Date:

Author:
Category:

Was George Gershwin's world hit "Summertime" really based on a Ukrainian lullaby?

Could an American composer really have written his biggest hit based on a Ukrainian lullaby? And if so, how did he learn about it? We offer to study this topic thoroughly.

What is the relationship between George Gershwin's hit song "Summertime" and the Ukrainian lullaby "Oh sleep walks near the windows"?

"Summertime." и "Oh, there's sleep at the window." - the titles of these two world-famous works are often seen side by side. The point is that their opening lines are very similar to each other. Too similar. But is the world George Gershwin's hit was based on Ukrainian lullaby? Today we will try to figure it out, and also give some curious facts that you may not have known before.

The story and success of "Summertime"

Cover of George Gershwin's "Summertime."
Cover of George Gershwin's "Summertime."

"Summertime." - one of the most famous and frequently recorded works not only in the career of the George Gershwinbut also in history as a whole. It was born in the distant 1935 - the American composer wrote it especially for his opera. "Porgy and Bess.". At first, the opera was not a success, and neither was the composition itself. Fame fell on Gershwin's brainchild only decades later, after the musician's death. And "Summertime" contributed to a great extent to this!

https://youtu.be/ixdJLXDT_QM

Subsequently, the song became a colossal success among listeners. Not surprisingly, many artists started recording their interpretations. There are over 60 thousands versions of this work! And this is only officially, i.e. in reality these figures are much higher. Summertime" recordings are popular among collectors, and the most valuable version is considered to be the one recorded on the "Summertime" album. Elloy Fitzgerald и by Louis Armstrong.

https://youtu.be/lnXLVTi_m_M

Thanks to such hype around the song, "Summertime" performed by different artists periodically topped the US charts again and again Billboard. But what is the reason for such a frenzy around an old work that did not initially claim to be a hit? The fact is that years after the first opera. "Porgy and Bess." a lot of people have started comparing "Summertime." with the Ukrainian lullaby "Oy goes sleep under the windows". As a result, all these comparisons gave rise to many legends and even grew into a real cult.

What do you have in common with "Oh, there's a dream at the window"?

Art Month and Girl
"The Month and the Girl."

"Oh, there's sleep at the window." - a famous Ukrainian lullaby, which, thanks to a hit song. George Gershwin is well known all over the world. It doesn't take a special musical ear to notice that the opening phrases and melody of these pieces are very similar!

But this raises a very logical question: could the American composer really have written his biggest hit based on a Ukrainian lullaby? And if so, how did he find out about it? We propose to study this topic thoroughly.

Could George Gershwin have been inspired by a Ukrainian lullaby

The great composer George Gershwin
The great composer George Gershwin

In theory. George Gershwin may indeed have been inspired by a Ukrainian lullaby. But no more than that. If you listen carefully to both works, it becomes obvious that apart from the opening lines, they have absolutely nothing in common.

It is generally believed that the inspiration for "Summertime" came from the song "Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child." - a so-called traditional spirituals hymn. Spirituals - is the spiritual music of African-American Protestants. Subsequently, it had a great influence on jazz. And such borrowing seems more reasonable and possible than plagiarising a Ukrainian lullaby.

However, Gershwin may actually have borrowed a small fragment from the "Oh, there's sleep at the window.". If one delves into his family tree, one finds that his ancestors were immigrants from Russia. This confirms the fact that the future composer could have learnt the Ukrainian lullaby in early childhood. Or from his parents, to whom it was certainly sung in their childhood.

Also, if you listen to a Jewish lullaby. "Pipi-pipipee" and compare it to the Ukrainian one, you can find a lot of similarities. This multiplies the chance that George Gershwin could actually hear the melody that would eventually form the basis of the "Summertime.".

