Author:

Category:

Rhythmic Surf Rock Hits of the '60s - Top 7 by Fuzz Music Magazine

One of the pioneers of this style, also called "the king of surf guitar", is considered to be Dick Dale: when he released his famous "Misirlou", he literally wrote a new chapter in the history of world music...

Surf-rock hits from the '60s that are still relevant today

As you can easily guess from the name, surf-rock was born in California, where surfing was especially popular in 60s of the last century! This genre originally implied instrumental compositions that were famous among fans of sunny beaches, boards and waves... However - soon the performers began to endow their creations with vocals.

As a rule, surf rock is something rhythmicIt is uplifting, energizing and positive! Although the sound can vary - it can be both harmonious and very specific, sharp. But in any case, there is a recognizable rhythmicity!

Dick Dale
Dick Dale

One of the pioneers of this style, also called "king of the surf guitar", it is considered Dick Dale: when he released his famous Misirlouhe literally wrote a new chapter in the history of world music! To this day, this song remains meaningful, relevant, and fresh in its sound. But it's not the only song on our list that deserves attention. We suggest that you mentally transport yourself to a sunny beach and feel all the energy of this paradise place near the ocean, as well as the atmosphere of the '60s! And all this together with seven surf-rock tracks of the time, which we carefully selected especially for you!

"Wipe Out!"

The Surfaris
The Surfaris

"Wipe Out!" - a surf-rock classic! And what's hard to believe to this day is that the song was recorded by... by eighth-graders! At that time, the participants The Surfaris were still in school, and to record their first single they had to "shake" their parents a bit. The initial bets were placed on a completely different track, "Surfer Joe". "Wipe Out!", as it is a tradition of many famous hits, was made in a hurrybecause no one believed in the success of the instrumental. And in vain...

It wasn't until the re-release of the single, where "Wipe Out!" finally took its honorable side "BUT"the song became a hit. It's hard to call it a song, though: the only vocal parts we can be satisfied with are the crazy shrieks "Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha, destroy!"which belongs to To Dale Smallin. - the owner of a small studio in Rancho Cucamonga and later the manager of The Surfaris. And yes: Contrary to popular belief, "Wipe Out!" was not on Pulp Fiction. It did, however, fit right in. "Dirty Dancing" starring Patrick Swayze.

Misirlou

Dick Dale
Dick Dale

As we emphasized above, the dynamic Misirlou belongs to To Dick Dale., the king of surf-rock guitar. Here it was, in fact, a part of Tarantino's movie and was quickly beloved by the public. Of course, avid music lovers knew about this composition before. But after all these years, "Misirlou" significantly forgotten. So . "Crime novel" gave her a second life.

Remarkably, but in some interviews Quentin Tarantino claimed that the bestseller was inspired by this very song! Dick Dale, on the other hand, was inspired by an incredibly old Egyptian tuneThe age of which is still being debated to this day.

"Surf Rider"

"Pulp Fiction" ("Pulp Fiction" 1994)
"Pulp Fiction" ("Pulp Fiction" 1994)

This composition also has a very fascinating story: the band The Lively Ones borrowed it from The Ventures. Only if the original was a modest success (and called "Spudnik."), the cover became a classic of the genre.

Anyway, today it's about The Lively Ones remember thanks to this particular song.

"Comanche"

The Revels
The Revels

And another surf-rock composition that graced the "Crime novel" - "Comanche!" A very uplifting work that made the Californian band famous The Revels. What is especially noteworthy here is that instead of a guitar we hear... a saxophone!

Anyway, Tarantino generously rewarded his film with great surf-rock hits. Critics later called the director the man who "restored the public's interest in California's bygone musical culture.

"Surfin' Safari."

Beach Boys
Beach Boys

As you may have already noticed, we didn't think much of the names: almost everyone has the word "Surf." in one form or another. It's as if the performers are hinting to us, "Yes, yes, that's what you're looking for! That surf rock!"

This track was the opening track of the debut of the same name The Beach Boys 1962. By the way: it was the single that gave its name to the whole record after it did well in the charts!

"Surfin' USA."

One more "Surfer" masterpiece "Beach Boys," which, in turn, gave the title to the second album.

"Surfin' USA." performed well in "Billboard," and became a symbol of the 1960s California sound.

"Surfin' Bird"

The Trashmen
The Trashmen

And we decided to complete our list with the most unconventional Surf-rock masterpiece to show you how interesting and multifaceted this genre is in its sound.

