Author:
Category:

Why ABBA members dislike their hit "Summer Night City" so much

It's hard to believe that this beautiful summer hit has become a "dark spot" in the Swedish band's repertoire - at least according to the members of ABBA. Why so?

How "Summer Night Town" was born, or the story of an "unloved" ABBA hit

"Summer Night City." - a great, very energetic and melodic track that celebrates "Summer Night City."! Dedicated, by the way, Stockholm - Benny Andersson was a native of the lovely Swedish capital, and this composition was a kind of tribute to his beloved city. But it never became the favorite of the ABBA members themselves, and in the charts it showed "weak." results, becoming the last number one for the guys back home...

Millions of people still lovingly listen to "Summer Night City" after all these years! And it's hard to believe that this beautiful summer hit has become "dark spot" in the Swedish band's repertoire - at least according to the members of ABBA themselves. Why is it so? We suggest to find out together, and at the same time to study the history of the favorite track.

Influence of the Bee Gees

ABBA
ABBA

Written as a tribute to Stockholm, "Summer Night City." was released as a single, which was the last number one single of ABBA in their homeland. The members understood that the new album is still far away, so they decided to please the fans with a separate single. By the way: this track was originally planned to be included in "Voulez-Vous"But that idea was quickly abandoned. But first things first.

To fill the gap, ABBA took the song about summer Stockholm from the sessions started in May of that year and released it as a separate single September 6, 1978. Many critics have emphasized the obvious influence on the song Bee GeesThe band, which that year was enjoying the peak of its fame! The track everyone knows today also had a different name, and not just one: it was "Dancing in the Moonlight" and even "Kalle Sändare" (which served as a reference to the then popular Swedish comedian).

Recording process and release

ABBA
ABBA

Written in honor of Benny's hometown, known for its fragrant summer nights, the song originated in Metronome Studiobut was one of the first versions later completed in the Polar Music StudioThe group created for the recording session in Stockholm. Agnetha and Frida first sang their solo parts, and then overlays of all the members were added. But before it was released, the composition literally lay on the shelf until August, as the musicians were in no hurry to mix it. Or rather, some difficulties hindered it. Several attempts were made to improve the final version, but the members themselves said that all that was "not that.". It is known that several variations are still in the band's archive, and it is unlikely that we will ever hear them.

The "gloomy mood" was also added. B sidewhich was a mix of covers of American standards, a medley of "Pick a Bale of Cotton," "On Top of Old Smokey" and "Midnight Special. It was a single eventWhen ABBA played someone else's tracks. And that couldn't help but make us uncomfortable. Subsequently bjorn He said that all these songs were very difficult for them to sing:

"We didn't perform that medley as well as we would have liked, and it was a big disappointment to all of us..."

"Failure."

ABBA Band. 80-е
ABBA Group

In fact, to call "Summer Night City" a failed single it is forbidden - The track showed very good results in the charts: number one in Ireland and Finland, top 5 in Belgium, Norway, the Netherlands and a number of other countries! But there were some nuances. For example - it was last The number one single in ABBA's native Sweden, as well as the first song that was not included in the UK top 3The song was the first of its kind, stopping at the fifth position. For this reason, the musicians perceived this composition as "the beginning of the end of their own career.

In interviews, the quartet members spoke very negatively about this summer masterpiece - Bjorn dubbed "Summer Night City" "a really lousy song," while Benny repeatedly claimed that regrets about her release.

Bjorn Ulvaeus and Benny Andersson
Bjorn Ulvaeus and Benny Andersson

Nevertheless, for many listeners this composition remains favorite pearl ABBA repertoire, which is especially pleasant to listen to in summer! And for fellow artists the tune is still of interest: "Summer Night City" was covered by a huge number of covers, from solo performers to bands and DJs! For example - in 2019 the hit was performed by Bananarama.

That's the story of one song that you (like us) hardly thought "failed.".

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

Автор:
Категория:

Почему участники ABBA так не любят свой хит «Summer Night City»

С трудом верится, что этот красивый летний хит стал «тёмным пятном» в репертуаре шведского коллектива – во всяком случае, по мнению самих участников «АББЫ». Почему же так?

Как родился «Летний ночной город», или история одного «нелюбимого» хита ABBA

«Summer Night City» – отличный, очень энергичный и мелодичный трек, воспевающий «Летний ночной город»! Посвящён он, к слову, Стокгольму – Бенни Андерссон был родом из чудесной столицы Швеции, и данная композиция стала своего рода данью уважения любимому городу. Но она так и не стала фаворитом самих участников ABBA, да и в чартах продемонстрировала «слабые» результаты, став последним номером один для ребят на родине…

Миллионы людей продолжают с любовью переслушивать «Summer Night City» спустя столько лет! И с трудом верится, что этот красивый летний хит стал «тёмным пятном» в репертуаре шведского коллектива – во всяком случае, по мнению самих участников «АББЫ». Почему же так? Предлагаем узнать вместе, а заодно изучить историю создания любимого трека.

