Author:

Category:

Stromae – All about the musician: biography, success, songs

“If we talk about my influences, I have always admired the work of Jacques Brel ... It was his music that had a tremendous influence on me, and I am grateful to him for this ...”

Stromae — the story of the author Alors on danse

Paul Van Awer, better known as Stromae, is a popular Belgian musician, singer and songwriter! Back in 2009, the guy loudly declared himself to the whole world by releasing the legendary track "Alors on danse". The hit about "Alena" instantly became number one in 12 countries of the world, giving the rapper not only success, but also a contract with a major label!

Track cover
Track cover

In 2013 Stromae released his second studio album called Racine Carrée. The record was very popular: in France alone, it sold 2 million copies! In total, the album has sold 8.5 million copies worldwide!

The death of his father, problems with studies and world success - the person of Paul Van Aver certainly deserves attention! We offer to remember how his difficult path to glory began ...

Brief Biography

Paul as a child...
Paul as a child...

Paul Van Aver was born on March 12, 1985 in Brussels, Belgium. From early childhood, Paul was brought up by his mother alone, like his brothers and sisters. Unfortunately, his father, a successful architect, was killed in 1994 while visiting his family... It was a difficult time - the time of the genocide in Rwanda.

Paul did not pass the exam in the public education system, because of which he attended a Roman Catholic Jesuit school from the age of 16. As often happens, it is at this age that the guy and his friends form their first rap group. The guys were inspired by the work of Jacques Brel - a Belgian poet and bard ...

Later, Paul says:

“Despite the fact that I was raised as a Belgian, in my heart I did not always feel from Belgium…”

Music

Curiously, our hero was not always "Stromae"! At the beginning of the 2000s, Paul announced himself under the stage name "Opmaestro". Later, he changed his name to a more familiar and familiar to many listeners, literally meaning "Maestro" (based on the French slang verlan).

stromae
stromae

At 18, Paul and his buddy JEDI formed a rap duo. The guys managed to release a joint track "Faut que t'arrête le Rap..." (and even shoot a video for it) before JEDI decides to leave to start a solo career...

Due to a lack of money, Paul had to work hard, in many ways to pay for his education at a private school. And only after entering the National Institute of Cinematography, the future idol of millions decides to fully and completely focus on his musical career. Soon the guy releases his debut EP called “Juste un cerveau, un flow, un fond et un mic…” The record attracted the attention of the general public, and already in 2008 the musician signed a 4-year contract!

Stromae (Stromae)
Stromae (Stromae)

Prior to that, Paul worked as a young trainee at the NRJ music radio station in Brussels. With the release of his debut album, the guy literally amazed all his colleagues! Especially, his composition "Alors on danse" impressed the music manager Vincent Verbelin! The man immediately saw a huge talent in the ward ... It was he who first put the track on the air. Soon, the song captivated thousands of listeners, among whom were famous people such as Anna Wintour, Jean-Claude Van Damme and even Nicolas Sarkozy himself - the then President of France! Within a few weeks, the dance composition became number one in sales in Belgium. And by May 2010, the track topped the charts in 12 countries around the world, including Germany, Italy and France! In the same year, Stromae, along with Kanye West and Gilber Forte, recorded a remix of the huge hit, and was also nominated for the MTV Europe Music Awards in the category "Best Dutch and Belgian Artist".

In addition, Paul Van Aver is one of the ten winners of the European Border Breakers Award 2011! His debut full-length album Cheese (which included the same "Alors on danse") was voted the best dance record of the year!

In one of his interviews, Paul spoke about his music and influences:

“I sang in a small band that did rap music. And then it dawned on me that instead of copying the French sound, I can focus on a more American style, but at the same time give it a more European motive ... After that, our sound acquired a hint of "Eurodance of the 90s"! We were embarrassed by this sound for a very long time ... But then we realized that now we have something to discover! This sound covers completely different roots - from house to salsa!

“If we talk about my influences, I have always admired the work of Jacques Brel ... It was his music that had a tremendous influence on me, and I am grateful to him for this ...”

In this interview, the artist also shared that he planned to collaborate with the rising rap group Swag + 5 and rapper T-Jay. However, the collaboration never took place... At the same time, Stromae did not stop admiring their work!

stromae
stromae

Speaking about Paul, one of the critics emphasized:

"His music combines '90s electro-synths and incredible beats with a laid-back delivery of hypnotic effect..."

Well, I don't even want to argue with that! Better to enjoy Stromae's work in person...