One last thing

Composer George Gershwin
Composer George Gershwin

Let's summarise. Did you hear George Gershwin a melody from a Ukrainian lullaby, which ended up being repeated in his hit song "Summertime."? Most likely, yes. Could he have borrowed it? It is quite possible that some fragments simply popped up in the composer's memory when writing his own work. Nevertheless, it can't be called plagiarism. And in general - the works are completely different, so it is pointless to try to compare them. Nevertheless, "Summertime" was, is and will be one of the most popular compositions, whose age is close to a century.

LEAVE ANSWER

Please enter your comment!
please enter your name here

49 - = 43

'Pretty Woman With A Secret': Debbie Harry's 'Blondie' Secrets She Long Hid From Fans

Debbie Harry: facts about her personal life and career Debbie Harry is unfortunately a rarity: a surviving 78-year-old punk scene icon whose career developed during the era of...

Yuri Antonov - The Hardest Idol: Antics and Scandals That Made Producers Walk Away From the Master

Yuri Antonov: character, scandals, antics Recently, producer Sergey Lavrov said that Yuri Antonov is the most difficult, capricious and wayward maestro of the domestic variety, with whom he...

Ekaterina Batrakova: "A good half of academic musicians listen to good rock"

Ekaterina Batrakova - interview: about career and plans for the future The correspondent of Fuzz Music talked to the rock singer Katya Batrakova, whose songs have repeatedly hit the...
Recommended

What "Thriller" hottie sued Jackson for.

Ola Ray is the girl from Michael Jackson's "Thriller." The sinister dancing zombies, Michael Jackson's brilliant choreography and, of course, the song itself combined to make 1982's "Thriller"...

The Whole USSR Danced It: The Twist - Why It Was So Wanted To Be Banned

Twist: history, facts, scandals, popularity in the USSR and the USA If you've watched Pulp Fiction or live performances by rock 'n' roll icons (including "The King" Elvis Presley), you...

The coolest producers in rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best producers in rock Often music lovers underestimate the role of the producer in the career of their favourite band or performer. And for nothing, because it is from how good this person...

'I'm embarrassed for America': why Hendrix mocked his American counterparts

Why Jimi Hendrix had no respect for American rockers The British Invasion changed everything: all boundaries were erased, rock 'n' roll evolved to become something beautifully intimidating, rumbling, energetic,...

"Pavarotti himself wasn't squeamish" - world stars who got into trouble over phonograms

World stars who sang with a backing track There's nothing wrong with a phonogram - sometimes it's just necessary, as an artiste may be performing in a giant stadium, and...

The sad stories of the stars of Motown Records

Motown Records artists and their sad stories Motown Records, a label known for great tunes and truly "killer" leads, has launched a number of dizzying musical careers. If Michael ...

Pete Townsend's first favourite band, which had a huge influence on him

Why Pete Townsend loves The Rolling Stones so much Every great musician has his or her - favourite great band. And, as a rule, getting to know them has had an...

Not just a musician: what Viktor Tsoi worked as during his life

Viktor Tsoi's works beyond music Viktor Tsoi is one of the key figures of Russian rock. His work with the band Kino is practically a folk treasure, and his fanbase...

History of Soviet cassette recorders

Magnetophones in the USSR Listening to music has always been an interesting activity, but much more curious was the history of certain devices used to play tracks. В...

Дата:

Автор:
Категория:

Действительно ли мировой хит Джорджа Гершвина «Summertime» был основан на украинской колыбельной

Действительно ли американский композитор мог написать свой самый большой хит, отталкиваясь от украинской колыбельной? И если да, то как он о ней узнал? Предлагаем изучить эту тему досконально.

Какая взаимосвязь между хитом Джорджа Гершвина «Summertime» и украинской колыбельной «Ой ходит сон подле окон»

«Summertime» и «Ой ходит сон подле окон» — заголовки этих двух всемирно известных произведений очень часто можно увидеть рядом. Всё дело в том, что начальные строки их очень схожи между собой. Даже слишком. Но действительно ли мировой хит Джорджа Гершвина был основан на украинской колыбельной? Сегодня мы постараемся в этом разобраться, а также приведём несколько любопытных фактов, которые ранее могли быть вам неизвестны.