Влияние Bee Gees

ABBA
ABBA

Написанный как дань уважения Стокгольму, «Summer Night City» был выпущен отдельным релизом, который стал последним синглом номер один ABBA на их родине. Участники понимали, что до выпуска нового альбома ещё далеко, а потому решили порадовать поклонников отдельным синглом. Кстати: изначально этот трек планировали включить в «Voulez-Vous», однако от этой идеи быстро отказались все. Но обо всём по порядку.

Чтобы восполнить пробел, ABBA взяли песню про летний Стокгольм с сессий, начатых в мае того же года, и выпустили как отдельный сингл 6 сентября 1978 года. Многие критики подчёркивали очевидное влияние на песню Bee Gees, группы, которая в том году наслаждалась пиком своей славы! Знакомый сегодня каждому трек также носил изначально другое название, да и не одно: был он и «Dancing in the Moonlight» и даже «Kalle Sändare» (что служило отсылкой к популярному тогда шведскому комику).

Процесс записи и выпуск

ABBA
ABBA

Написанная в честь родного города Бенни, известного своими ароматными летними ночами, песня зародилась в Metronome Studio, но стала одной из первых версий, позже законченных в Polar Music Studio, созданной для звукозаписи группой в Стокгольме. Агнета и Фрида сначала спели свои сольные партии, а затем были добавлены наложения всех участников. Но прежде чем выйти в свет, композиция буквально пролежала в полке до августа, так как музыканты не спешили её микшировать. Вернее – этому препятствовали некоторые трудности. Было предпринято несколько попыток усовершенствовать окончательную версию, но сами участники заявляли, что всё это было «не то». Известно, что несколько вариаций всё ещё хранятся в архиве группы, и вряд ли мы когда-нибудь их услышим.

«Мрачного настроения» добавила и сторона B, которая представляла собой смесь каверов американских стандартов, попурри из «Pick a Bale of Cotton», «On Top of Old Smokey» и «Midnight Special». Это был единственный случай, когда ABBA исполнили чужие треки. И это не могло не доставить неудобств. Впоследствии Бьорн рассказывал, что все эти песни давались им с большим трудом:

«Мы исполнили это попурри не так хорошо, как нам того хотелось бы, и это было большим разочарованием для всех нас…»

«Провал»

Группа ABBA. 80-е
Группа ABBA

На самом деле, назвать «Summer Night City» провальным синглом нельзя – трек продемонстрировал очень даже хорошие результаты в чартах: первая строчка в Ирландии и Финляндии, топ-5 в Бельгии, Норвегии, Нидерландах и ряде других стран! Но были здесь и свои нюансы. Например – это был последний сингл номер один в родной для ABBA Швеции, а также первая песня, которая не вошла в топ-3 Великобритании, остановившись на пятой позиции. По этой причине музыканты воспринимали эту композицию как «начало конца собственной карьеры».

В своих интервью участники квартета отзывались об этом летнем шедевре крайне негативно – Бьорн окрестил «Летний ночной город» «действительно паршивой песней», в то время как Бенни неоднократно утверждал, что сожалеет о её выпуске.

Бьорн Ульвеус и Бенни Андерссон
Бьорн Ульвеус и Бенни Андерссон

Тем не менее для многих слушателей эта композиция остаётся любимой жемчужиной репертуара «АББЫ», которую особенно приятно послушать летом! Да и для коллег по цеху мелодия по-прежнему представляет интерес: на «Summer Night City» было сделано огромное множество каверов, от сольных исполнителей до групп и диджеев! К примеру – в 2019 году хит прозвучал в исполнении Bananarama.

Вот такая история одной песни, которую вы (как и мы) вряд ли считали «провальной».

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...
Похожие статьи

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...

Чего вы ещё не знали о мировой легенде Мирей Матьё – рассказываем историю, полную удивительных эпизодов

История Мирей Матьё в фактах: от ранних лет до мировой славы Одна из легендарнейших французских певиц в истории, Мирей Матьё завоевала свой статус легенды полностью...

«Две личности в одном разуме»: вспоминаем Иэна Кёртиса

История Иэна Кёртиса, рано ушедшего, но такого талантливого вокалиста Joy Division К нему можно относиться по-разному, и всё же мало кто станет оспаривать тот факт,...