Author:
Category:

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Along with the king, Memphis Sun Records owner Sam Phillips and guest double bassist Bill Black - Scotty was part of the fusion of black music and white music, blues and country... He was one of those who gave the world rock and roll!

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist

Before Jagger and Richards, Plant and Page came along, there were Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And while the first needs no introduction (he is, after all, the king), Moore's name is often overlooked... And for good reason, because he was present at the The "birth" of rock 'n' rolland was essentially the first guitar hero in rock history to make his instrument synonymous with the genre.

There are as many people as there are opinions, so rock 'n' roll, depending on your view of the genre, can have many birthdates. Still, if we're talking about Presley and Moore, it's July 5, 1954. Along with the king, Memphis Sun Records owner Sam Phillips and guest double bassist Bill Black - Scotty was part of the fusion of black music and white music, blues and country... He was the one who gave the world rock and roll! And after that, many people really continue to turn a blind eye to his history?! Quite unfair, considering colossal influence of this hero! At the same time, it's hard to call his career mind-blowing...

Early Years and Success with Elvis

Scotty Moore and Elvis Presley
Scotty Moore and Elvis Presley

Winfield Scott Moore III was born into a large family in December 1931. He mastered the guitar at the age of 8, and from 1948 to January 1952 he served in the U.S. Navy in China and Korea. He could have built a military career, but music appealed to him much more. Inspired by jazz and country as well as virtuoso style The Atkins Chet.Moore played in The Starlite Wranglers before being spotted by the aforementioned Sam Phillips, owner of Sun Records. It's hard to say whether Scotty's name would have eventually become iconic and popular in the rock 'n' roll world had Phillips not seen the potential in his voice Elvis Presley. It was he who united this trinity (including Bill Black), thereby sparking a "rock and roll boom" across America!

Today, the legendarily famous "That's All Right, Mama." everyone knows, but it might not have been recorded. The story goes that at that time, on July 5, 1954, the trio spent the whole day in the studio senselessly. Nothing useful came out, and the guys were about to leave. A weary and slightly distressed Presley picked up his guitar and began fooling aroundIn a very flighty manner, playing "That's All Right" Arthur Crudup. His comrades quickly picked up on his spirit, and when Phillips stopped by to "make some noise," he was delighted. A record was made, and soon all its members became idols - first and foremost Elvis, of course.

The next day they got together again to record "Blue Moon of Kentucky". Everything they touched turned to gold! The period spent in the walls of Sun Records turned into a string of hits, the last of which was "Mystery Train".

The arrival of the "Colonel" and the separation from Presley

Elvis Presley and Colonel Tom Parker
Elvis Presley and Colonel Tom Parker

At first Scotty was the manager of the band, which was dubbed Blue Moon Boys (By that time, the drummer had also joined it. D.J. Fontana). Things were going well, both personally and career-wise: the guys got along well and were well-liked by the audience! But that all changed with the arrival of "Colonel" Tom Parkerwho took over from Moore and literally destroyed the community of the band.

Colonel Tom Parker
Colonel Tom Parker

He showed no interest in the musicians of his new protégé, and even more, he literally isolated Elvis from them. "The Colonel" paid them $100 a week, or $200 if they had a gig, and restricted their access to the singer. At the same time he made a deal with RCA for the then astronomical sum of $40,000

Blue Moon Boys
Blue Moon Boys

After the signing, the Blue Moon Boys continued to play with Presley. Moore left his bright mark on such timeless classics as "Heartbreak Hotel." or "Too Much.". IN Hound Dog he described his own solo as "hereditary psychedelic," while Jailhouse Rock was one of the first examples of the use of "power chords.

Of course, the main event in the world of rock 'n' roll was still Presleybut we can't help but notice the amazing role Moore played in this success story. Subsequently, many now iconic guitarists referred to Scotty as their idol and main inspiration. In particular. Keith Richardswho once stated:

"Everybody wanted to be Elvis, but I wanted to be Scotty!"

Scotty Moore
Scotty Moore

His way of playing was an inspiration to most of the guitarists of the next generation. However... his importance was not financially rewarded. Presley was earning millionsThe group had seen almost no money, while the members of his group had seen almost no money.