Stromae's Greatest Hits

Stromae's Greatest Hits
Stromae's Greatest Hits

Papaoutai

Tous les memes

Alors On Dance

carmen

Ave Caesaria

Batard

Personal life…

Paul belongs to the category of those people who do not like to disclose the details of their personal lives ... It is only known that until 2012 the musician had a relationship with Miss Belgium 2005 Tatiana Silva Braga Tavares.

Later, Paul met Coralie Barbier, and soon they got married! In the fall of 2018, the couple had a son.

Stromae with Coralie Barbier
Stromae with Coralie Barbier

Interesting Facts…

Stromae (Stromae)
Stromae (Stromae)

The track "Papaoutai" was based on Paul's difficult relationship with his father. In music, Stromae also expressed his inner feelings regarding his death ... There are rumors that Pierre left his family and did not even see his son! But, according to Paul, this is not the case. The man always tried to visit relatives who remained in Brussels ...

Stromae's style is unique not only in music, but also in clothes! The artist himself calls his image "dandy swag". Paul just loves bright suits with incredible prints, spectacular butterflies, cardigans and knee socks!

At one of the performances, the lead singer of Coldplay, Chris Martin, decided to perform the then popular "Stromae Bâtard". And what was his surprise when the audience began to sing the words of the song in unison ...

10kFollowers

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Related Articles

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

Автор:

Категория:

Stromae (Стромае) – Всё о музыканте: биография, успех, песни

«Если говорить о моих влияниях, то я всегда восхищался творчеством Жака Бреля... Именно его музыка оказала на меня колоссальное влияние, и я благодарен ему за это...»

Stromae — история автора Alors on danse

Поль Ван Авер, более известный под псевдонимом Stromae, — популярный бельгийский музыкант, исполнитель и автор песен! Ещё в 2009 году парень громко заявил о себе на весь мир, выпустив легендарный трек «Alors on danse». Хит про «Алёну» мгновенно стал номером один в 12-ти странах мира, подарив рэперу не только успех, но и контракт с крупным лейблом!

Обложка трека
Обложка трека

В 2013 году Stromae выпустил второй студийный альбом под названием Racine Carrée. Пластинка имела огромную популярность: в одной только Франции она разошлась 2-миллионным тиражом! В целом альбом был продан тиражом в 8,5 миллионов копий по всему миру!

Смерть отца, проблемы с учёбой и мировой успех — персона Поля Ван Авера безусловно заслуживает внимания! Предлагаем вспомнить, как начинался его нелёгкий путь к славе…

Краткая биография

Поль в детстве...
Поль в детстве…

Поль Ван Авер родился 12 марта 1985 в Брюсселе, Бельгия. С раннего детства Поль воспитывался одной только матерью, как и его братья и сёстры. К сожалению, его отец — успешный архитектор — был убит в 1994, когда навещал свою семью… Это было тяжёлое время — время геноцида в Руанде.

Поль не сдал экзамен в системе государственного образования, из-за чего с 16 лет посещал римско-католическую иезуитскую школу. Как это часто бывает — именно в этом возрасте парень и его друзья формируют свою первую рэп-группу. Вдохновлялись ребята творчеством Жака Бреля — бельгийского поэта и барда…

Впоследствии Поль скажет:

«Несмотря на то, что я был воспитан как бельгиец, в душе я не всегда чувствовал себя из Бельгии…»

Музыка

Любопытно, но наш герой не всегда был «Stromae»! В начале нулевых Поль заявил о себе под сценическим псевдонимом «Opmaestro». Позже он сменил имя на более привычное и знакомое многим слушателям, буквально означающее «Maestro» (исходя из французского сленга verlan).

Stromae
Stromae

В 18 лет Поль и его приятель J.E.D.I. сформировали рэп-дуэт. Ребята успели выпустить совместный трек «Faut que t’arrête le Rap…» (и даже снять клип к нему), прежде чем J.E.D.I. решает уйти, чтобы начать сольную карьеру…

Из-за нехватки денег Полю приходилось много работать, во многом — чтобы оплачивать своё образование в частной школе. И только после поступления в Национальный Институт кинематографии, будущий кумир миллионов решает целиком и полностью сосредоточиться на своей музыкальной карьере. Вскоре парень выпускает дебютный EP под названием «Juste un cerveau, un flow, un fond et un mic…» Пластинка привлекла внимание широкой публики, и уже в 2008 году музыкант подписал 4-х летний контракт!

