotus с будущей суперзвездой кантри Мартиной Макбрайд

Первые шаги

Следующая остановка в судьбе Шона — Лос-Анджелес. Уже будучи способным мультиинструменталистом (к тому времени Шон уже освоил гитару, ударные, бас и многое другое), Ли приступил к написанию песен. Были группы, издательские контракты, отношения, туры и дневная работа… Проще говоря — на столбе его опыта появлялось всё больше отметок.

Вскоре Шон был представлен продюсерам Dust Brothers: так, он проводил много времени, болтая, попивая капучино и записывая микс-ленты из их запыленной коллекции пластинок. В этот период Шон подружился с покойным Джеффом Бакли, с которым записал «Honky Tonk Woman»!

Новые этапы и новые успехи

Шон Ли
Шон Ли

В 1995 году Шон переехал в Лондон, где записал свой сольный дебют на лейбле Talkin Loud ди-джея Жиля Петерсона. По совершенно непонятным причинам альбом так и не был выпущен. Это разрушало не только планы, но и душу Ли: похоже на то, как кто-то стирает 3 года твоей жизни… Решив писать и записывать на своих условиях, Шон продолжал работать. Он создал печально известную серию «Planet of the breaks», а также 5 томов «Ape Breaks», став самым сэмплированным барабанщиком своего поколения. Он раздавал компакт-диски с песнями друзьям без единой цели, кроме надежды, что им это понравится. Поскольку Шон продолжал делать музыку по-своему, трансляция самофинансируемого EP побудила несколько крупных лейблов позвонить ему. Он не собирался снова садиться на корпоративную карусель. Вместо этого он решил подписать контракт с Марком Джонсом в Wall of Sound.

«Марк был счастлив выпустить пластинку, которая звучит именно так, как я хотел…»

Впоследствии Шон стал ведущим исполнителем нового альбома Monkeyboy, в который вошла культовая песня «Happiness».

Новое тысячелетие – что оно принесло?

Bully 2006
Bully 2006

2004 год ознаменовался выпуском Soul Visa (только в Японии, на Rush!). Позже альбом был выпущен по всему миру под лейблом BBE. Альбом Harmonium был выпущен в 2005 году в Японии снова под лейблом Rush! В качестве Ping Pong Orchestra, Ли выпустил 10 альбомов (включая Music and Rhythm, Moods and Grooves и Strings and Things). Вскоре Шону предложили его первый полноценный саундтрек к фильму… Индустрия быстро приняла звук Ping Pong Orchestra, и вскоре треки PPO были использованы во многих американских сериалах. В 2006 году Шон также написал саундтрек к видеоигре от Rockstar под названием «Bully» — компьютерной игре в жанре приключенческого боевика с видом от третьего лица и открытым миром…

В этот период выходит EP «Ping Pong Orchestra vs Nino Moschella» с песней «Kiss The Sky». Впоследствии этот трек станет «синглом недели» на itunes: он был загружен более 200 тысяч раз за одну неделю! Не желая отдыхать, в своей лондонской студии «Trans-Yank» Ли трудился над рядом новых альбомов, включая альбом каверов Ping Pong POP под названием «Hit’s The Hits», который был выпущен 9 октября 2007 года.

2008 год принёс музыкально путешествующие по всему миру альбомы Miles of Styles, а также Clutch of the Tiger — сотрудничество Ли с продюсером Клатчи Хопкинсом. Двери в «мир фанка» Ли открыл в начале 2011 года, выпустив альбом World of Funk с Ping Pong Orchestra. В этом же году Ли сотрудничал с певцом / автором песен AM для альбома Celestial Electric

Напоследок…

Не замедляя свой плодотворный график, в 2013 году Ли снова выступил в паре с AM для альбома La Musique Numerique! Golden Age Against the Machine, дань уважения рэп-музыке с начала 80-х до середины 90-х, последовал в 2014 году. Альбом ремиксов Skeewiff vs. Shawn Lee вышел в 2015 году, как и третий LP AM и Шона Ли. Что касается Ping Pong Orchestra, то проект вернулся с Techstar в 2017 году. Продолжая время от времени работать над музыкой для телевидения, короткометражных фильмов и игр, Шон Ли написал музыку к документальному фильму Let It Soul, премьера которого состоялась в 2018 году. Кажется, Шон Ли — это «новый самый трудолюбивый (тигр) человек в шоу-бизнесе! И с этим фактом тяжело поспорить…

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

+ 73 = 78

Как Саманта Фокс стала горячей иконой 80-х и за что судилась с собственным отцом

Как сексуальная икона 80-х совмещала работу с религией – Саманта Фокс в удивительных фактах В 80-х молоденькая Саманта Фокс была сексуальной иконой. В неё влюблялись...

Эти глэм-метал группы покорили мировую арену – Вспоминаем главных «гламурных» металлистов

Топ любимых глэм-метал групп, которые покорили весь мир Глэм-метал возник на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов в США. Его главное отличие от других жанров –...

Liam Gallagher — «C’mon You Know» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «C'mon You Know» (2022) от Liam Gallagher  Лиам Галлахер поделился со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который называется «C'mon You Know» (2022). Пластинка включает...

Похожие статьи

INTELLIGENCY — «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022) от INTELLIGENCY Белорусская музыкальная группа INTELLIGENCY поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «TechnoBlues Therapy Part...

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...