From the beginning Hollywood career The king of live performances became many times less. By the will of the "Colonel" none of the Blue Moon Boys could talk to Elvis properly, to jam with him... All this offended his comrades, as well as the extremely low royalties, which did not allow them to live normally. This led to a logical split, which was perceived by Presley as Betrayal (to some extent). But essentially the culprit was Tom Parker. Subsequently, Elvis played with new musicians, but their skills were far from the original Blue Moon Boys lineup. Eventually there was a mini-reunion that did not succeed.

"I needed a tractor."

Scotty Moore
Scotty Moore

In the '60s, however, Moore teamed up with Presley to record a number of tracks, including "You're the Devil in Disguise, Bossa Nova Baby and "Good Luck Charm.". Before that, while Presley was in the army, Moore founded Fernwood Studios, where the "Tragedy." Thomas Wayne. In addition to producing, Moore also played some guitar parts. It was a national hit, reaching number five on the charts! But they didn't get any further than that.

There were no more recordings with Elvis, nor was there any relationship. Scotty returned to Nashville, where he worked sound engineer. It wasn't until the '90s that he returned to playing in the studio and on stage, aided by another rockabilly guitar legend, Carl Perkins. By this point Moore had gotten rid of his Gibson Super 400. After not playing it for years, he thought it was time to sell it - a collector offered him $10,000and Scotty agreed. After a while Chet Atkins asked his now-famous fan and colleague why he sold the guitar so cheaply, to which Moore replied: "I needed a tractor.". He doesn't seem to have regretted it - in 2011, Moore shared a photo with fans with a caption:

"The tractor still works and, unlike the guitar, is still in use."

Scotty Moore
Scotty Moore

In 1997 he teamed up with D.J. Fontana to record Elvis tribute album entitled "All the King's Men: Keith Richards, Jeff Beck, Ronnie Wood participated in the recording. In his final years, many legends got a chance to play with the man who gave rock its first iconic solos... Moore died June 28, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee, at age 84.

LEAVE ANSWER

Please enter your comment!
please enter your name here

+ 23 = 26

"Dog Hair": What does Nazareth's cult classic sing about?

All about the song "Hair of the Dog" by Nazareth: creation history, meaning, popularity In the 60s rock music spread around the world at a breakneck pace and besides...

The most beautiful Soviet songs about summer according to "Fuzz Music" magazine

Top 5 Summer Hits of the USSR Estrada of the USSR has always been full of beautiful and melodic compositions on various topics. However, the favorite theme for songwriters and composers remained that of carefree...

A Beautiful Farewell to a Rock Chameleon - Remembering David Bowie's Last Album

David Bowie's latest album Blackstar: history, recording, tracks, cover art, facts His influence and the striking images he gave the world during his career never...
Featured Articles

The most beautiful Soviet songs about summer according to "Fuzz Music" magazine

Top 5 Summer Hits of the USSR Estrada of the USSR has always been full of beautiful and melodic compositions on various topics. However, the favorite theme for songwriters and composers remained that of carefree...

Sad stories of Motown Records stars

Motown Records Artists and Their Unfortunate Stories Motown Records, a label known for great tunes and truly "killer" leads, has launched a string of dizzying musical careers. If Michael ...

Top 5 facts proving how strong and great Tina Turner was

Tina Turner: biography, personal life, career, interesting facts Talented singer, gifted dancer, songwriter and actress, as well as just an incredibly bright, spectacular woman, and as...

Chas Newby, the man who was the bassist of The Beatles for several concerts

The Beatles' interim bassist Chas Newby: History and Facts Today The Beatles are known as "The Magnificent Liverpool Four," of which the bassist, as well as the ideological "engine" (along with the...

What Happened to the Performer of the Hit "Komarovo"

All about Igor Sklyar: early years, career, main hits In the 80s in the Soviet Union were very popular lightweight compositions, their spontaneity help listeners to distract...

Lemmy Kilmister is the rock of world metal

Lemmy Kilmister: creativity, influence on rock and metal, memories of colleagues 2015 was supposed to be an unforgettable year, but at the last moment he decided to leave the world bitter...