История и успех «Summertime»

Обложка произведения «Summertime» Джорджа Гершвина
Обложка произведения «Summertime» Джорджа Гершвина

«Summertime» — одно из самых известных и часто записываемых произведений не только в карьере Джорджа Гершвина, но и в истории в целом. Родилось оно в далёком 1935 году — американский композитор написал его специально для своей оперы «Порги и Бесс». Поначалу опера не имела успеха, как и сама композиция. Слава обрушилась на детище Гершвина лишь спустя десятилетия, уже после смерти музыканта. И во многом этому поспособствовала «Summertime»!

https://youtu.be/ixdJLXDT_QM

Впоследствии песня снискала колоссальный успех среди слушателей. Неудивительно, что многие артисты начали записывать свои интерпретации. Существует свыше 60 тысяч версий данного произведения! И это только официально, то есть на самом деле эти цифры намного больше. Записи «Summertime» пользуются популярностью среди коллекционеров, а наиболее ценной считается версия, записанная Эллой Фицджеральд и Луи Армстронгом.

https://youtu.be/lnXLVTi_m_M

Благодаря такому ажиотажу вокруг песни «Summertime» в исполнении разных исполнителей периодически вновь и вновь возглавляла американский Billboard. Но с чем же связан подобный ажиотаж вокруг старого произведения, которое вначале не претендовало на звание хита? Дело в том, что спустя годы после первой оперы «Порги и Бесс» многие начали сравнивать «Summertime» с украинской колыбельной «Ой ходит сон подле окон». В результате все эти сравнения породили множество легенд и даже переросли в настоящий культ.

Что общего с «Ой ходит сон подле окон»

Арт Месяц и Девочка
«Месяц и девочка»

«Ой ходит сон подле окон» — известная украинская колыбельная, которую благодаря хиту Джорджа Гершвина хорошо знают во всём мире. Не нужно иметь особый музыкальный слух, чтобы заметить: начальные фразы и мелодия этих произведений очень похожи!

Но встаёт весьма логичный вопрос: действительно ли американский композитор мог написать свой самый большой хит, отталкиваясь от украинской колыбельной? И если да, то как он о ней узнал? Предлагаем изучить эту тему досконально.

Мог ли Джордж Гершвин вдохновиться украинской колыбельной

Великий композитор Джордж Гершвин
Великий композитор Джордж Гершвин

В теории Джордж Гершвин действительно мог вдохновиться украинской колыбельной. Но не более. Если внимательно прослушать оба произведения, становится очевидно, что кроме начальных строк в них нет совершенно ничего общего.

Принято считать, что источником вдохновения для «Summertime» послужила композиция «Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child» — так называемый традиционный гимн в жанре спиричуэлс. Спиричуэлс — это духовная музыка афроамериканцев-протестантов. Впоследствии она оказала большое влияние на джаз. И такое заимствование кажется более разумным и возможным, нежели плагиат украинской колыбельной.

Однако Гершвин на самом деле мог позаимствовать небольшой фрагмент из «Ой ходит сон подле окон». Если углубиться в его родословную, то можно обнаружить, что его предки были эмигрантами из России. Это подтверждает тот факт, что будущий композитор мог познакомиться с украинской колыбельной ещё в раннем детстве. Ну или от родителей, которым её непременно пели в их детстве.

Также, если послушать еврейскую колыбельную «Pipi-pipipee» и сравнить её с украинской, можно выявить большое сходство. Это в разы повышает шанс того, что Джордж Гершвин действительно мог слышать мелодию, которая в итоге легла в основу «Summertime».

