Author:

Category:

The lost Led Zeppelin improvised song that came out thanks to a fan

There is a track that even the most devoted fans never knew existed...

How Led Zeppelin recorded "Sunshine Woman," whose tracks were lost for decades

Being a fan Led ZeppelinYou may think that you've been familiar with all the songs of your favorite British rockers for a long time! But every now and then fate throws us all pleasant surprisesfor example - lost tracks that have never been released before.

Such a fascinating story happened with the song "Sunshine Womanwhich was lost to the BBC in 1969, and only came out today, thanks to a devoted fan. And here's how it was...

The story of the disappearance of the mysterious "Sunny Woman

The story of "No Quarter" (Led Zeppelin)
Led Zeppelin

In 12 years of successful collaboration, the band released eight studio albums (the ninth was released in 1982, after the death of John Bonham and the actual disintegration of Zeppelin). Each record is unique and rich in its own way: listening to the discs from the first to the last, we can appreciate the whole The Zeppelin Revolutionhow they grew from a young band into the rock giants of their era...

Most likely, devoted fans have listened to these masterpieces more than once, as well as compilations and other extras. It may seem that we've enjoyed the "full picture" for a long time. But no: there is a track whose existence even the most devoted fans have never didn't suspect.

About shortly after graduation. BBC Sessions in 1997 Jimmy Page came across an amazing counterfeit version of a song he hadn't heard in almost 30 years! It was a Zeppelin song, but where could it have come from? The band had never recorded it for an album, and there is no such track among the studio recordings at all! Having gathered his thoughts and thought about it, Paige realized, not without surprise, that it was a Led Zeppelin session for the BBC 1969 of the year!

"Sunshine Woman - definitely a worthy composition that could have easily graced any Zeppelin album! However, soon after the band's session for BBC its traces were lost. According to the official statement, the BBC lost (or damaged, the versions differ a bit) the tape of that day. To you and me, this could mean that we'll never get to know Sunny Woman. But thanks to the devotion of one fan, the story of the horrible disappearance has found a very positive ending!

A devoted fan and magic in the studio

Robert Plant and Jimmy Page
Robert Plant and Jimmy Page

Commenting on this situation, Page noted:

"This track was literally born on the spot! We didn't even rehearse it. It started with a guitar riff, and then the song went by itself... It was more like fun than the responsible process of making the track. We're playing very seriously here, though!"

Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin

Zeppelin recorded "Sunshine Woman together with "I Can't Quit You Baby" and "You Shook Me.", and later these tracks were broadcast on the BBC World Service. Unfortunately, the record was soon lost. Without the backup, it seemed that traces of "Sunshine Woman" disappeared forever... But apparently, fate loves Led Zeppelin and their fans very much. Thanks to one passionate fan, Page managed to reveal to the world the forgotten "Sunshine Woman"!

"As far as I know, it was re-recorded from the radio by someone from Eastern Europe."

After a little studio magic, the remaining members managed to release a lost track as part of the 2016 reissue of BBC Sessions. For fans, this was unexpected, and very nice gift. Many have noted the talent Robert Plante - And it's not just about the vocals:

"It seems to me that Robert Plante has remained unappreciated. He will never get the credit he deserves for what a great harmonica player he was (and still is)! This could be listened to forever..."

Robert Plant plays the harmonica
Robert Plant plays the harmonica

And indeed, Plante's mastery here is beyond praise! But if everything is clear with the harmonica, the audience is interested in another question: who plays on the piano During the session? We have John Bonham on drums, Robert Plant on vocals and harmonica, Jimmy Page on guitar and John Paul Jones on bass. However, when it comes to the pianist, we are completely in the dark.

Here the versions diverge: some are inclined to to the imposition of (although the piano part seems too intertwined to be added in another take), while others have attached to the story Ian Stewart! However, it's little mysteries like this that add charm and value to any work...

9kFollowers

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

Related Articles

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

"She left early, but she left a bright mark" - the story of Yanka Diagileva

A bright representative of the national underground - the story of Yanka Diagileva Yanka Diagileva went down in history as a bright representative of the Siberian underground, a woman who during her short career...

Автор:

Категория:

Утерянная импровизированная песня Led Zeppelin, которая вышла благодаря поклоннику

Есть трек, о существовании которого даже самые преданные фанаты никогда не подозревали...

Как Led Zeppelin записали «Sunshine Woman», следы которой затерялись на десятилетия

Будучи поклонником Led Zeppelin, вам может показаться, что вы давно и очень хорошо знакомы со всеми песнями любимых британских рокеров! Но время от времени судьба подкидывает всем нам приятные сюрпризы, например – утерянные треки, которые ранее никогда не выходили в свет.