Ronnie Wood is an admirer of the raw sound that fit in perfectly with The Rolling Stones

Ronnie Wood of The Rolling Stones: biography and facts He is a member of The Rolling Stones. And for millions of people it is enough to call him a legend....

Roger Waters in Ordinary Life - Fan Stories

What Roger Waters is like in ordinary life - the stories of fans who encountered him personally Roger Waters is one of the most brilliant and controversial geniuses of classical...

VTORNIK: a young performer who is underestimated

All about the rapper VTORNIK: early years, formation, success Domestic rap singers have always looked up to their Western counterparts, reformulating their creativity for their audience. In tracks and clips...

Автор:
Категория:

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

Вместе с королём, владельцем мемфисской фирмы звукозаписи Sun Records Сэмом Филлипсом и приглашённым контрабасистом Биллом Блэком – Скотти участвовал в слиянии чёрной музыки и белой, блюза и кантри... Он был одним из тех, кто подарил миру рок-н-ролл!

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли

Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если первый не нуждается в представлении (всё-таки он король), то имя Мура часто упускается из виду… А зря, ведь он присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла, и по сути был первым гитарным героем в истории рока, который превратил свой инструмент в синоним жанра.

Сколько людей, столько и мнений – а потому у рок-н-ролла, в зависимости от ваших взглядов на этот жанр, может быть много дат рождения. И всё же если мы говорим о Пресли и Муре – это 5 июля 1954 года. Вместе с королём, владельцем мемфисской фирмы звукозаписи Sun Records Сэмом Филлипсом и приглашённым контрабасистом Биллом Блэком – Скотти участвовал в слиянии чёрной музыки и белой, блюза и кантри… Он был одним из тех, кто подарил миру рок-н-ролл! И после этого многие действительно продолжают закрывать на его историю глаза?! Весьма несправедливо, учитывая колоссальное влияние этого героя! При этом его карьеру сложно назвать умопомрачительной…

Ранние годы и успех с Элвисом

Скотти Мур и Элвис Пресли
Скотти Мур и Элвис Пресли

Уинфилд Скотт Мур III родился в многодетной семье в декабре 1931 года. Он освоил гитару в 8 лет, а с 1948 по январь 1952 года служил в ВМС США в Китае и Корее. Он мог бы построить военную карьеру, но музыка привлекала парня куда больше. Вдохновлённый джазом и кантри, а также стилем виртуоза Чета Аткинса, Мур играл в The Starlite Wranglers, прежде чем был замечен уже упомянутым Сэмом Филлипсом, владельцем Sun Records. Сложно сказать, стало бы имя Скотти в конце концов знаковым и популярным в мире рок-н-ролла, если бы Филлипс не увидел потенциал в голосе Элвиса Пресли. Именно он объединил эту троицу (включая Билла Блэка), тем самым спровоцировал «рок-н-ролльный бум» по всей Америке!

Сегодня легендарно известную «That’s All Right, Mama» знает каждый, но записи этой могло и не быть. История гласит, что тогда, 5 июля 1954 года, троица бессмысленно провела весь день в студии. Ничего толкового не выходило, и парни уже собирались расходиться. Утомлённый и слегка огорчённый Пресли взял гитару и начал дурачиться, в весьма взбалмошной манере наигрывая «That’s All Right» Артура Крудапа. Товарищи быстро подхватили его настрой, и когда Филлипс заглянул к ним «на шум», он остался в восторге. Была сделана запись, а вскоре все её участники стали кумирами – в первую очередь Элвис, конечно же.

На следующий день они снова собрались вместе, чтобы записать «Blue Moon of Kentucky». Всё, к чему они прикасались, превращалось в золото! Период, проведённый в стенах Sun Records, обернулся чередой хитов, последним из которых стал «Mystery Train».

Приход «полковника» и разлука с Пресли

Элвис Пресли и Полковник Том Паркер
Элвис Пресли и Полковник Том Паркер

Первое время Скотти был менеджером группы, которую окрестили Blue Moon Boys (к тому моменту в неё также вошёл барабанщик D.J. Fontana). Дела шли в гору, причём как в карьерном, так и в личном плане: парни хорошо ладили, и были горячо любимы публикой! Но всё изменилось с приходом «полковника» Тома Паркера, который занял должность Мура и буквально разрушил общность бэнда.

