Author:
Category:

Smooth Operator (1984) - Sade - All about the song

This track is considered one of the band's most successful songs!

The story of the hit “Smooth Operator” by charming Sade…

"Smooth Operator" is a song by Sade that successfully complemented the debut studio album Diamond Life. The song was released as a single in 1984. In the USA, the track was released only at the beginning of the next year, but it quickly reached the top places, settling on the 5th line of the Billboard Hot 100. “Smooth Operator” lasted for 13 weeks in the top 40! The single also topped Billboard Adult Contemporary for two weeks. In fact, "Smooth Operator" was Sade's first big break in America!

In this song, the charming Sade Adu sings about a man who plays well on the feelings of women... He is irresistibly attractive, smart... He easily seduces girls one by one, playing on the strings of their souls... In general, he is described as a man who, with his angelic eyes can melt a woman's heart. However, his heart is very hard...

The process of creation, the lyrics...

Sade (Shade Adu)
Sade (Shade Adu)

The composition was written by vocalist Sade together with Ray St. John, an ex-member of the Pride band. This ballad is licensed by Sony Entertainment.

https://youtu.be/lgAmno8icDM

"Smooth Operator" was a real breakthrough for Sade in America, a band based in England. The first studio work of the band, Diamond Life, was released in 1984 in their homeland, where this track reached the 3rd line. In America, the record was released only the following year with the first single "Hang On To Your Love". It didn't lead to anything, but the next single "Smooth Operator" climbed to number five and earned the band a reputation as an exotic soulful band with a charming vocalist... Despite the heartless lyrics, this song is often used to signify romantic moments!

Music video

The video for the song was released in 1984. It was filmed by British film director Julien Temple. As mentioned above, in "Smooth Operator" it is sung about a charming "Don Juan", who is very popular among the fair sex, however, he only breaks the hearts of all of them ... Such references in the text as "From coast to coast, from Los Angeles to Chicago" and "Love for Sale" allude to the fact that the hero uses the ladies for his own selfish purposes, for financial gain. He obviously doesn't have any feelings for his companions...

Singer Sade...
Singer Shade...

The clip reinforces the message of "Smooth Operator". The main character is presented as a professional criminal. In one scene he shows a gun to an interested buyer, and in others he plays the part of a businessman who is successful with the ladies. As you can tell, he manages to elude the police, who are watching his every move. But, as we can see in the extended version of the clip, Sade put an end to this: cooperating with law enforcement, she hides in the club (in the very one where she sings in the first part of the clip) and sees how the criminal returns late at night. The girl accidentally wraps the equipment, causing the man to notice her and chase her up the stairs. When the police surrounded the building, the hero makes an attempt to escape on the roof. However, after the shot, he falls down and breaks to death ...

This video was nominated twice for the 1985 MTV Video Music Awards. However, the clip missed out on both awards. Pretty unfair considering the clip looks like some kind of Hollywood action movie from the 80s!

Criticism, success!

Smooth Operator (1984) - Sade (single cover)
Smooth Operator (1984) - Sade (single cover)

After the release of "Smooth Operator", critics of top publications wrote:

“The warm, measured voice of a charming vocalist sings about a lover-swindler… Along with first-class musical accompaniment, the image of the immoral character of the song clearly emerges: a heartless don Juan who travels the continents in search of personal gain. It seems that this serves as an allegory for global capitalism… The meanness of an immoral criminal is expressed in such stunning phrases that it is literally impossible not to be tempted…”

Very soon the single became an international hit! "Smooth Operator" topped the Billboard Adult Contemporary in the mid-80s. The track enjoyed and continues to enjoy great success in the cinema! In addition, after almost 40 years, it has not lost its charm and pleasant relaxed mood ... In a word, a musical balm for the soul!

Interesting Facts…

  • "Smooth Operator" was used in a 2003 documentary about the life and death of American rap icon Tupac Shakur. The track has also appeared in the films Dick and Jane Swindlers (2005) and This Means War (2012).
  • American rap artist Rich Homie Quan mentioned this single in his song "Type of Way".
  • At least 20 different musical artists have released a cover version of this jazz tune. Some of these artists are Cuban percussionist Mongo Santamaria (in 1987) and renowned musician Greg Adams (in 1995).
  • This track is considered one of the group's most successful songs. In 1985, it became a hit in Canada and the United States, reaching number five on the charts in both countries. It also peaked at number 19 on the UK Singles Chart and peaked at number 20 in Australia.

Who is she - the woman from the cover of the legendary Black Sabbath album

The woman on the cover of the Black Sabbath album - who is she: history and facts The 1970 release of Black Sabbath's debut album changed the music industry forever. This...

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...
Related Articles

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Автор:

Категория:

Smooth Operator (1984) – Sade – Всё о песне

Этот трек считается одной из самых успешных песен группы!

История хита «Smooth Operator» очаровательной Sade…

«Smooth Operator» — песня группы Sade, которая удачно дополнила дебютный студийный Diamond Life. Композиция была выпущена на сингле в 1984 году. В США трек вышел лишь в начале следующего года, однако он быстро добрался до топовых мест, обосновавшись на 5-й строчке Billboard Hot 100. В топ-40 «Smooth Operator» продержался целых 13 недель! Сингл также оставался лидером Billboard Adult Contemporary на протяжении двух недель. По факту — «Smooth Operator» стал первым большим прорывом для Sade в Америке!

