Author:

Category:

How Tony Iommi was ahead of his time with one of the most legendary riffs in history

Why was this particular track so influential? And how did Tony Iommi get ahead of his time by being unconscious and under the influence of banned substances?

How Tony Iommi made thrash metal history with his legendary riff

"Symptom of the Universe" - one of the greatest songs of all time heavy metal. It was a worthy addition to the band's "Sabotage" album. Black Sabbathand later became widely renowned for its riff! But it was not the only one that delighted the audience: as the critics note, it was on "Symptom of the Universe" that every member of the legendary British band is as good as ever...

It's a very interesting composition, no matter which way you look at it! But the most remarkable thing is that it was not released as a single, although it was a great success and many bands even made their own covers. But why did this particular track turn out to be so influential? And how Tony Iommi was ahead of his time, being unconscious and under the influence of banned substances?

Every member of Sabbath shines like never before

Black Sabbath
Black Sabbath

By the time the work on "Sabotage." actively boiled over, devastation reigned within the group: the members immersed themselves in a forbidden journey with substances, and just two years later, the public favorite Ozzy Osbourne will leave the lineup... But so far we are in 1975.

Ozzy Osbourne
Ozzy Osbourne

Work on "Sabotage" is in full swing, but the band members feel heavy pressure. According to many critics, this was the background against which the record turned out to be so powerful, sharp, philosophically intense. For all four of them it was a canvas on which they could express their wild energy and aggression, sadness and anxiety...

As part of "Sabotage," each member of the group showed himself with the strongest and bright side: Bill Ward's drumming, Tony Iommi's guitar skills, Geezer Butler's deep lyrics and Ozzy Osbourne's vocal skills! By the way: it was on this album that Prince of Darkness, according to foreign observers, finally realized the power of their vocals. and began to make full use of it, demonstrating incredible charisma and courage.

The gem was. "Symptom of the Universe". It was in this song that Ozzy's vocal prowess shone with new - bright colors! Some even note that this is the last great metal song recorded by Sabbath with Osbourne at the microphone. But something else in this track sounds special, unique, grandiose... And it's a masterpiece Iommi riff..

Thanks to him, the track has consistently made the lists of the most ambitious and critical in the history of heavy metal! And some critics even point out that Iommi ahead of the curve their own time, bringing the opening of thrash metal at least five years closer. Today it's "The greatest riff of all time." according to several influential metal-based publications!

Racing against himself

Tony Iommi
Tony Iommi

Over and over again the game Iommi In Symptom of the Universe headed lists of the greatest rock riffs of all time! It sounds powerful, tearful, aggressive... You could say that it is the personal "Symptom of the Universe" of Sabbath.

Repeatedly Tony Iommi was asked, how was this phenomenal sound born? But, alas, the legendary guitarist could not answer this question. During the making of "Sabotage," Tony, by his own admission, was in oblivion under the influence of illegal substances and hard liquor.

"My God, it's been so long ago! I can hardly remember how we wrote that track in the first place. I think it was a desire to go beyond what we had achieved, a desire to write something unique..."

Tony Iommi
Tony Iommi

Although this period is not imprinted on Iommi's memory, the central riff of "Symptom of the Universe" with its dark modality laid the foundation for thrash metal.

Tony was one of those guitarists who had in reserve always had some interesting parts for extensive jam sessions. And if we believe Iommi's vague recollection, the riff for "Symptom of the Universe" was one of those "spare" parts. According to the Sabbath legend, the track was an attempt to create something of their own, unique and very original. When asked if there were any guitarists he was trying to emulate back then, Tony said:

"Yes, I was. That's me. I was competing with myself. I was constantly trying to improve and change things. I didn't really listen to other guitarists, just in case I accidentally started playing someone else's riff!"

Lastly

Ozzy Osbourne and Tony Iommi at Live Aid 1985 in America
Ozzy Osbourne and Tony Iommi at Live Aid 1985

"Symptom of The Universe" - not only one of Black Sabbath's most beloved tracks, but also one of their most experimental. In the second half of the record, the band abruptly heads into more jazzy territory. According to Iommi, the hybrid nature of the track was far from from intentional:

"We were just jamming together. First I played the riff, then Geezer (Butler) and Bill (Ward) joined in. And then Ozzie came in. And I think we came out pretty good!" he added.

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

Автор:

Категория:

Как Тони Айомми опередил своё время с одним из легендарнейших риффов за всю историю

Почему именно этот трек оказался таким влиятельным? И как Тони Айомми опередил своё время, будучи в беспамятстве под воздействием запрещённых веществ?

Как Тони Айомми вошёл в историю трэш-метала со своим легендарным риффом

«Symptom of the Universe» – одна из величайших песен за всю историю хеви-метала. Она достойно украсила альбом «Sabotage» группы Black Sabbath, а впоследствии широко прославилась своим риффом! Но не только он восхитил публику: как отмечают критики, именно на «Симптоме Вселенной» каждый участник легендарного британского бэнда хорош как никогда…

Это очень интересная композиция, с какой стороны к ней не подойди! Но что самое примечательное – она не была издана синглом, хотя обрела большой успех и многие группы даже делали собственные каверы. Но почему именно этот трек оказался таким влиятельным? И как Тони Айомми опередил своё время, будучи в беспамятстве под воздействием запрещённых веществ?