Полковник Том Паркер
Полковник Том Паркер

Он не проявлял интереса к музыкантам своего нового протеже, и даже больше – буквально изолировал Элвиса от них. «Полковник» платил им 100 долларов в неделю или 200 долларов, если у них был концерт, и ограничивал их доступ к певцу. При этом он заключил сделку с RCA на астрономическую по тем временам сумму в 40 000 долларов

Blue Moon Boys
Blue Moon Boys

После подписания контракта участники Blue Moon Boys продолжали играть с Пресли. Мур оставил свой яркий след в такой вечной классике, как «Heartbreak Hotel» или «Too Much». В «Hound Dog» он охарактеризовал собственное соло как «наследственное психоделическое», в то время как «Jailhouse Rock» стал одним из первых примеров использования «пауэр-аккордов».

Конечно, главным событием в мире рок-н-ролла по-прежнему оставался Пресли, но мы не можем не заметить потрясающую роль, которую сыграл Мур в этой истории успеха. Впоследствии многие ныне культовые гитаристы называли Скотти своим кумиром и главным вдохновителем. В частности – Кит Ричардс, который однажды заявил:

«Все хотели быть Элвисом, но я хотел быть Скотти!»

Скотти Мур
Скотти Мур

Его манера игры была источником вдохновения для большинства гитаристов следующего поколения. Однако… его важность не была финансово вознаграждена. Пресли зарабатывал миллионы, в то время как участники его группы практически не видели денег.

С началом голливудской карьеры короля живых выступления стало в разы меньше. По воле «полковника» никто из Blue Moon Boys не мог толком пообщаться с Элвисом, поджемовать с ним… Всё это обижало его товарищей, как и крайне низкие гонорары, которые не позволяли нормально жить. Это привело к логическому расколу, который был воспринят Пресли как предательство (в какой-то мере). Но по сути – виновником был Том Паркер. Впоследствии Элвис играл с новыми музыкантами, но их мастерство было далеко от оригинального состава Blue Moon Boys. В конце концов произошло мини-воссоединение, которое не увенчалось успехом.

«Мне нужен был трактор»

Скотти Мур
Скотти Мур

В 60-х Мур всё же объединился с Пресли для записи ряда треков, включая «You’re the Devil in Disguise», «Bossa Nova Baby» и «Good Luck Charm». До этого, пока Пресли был в армии, Мур основал Fernwood Studios, где была записана «Tragedy» Томаса Уэйна. Помимо продюсирования, Мур также сыграл некоторые гитарные партии. Это был национальный хит, занявший пятое место в чартах! Но дальше они не зашли.

Записей с Элвисом больше не было, как и каких-либо взаимоотношений. Скотти вернулся в Нэшвилл, где работал звукорежиссёром. Только в 90-х он вернулся к игре в студии и на сцене – в этом ему помогла другая легенда рокабилли-гитары, Карл Перкинс. К этому моменту Мур избавился от своего Gibson Super 400. После того как он не играл на ней в течение многих лет, он подумал, что пришло время продать её – коллекционер предложил ему 10 000 долларов, и Скотти согласился. Через некоторое время Чет Аткинс спросил своего теперь уже прославленного поклонника и коллегу, почему он продал гитару так дёшево, на что Мур ответил: «Мне нужен был трактор». Кажется, он не пожалел об этом – в 2011 году Мур поделился с поклонниками фотографией с подписью:

«Трактор до сих пор работает и, в отличие от гитары, до сих пор используется».

Скотти Мур
Скотти Мур

В 1997 году он объединился с D.J. Fontana, чтобы записать трибьют-альбом Элвису под названием «All the King’s Men»: в записи приняли участие Кит Ричардс, Джефф Бек, Ронни Вуд. В его последние годы жизни многие легенды получили возможность играть с человеком, который дал року его первые культовые соло… Мур умер 28 июня 2016 года в Нэшвилле, штат Теннесси, в возрасте 84 лет.

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...
Похожие статьи

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...