Напоследок

Композитор Джордж Гершвин
Композитор Джордж Гершвин

Подведём итоги. Слышал ли Джордж Гершвин мелодию из украинской колыбельной, которая в результате повторяется в его хите «Summertime»? Скорее всего, да. Мог ли он её позаимствовать? Вполне возможно, что просто какие-то фрагменты всплыли в памяти композитора при написании собственного произведения. Тем не менее назвать это плагиатом никак нельзя. Да и в целом — произведения совершенно разные, поэтому пытаться сравнивать их бессмысленно. Тем не менее «Summertime» была, есть и будет одной из популярнейших композиций, чей возраст близок к веку.

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

5 + 5 =

«Красотка с Секретом»: Тайны «Блонди» Дебби Харри, Которые Она Долго Скрывала от Фанатов

Дебби Харри: факты о личной жизни и карьере Дебби Харри, к сожалению, является редкостью: дожившая до 78 лет икона панк-сцены, чья карьера развивалась в эпоху...

Юрий Антонов – Самый «Тяжёлый» Кумир: Выходки и Скандалы, из-за Которых Продюсеры Обходят Мэтра Стороной

Юрий Антонов: характер, скандалы, выходки Недавно продюсер Сергей Лавров заявил, что Юрий Антонов – самый тяжёлый, капризный и своенравный мэтр отечественной эстрады, с которым ему...

Екатерина Батракова: «Добрая половина академических музыкантов слушает хороший рок»

Екатерина Батракова – интервью: о карьере и планах на будущее Корреспондент издания «Fuzz Music» пообщался с набирающей известность рок-исполнительницей Катей Батраковой, песни которой неоднократно попадали...
Рекомендуем

За Что Красотка из «Триллера» Судилась с Джексоном

Ола Рэй – девушка из «Thriller» Майкла Джексона Зловещие танцующие зомби, блестящая хореография Майкла Джексона и, конечно же, сама песня в совокупности сделали «Thriller» 1982...

Его Танцевал Весь СССР: Твист – Почему Его Так Хотели Запретить

Твист: история, факты, скандалы, популярность в СССР и США Если вы смотрели «Криминальное чтиво» или живые выступления икон рок-н-ролла (включая «Короля» Элвиса Пресли), то вы...

Самые крутые продюсеры в роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие продюсеры в роке Часто меломаны недооценивают роль продюсера в карьере любимой группы или исполнителя. А зря, ведь именно от того, насколько хорош этот человек...

«Мне неловко за Америку»: почему Хендрикс насмехался над своими американскими коллегами

Почему Джими Хендрикс не уважал американских рокеров Британское вторжение изменило всё: все границы были стёрты, рок-н-ролл эволюционировал и превратился в нечто прекрасно пугающее, грохочущее, энергичное...

«Сам Паваротти не брезговал» – мировые звёзды, «влипшие» в неприятности из-за фонограммы

Мировые звёзды, которые пели под фонограмму Нет ничего плохого в фонограмме – порой она просто необходима, так как артист может выступать на гигантском стадионе, и...

Печальные истории звёзд Motown Records

Артисты Motown Records и их печальные истории Motown Records, лейбл, известный великолепными мелодиями и воистину «убийственными» зацепками, дал начало ряду головокружительных музыкальных карьер. Если Майкл...

Первая любимая группа Пита Таунсенда, оказавшая на него колоссальное влияние

Почему Пит Таунсенд так любит The Rolling Stones У каждого великого музыканта есть своя – любимая великая группа. И, как правило, знакомство с ней оказало...

Не только музыкант: кем работал Виктор Цой в течение жизни

Работы Виктора Цоя помимо музыки Виктор Цой является одной из ключевых фигур русского рока. Его работы с группой «Кино» являются практически народными достоянием, а фанбаза...

История советских кассетных магнитофонов

Магнитофоны в СССР Прослушивание музыки во все времена было интересным занятием, но куда любопытнее была история тех или иных приспособлений, использовавшихся для воспроизведения треков. В...