Каждый участник Sabbath блистает как никогда

Black Sabbath
Black Sabbath

К тому моменту, когда работа над «Sabotage» активно закипела, внутри группы царила разруха: участники с головой погрузились в запрещённое путешествие при помощи веществ, а всего через два года любимец публики Оззи Осборн покинет состав… Но пока что мы в 1975 году.

Оззи Осборн
Оззи Осборн

Работа над «Sabotage» идёт полным ходом, но участники группы чувствуют сильное напряжение. По мнению многих критиков, именно на фоне этого пластинка и получилась такой мощной, острой, философски насыщенной. Для всех четверых это был холст, на котором они могли выплеснуть свою дикую энергию и агрессию, печаль и обеспокоенность…

В рамках «Sabotage» каждый участник группы показал себя с самой сильной и яркой стороны: игра Билла Уорда на барабанах, гитарное мастерство Тони Айомми, глубокая лирика Гизера Батлера и вокальное мастерство Оззи Осборна! К слову: именно на этом альбоме «Князь Тьмы», по мнению зарубежных обозревателей, наконец осознал силу своего вокала и начал полноценно ей пользоваться, демонстрируя невероятную харизму и смелость.

Жемчужиной стала «Symptom of the Universe». Именно в этой песне вокальное мастерство Оззи заиграло новыми – яркими красками! Некоторые даже отмечают, что это последняя великая метал-песня, записанная Sabbath с Осборном у микрофона. Но кое-что ещё в этом треке звучит особенно, уникально, грандиозно… И это шедевральный рифф Айомми.

Благодаря ему трек неизменно входит в списки самых амбициозных и важнейших за всю историю хеви-метала! А некоторые критики и вовсе отмечают, что Айомми опередил собственное время, приблизив открытие трэш-метала как минимум на пять лет. Сегодня это «Величайший рифф всех времён» по версии нескольких влиятельных изданий, базирующихся на метал-музыке!

Наперегонки с самим собой

Тони Айомми
Тони Айомми

Снова и снова игра Айомми в «Symptom of the Universe» возглавляла списки величайших рок-риффов всех времён! Она звучит мощно, надрывисто, агрессивно… Можно сказать, в ней и заключается личный «Симптом Вселенной» Sabbath.

Неоднократно Тони Айомми расспрашивали, как же родилось это феноменальное звучание? Но, увы, легендарный гитарист не мог ответить на это вопрос. Во время создания «Sabotage» Тони, по его собственному признанию, был в беспамятстве под воздействием запрещённых веществ и крепкого спиртного.

«Боже мой, это было так давно! Я с трудом помню, как мы вообще написали этот трек. Думаю, это было стремление выйти за рамки достигнутого, желание написать что-то уникальное…»

Тони Айомми
Тони Айомми

Несмотря на то, что этот период не отпечатался в памяти Айомми, центральный рифф из «Symptom of the Universe» с его тёмной модальностью заложил основу для трэш-метала.

Тони был одним из тех гитаристов, у которых в запасе всегда имелись занимательные партии для обширных джем-сейшнов. И если верить смутным воспоминаниям Айомми, рифф для «Symptom of the Universe» был одной из тех самых партий «из запаса». По словам легенды Sabbath, этот трек был попыткой создать что-то своё, уникальное и очень оригинальное. Отвечая на вопрос, были ли какие-нибудь гитаристы, которым он пытался подражать тогда, Тони сказал:

«Да, был. Это я. Я соревновался с самим собой. Я постоянно пытался что-то улучшить и изменить. Я особо не слушал других гитаристов, просто, на всякий случай – вдруг нечаянно начну играть чужой рифф!»

Напоследок

Оззи Осборн и Тони Айомми на Live Aid 1985 в Америке
Оззи Осборн и Тони Айомми на Live Aid 1985

«Symptom of The Universe» – не только один из самых любимых треков Black Sabbath, но и один из самых экспериментальных. Во второй половине записи группа резко отправляется на более джазовую территорию. По словам Айомми, гибридный характер трека был далёк от преднамеренного:

«Мы просто джемовали вместе. Сначала я сыграл этот рифф, затем подключились Гизер (Батлер) и Билл (Уорд). А затем и Оззи. И мне кажется, у нас вышло недурно!», – добавил он.

9kFollowers

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Похожие статьи

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...

«Рано ушла, но оставила яркий след» – история Янки Дягилевой

Яркая представительница отечественного андеграунда – история Янки Дягилевой Янка Дягилева вошла в историю как яркая представительница сибирского андеграунда, женщина, которая на протяжении своей короткой карьеры...