Stromae (Стромае)
Stromae (Стромае)

До этого Поль подрабатывал молодым стажёром на музыкальной радиостанции NRJ в Брюсселе. С выходом дебютного альбома парень буквально поразил всех своих коллег! Особенно, его композиция «Alors on danse» впечатлила музыкального менеджера Винсента Вербелена! Мужчина сразу разглядел в подопечном огромный талант… Именно он впервые пустил трек в эфир. Вскоре песня очаровала тысячи слушателей, среди которых были и известные персоны, такие как Анна Винтур, Жан-Клод Ван Дамм и даже сам Николя Саркози — тогдашний президент Франции! Уже через несколько недель танцевальная композиция стала номером один по продажам в Бельгии. А к маю 2010 года трек возглавил хит-парады 12-ти стран мира, включая Германию, Италию и Францию! В том же году Stromae вместе с Канье Уэстом и Гилбером Форте записал ремикс на громогласный хит, а также был номинирован на премию MTV Europe Music Awards в категории «Лучший голландский и бельгийский исполнитель».

Помимо этого, Поль Ван Авер является одним из десяти победителей European Border Breakers Award 2011! Его дебютный полноценный альбом Cheese (в который вошла та самая «Alors on danse») был признан лучшей танцевальной пластинкой года!

В одном из своих интервью Поль рассказал о своей музыке и влияниях:

«Я пел в небольшой группе, которая занималась рэп-музыкой. И тогда меня осенило: ведь вместо того, чтобы копировать французское звучание, я могу сосредоточиться на более американском стиле, но при этом придать ему более европейский мотив… После этого наше звучание приобрело оттенок «евродэнс 90-х»! Мы очень долго стеснялись этого звука… Но потом поняли, что теперь нам есть что открыть! Это звучание охватывает совершенно разные корни — от хауса до сальсы!»

«Если говорить о моих влияниях, то я всегда восхищался творчеством Жака Бреля… Именно его музыка оказала на меня колоссальное влияние, и я благодарен ему за это…»

В этом интервью артист также поделился, что планировал сотрудничать с набирающей популярность рэп-группой Swag + 5 и с рэпером T-Jay. Однако коллаборация так и не состоялась… При этом Stromae не перестал восхищаться их творчеством!

Stromae
Stromae

Говоря о Поле, один из критиков подчеркнул:

«Его музыка сочетает в себе электро-синтезаторы 90-х и невероятные биты с непринуждённой подачей гипнотического эффекта…»

Что ж, — с этим даже не хочется спорить! Лучше насладиться творчеством Stromae лично…

Лучшие хиты Stromae

Лучшие хиты Stromae
Лучшие хиты Stromae

Papaoutai

Tous les mêmes

Alors On Danse

Carmen

Ave Cesaria

Bâtard

Личная жизнь…

Поль относится к категории тех людей, которые не любят разглашать подробности личной жизни… Известно только то, что до 2012 года у музыканта были отношения с «Мисс Бельгия — 2005» Татианой Сильва Брага Таварес.

Позже Поль познакомился с Корали Барбье, и вскоре они сыграли свадьбу! Осенью 2018 года у пары родился сын.

Stromae с Корали Барбье
Stromae с Корали Барбье

Интересные факты…

Stromae (Стромае)
Stromae (Стромае)

В основу трека «Papaoutai» были положены сложные отношения Поля с отцом. В музыке Stromae также выразил свои внутренние переживания, касаемо его смерти… Ходят слухи, что Пьер бросил семью и даже не виделся с сыном! Но как утверждает Поль, это не так. Мужчина всегда старался навещать родных, оставшихся в Брюсселе…

Стиль Stromae уникален не только в музыке, но и в одежде! Сам артист называет свой образ «дэнди свэг». Поль просто обожает яркие костюмы с невероятными принтами, эффектные бабочки, кардиганы и гольфы!

На одном из выступлений солист группы Coldplay Крис Мартин решил исполнить популярную тогда «Stromae Bâtard». И какого же было его удивление, когда зал начал подпевать слова песни в унисон…

10kFollowers

Сочетание силы и утончённой красоты – вспоминаем Томми Болина

Вспоминаем Томми Болина, одну из самых молодых легенд гитары Во время последнего живого выступления Томми Болина на разогреве у Джеффа Бека, 3 декабря 1976 года,...

Тони Айомми – легенда тяжёлого звука и просто «самый крутой ребёнок на блоке»

Тони Айомми и секрет его легендарно известного стиля игры Человек в чёрном, чьё уникальное звучание восходит к несчастному случаю – Тони Айомми переписал историю рока,...

«Истерия»: как Def Leppard довели мир до безумия

История альбома «Hysteria» – культовой классики Def Leppard Пластинка «Hysteria», наполненная хитами, по-прежнему считается определяющим моментом в карьере Def Leppard и остаётся такой же актуальной...

Похожие статьи

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...