В этой песне очаровательная Шаде Аду поёт о мужчине, который хорошо играет на чувствах женщин… Он неотразимо привлекателен, умён… Он с лёгкостью соблазняет девушек одну за другой, играя на струнах их души… В целом, он описывается как человек, который своими ангельскими глазами может растопить женское сердце. Однако его сердце при этом очень чёрствое…

Процесс создания, лирика…

Sade (Шаде Аду)
Sade (Шаде Аду)

Композиция была написана вокалисткой Шаде совместно с Рэй Сент-Джоном — экс-участником коллектива Pride. Лицензия на данную балладу принадлежит компании Sony Entertainment.

«Smooth Operator» стал настоящим прорывом для Sade в Америке, группы, базировавшейся в Англии. Первая студийная работа бэнда, Diamond Life, вышла в 1984 году на родине, где данный трек добрался до 3-й строчки. В Америке пластинка вышла лишь в следующем году с первым синглом «Hang On To Your Love». Это ни к чему не привело, но следующий сингл «Smooth Operator» поднялся на пятую строчку и заработал группе репутацию экзотического душевного бэнда с очаровательной вокалисткой… Несмотря на бессердечную лирику, эту песню часто используют для обозначения романтических моментов!

Музыкальное видео

Клип к песне вышел в 1984 году. Снят он был британским кинорежиссёром Джульеном Темплом. Как уже было упомянуто выше, в «Smooth Operator» поётся об обаятельном «донжуане», который пользуется большой популярностью среди представительниц прекрасного пола, однако — всем им он лишь разбивает сердца… Такие отсылки в тексте, как «От побережья до побережья, от Лос-Анджелеса до Чикаго» и «Любовь на продажу» намекают на то, что герой использует дам в своих корыстных целях, для извлечения финансовой выгоды. Очевидно, он не испытывает никаких чувств к своим спутницам…

Певица Шаде...
Певица Шаде…

Клип усиливает послание «Smooth Operator». Главный герой представлен в образе профессионального преступника. В одной из сцен он показывает пистолет заинтересованному покупателю, а в других он играет роль бизнесмена, пользующегося успехом среди дам. Как можно судить, ему удаётся ускользать от полиции, которая следит за каждым его шагом. Но, как мы можем видеть в расширенной версии клипа, Шаде положила этому конец: сотрудничая с правоохранительными органами, она прячется в клубе (в том самом, где она поёт в первой части клипа) и видит, как возвращается преступник поздней ночью. Девушка случайно оборачивает оборудование, в результате чего мужчина замечает её и гонится за ней по лестнице. Когда полиция окружила здание, герой предпринимает попытку сбежать по крыше. Однако после выстрела он падает вниз и разбивается насмерть…

Это видео было дважды номинировано на премию MTV Video Music Awards 1985 года. Тем не менее, клип упустил обе награды. Довольно несправедливо, учитывая, что клип напоминает какой-нибудь голливудский боевик 80-х годов!

Критика, успех!

Smooth Operator (1984) – Sade (обложка сингла)
Smooth Operator (1984) – Sade (обложка сингла)

После выхода «Smooth Operator» критики топовых изданий писали:

«Тёплый размеренный голос очаровательной вокалистки поёт о любовнике-аферисте… Наряду с первоклассным музыкальным сопровождением, ярко вырисовывается образ аморального персонажа песни: бессердечный донжуан, который колесит континентам в поисках личной выгоды. Кажется, что это служит аллегорией глобального капитализма… Подлость аморального преступника выражена в настолько потрясающих фразах, что буквально невозможно не соблазниться…»

Очень скоро сингл стал международным хитом! «Smooth Operator» лидировал в Billboard Adult Contemporary в середине 80-х. Трек пользовался и продолжает пользоваться большим успехом в кинематографе! Помимо этого, спустя почти что 40 лет он не утратил своего шарма и приятного расслабленного настроения… Одним словом — музыкальный бальзам для души!

Интересные факты…

  • «Smooth Operator» был использован в документальном фильме 2003 года о жизни и смерти американского рэп-иконы Тупака Шакура. Трек также появлялся в кинолентах «Аферисты Дик и Джейн» (2005) и «Значит, война» (2012).
  • Американский рэп-исполнитель Rich Homie Quan упомянул этот сингл в своей песне «Type of Way».
  • Как минимум 20 разных музыкальных исполнителей выпустили кавер-версию этой джазовой мелодии. Некоторые из этих артистов — кубинский перкуссионист Монго Сантамария (в 1987 году) и известный музыкант Грег Адамс (в 1995 году).
  • Этот трек считается одной из самых успешных песен группы. В 1985 году он стал хитом в Канаде и США, заняв пятое место в чартах обеих стран. Он также занял 19-е место в чарте UK Singles и достиг 20-го места в Австралии.

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

− 4 = 2

Как Саманта Фокс стала горячей иконой 80-х и за что судилась с собственным отцом

Как сексуальная икона 80-х совмещала работу с религией – Саманта Фокс в удивительных фактах В 80-х молоденькая Саманта Фокс была сексуальной иконой. В неё влюблялись...

Эти глэм-метал группы покорили мировую арену – Вспоминаем главных «гламурных» металлистов

Топ любимых глэм-метал групп, которые покорили весь мир Глэм-метал возник на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов в США. Его главное отличие от других жанров –...

Liam Gallagher — «C’mon You Know» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «C'mon You Know» (2022) от Liam Gallagher  Лиам Галлахер поделился со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который называется «C'mon You Know» (2022). Пластинка включает...

Похожие статьи

INTELLIGENCY — «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022) от INTELLIGENCY Белорусская музыкальная группа INTELLIGENCY поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «TechnoBlues Therapy Part...

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...