Столь увлекательная история произошла с песней «Sunshine Woman», которая была утеряна BBC в 1969 году, и вышла лишь в наши дни – и то благодаря преданному поклоннику. А дело было вот как…

История исчезновения загадочной «Солнечной женщины»

История «No Quarter» (Led Zeppelin)
Led Zeppelin

За 12 лет успешной совместной деятельности группа выпустила 8 студийных альбомов (девятый вышел в 1982 году, уже после смерти Джона Бонэма и фактического распада Zeppelin). Каждая пластинка уникальна и богата по-своему: прослушивая диски от первого и до последнего, мы можем оценить всю революцию Zeppelin, то, как из молодого коллектива они превращались в рок-гигантов своей эпохи…

Скорее всего, преданные поклонники не один раз переслушивали эти шедевры, а также сборники и прочие дополнительные выпуски. Может показаться, что мы уже давно насладились «полной картиной». Но нет: есть трек, о существовании которого даже самые преданные фанаты никогда не подозревали.

Примерно вскоре после выпуска «BBC Sessions» в 1997 году Джимми Пейдж наткнулся на удивительную контрафактную версию песни, которую он не слышал уже почти 30 лет! Это была песня Zeppelin, но откуда она могла появиться? Группа никогда не записывала это для альбома, да и вообще такого трека среди студийных записей нет! Собравшись с мыслями и хорошенько подумав, Пейдж не без удивления понял, что это – сессия Led Zeppelin для BBC 1969 года!

«Sunshine Woman» – определённо достойная композиция, которая могла бы запросто украсить любой альбом Zeppelin! Однако вскоре после сессии группы для BBC её следы потерялись. Если верить официальному заявлению, «Би-би-си» потеряла (или повредила, тут версии немножко расходятся) плёнку с записью того дня. Для нас с вами это могло бы означать, что мы никогда не познакомимся с «Солнечной женщиной». Но благодаря преданности одного поклонника, история ужасной пропажи обрела весьма положительную концовку!

Преданный фанат и магия в студии

Роберт Плант и Джимми Пейдж
Роберт Плант и Джимми Пейдж

Комментируя данную ситуацию, Пейдж отметил:

«Этот трек буквально родился на месте! Мы даже не репетировали его. Всё началось с гитарного риффа, а дальше песня сама пошла… Это больше походило на развлечение, чем на ответственный процесс создания трека. Хотя мы играем здесь очень серьёзно!»

Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin

Zeppelin записали «Sunshine Woman» вместе с «I Can’t Quit You Baby» и «You Shook Me», и позже эти треки транслировались на BBC World Service. К сожалению, запись вскоре была утеряна. Без резервной копии казалось, что следы «Солнечной женщины» исчезли навсегда… Но, видимо, судьба очень любит Led Zeppelin и их поклонников. Благодаря одному страстному фанату, Пейджу удалось явить миру забытую «Sunshine Woman»!

«Насколько мне известно, она была перезаписана с радио кем-то из Восточной Европы».

После небольшого студийного волшебства оставшимся участникам удалось выпустить затерявшийся трек в рамках переиздания «BBC Sessions» в 2016 году. Для поклонников это было неожиданным, и очень приятным подарком. Многие отмечают талант Роберта Планта – и речь сейчас не только про вокал:

«Мне кажется, Роберт Плант остался недооценён. Он никогда не получит должной похвалы за то, каким прекрасным игроком на губной гармошке он был (и остаётся)! Это можно слушать вечно…»

Роберт Плант играет на губной гармошке
Роберт Плант играет на губной гармошке

И действительно: мастерство Планта здесь выше всяких похвал! Но если с губной гармоникой всё понятно, публику интересует другой вопрос: кто же играет на пианино во время сеанса? У нас есть Джон Бонэм на барабанах, Роберт Плант на вокале и губной гармошке, Джимми Пейдж на гитаре и Джон Пол Джонс на басу. Однако, когда дело доходит до пианиста, мы полностью в неведении.

Тут версии расходятся: одни склоняются к наложению (хотя партия фортепиано кажется слишком переплетённой, чтобы быть добавленной в другом дубле), другие и вовсе приплетают к этой истории Иэна Стюарта! Впрочем, именно такие маленькие загадки добавляют любому произведению очарования и ценности…

9kFollowers

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Похожие статьи

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...

«Рано ушла, но оставила яркий след» – история Янки Дягилевой

Яркая представительница отечественного андеграунда – история Янки Дягилевой Янка Дягилева вошла в историю как яркая представительница сибирского андеграунда, женщина, которая на протяжении своей короткой карьеры...