Probably for the public of the '60s it was something unimaginable! Can you imagine what the audience (especially conservative society) was thinking as they watched this performance? Many critics have noted that "Surfin' Bird" as performed by The Trashmen has become a kind of "window" into the world of punk rockwhich will appear on the world stage very soon...

10kFollowers

Classic albums by young musicians who have defied age and the world

Classics released by teenagers: albums presented by young musicians that became masterpieces The Beatles were all in their 20s when they recorded a series of albums that changed the world of rock 'n' roll. But that ...

The combination of strength and refined beauty - remember Tommy Bolin

Remembering Tommy Bolin, one of guitar's youngest legends During Tommy Bolin's last live performance to open for Jeff Beck, December 3, 1976,...

Tony Iommi is a heavy sound legend and simply "the coolest kid on the block

Tony Iommi and the secret of his legendary playing style The Man in Black, whose unique sound dates back to an unfortunate accident--Tony Iommi has rewritten rock history,...

Related Articles

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Автор:
Категория:

Ритмичные сёрф-рок хиты 60-х – Топ-7 лучших по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Одним из пионеров данного стиля, которого ещё называют «королём сёрф-гитары», принято считать Дика Дейла: когда он выпустил свою знаменитую «Misirlou», он буквально написал новую главу в мировой истории музыки...

Сёрф-рок хиты 60-х, которые по-прежнему актуальны в наши дни

Как не трудно догадаться по названию, сёрф-рок зародился в Калифорнии, где сёрфинг был особенно популярен в 60-х годах прошлого века! Жанр этот изначально подразумевал инструментальные композиции, которые славились среди любителей солнечных пляжей, досок и волн… Впрочем – вскоре исполнители начали наделять свои творения вокалом.

Как правило, сёрф-рок – это нечто ритмичное, приподнятое, заряжающее позитивом и энергией! Хотя звучание может отличаться – оно может быть как гармоничным, так и весьма специфическим, резким. Но в любом случае присутствует узнаваемая ритмичность!

Дик Дейл
Дик Дейл

Одним из пионеров данного стиля, которого ещё называют «королём сёрф-гитары», принято считать Дика Дейла: когда он выпустил свою знаменитую «Misirlou», он буквально написал новую главу в мировой истории музыки! Песня эта по сей день остаётся значимой, актуальной и свежей по своему звучанию. Но в нашем списке внимания заслужила не только она. Предлагаем мысленно перенестись на солнечный пляж и ощутить всю энергию этого райского местечка вблизи океана, а также атмосферу 60-х! И всё это вместе с семёркой сёрф-рок треков того времени, которые мы тщательно подбирали специально для вас!

«Wipe Out!»

The Surfaris
The Surfaris

«Wipe Out!» – классика сёрф-рока! И во что по сей день сложно поверить, так это в то, что записана композиция была… восьмиклассниками! На тот момент участники The Surfaris ещё учились в школе, и чтобы записать свой первый сингл им пришлось немного «потрясти» своих родителей. Причём изначально ставки делались совершенно на другой трек, на «Surfer Joe». «Wipe Out!», как уже по традиции подобает многим известным хитам, была сделана впопыхах, ибо в успех инструменталки никто не верил. А зря…

Лишь после переиздания сингла, где «Wipe Out!» наконец заняла свою почётную сторону «А», песня стала хитом. Хотя назвать это песней сложно: из вокальных партий нам остаётся довольствоваться лишь безумным воплем «Ха-ха-ха-ха-ха, уничтожьте!», который принадлежит Дейлу Смоллину – владельцу маленькой студии в Ранчо-Кукамонге, а впоследствии менеджеру The Surfaris. И да: вопреки распространённому мнению, «Wipe Out!» не звучала в «Криминальном чтиве». Зато достойно вписалась в «Грязные танцы» с Патриком Суэйзи в главной роли.

«Misirlou»

Дик Дейл
Дик Дейл

Как мы уже подчеркнули выше, динамичная «Misirlou» принадлежит Дику Дейлу, королю сёрф-рок гитары. Вот она, как раз-таки, вошла в кинобоевик Тарантино и быстро полюбилась публике. Конечно, заядлые меломаны знали об этой композиции и ранее. Но по прошествии стольких лет «Misirlou» существенно позабылась. Так что «Криминальное чтиво» подарило ей вторую жизнь.

Примечательно, но в некоторых интервью Квентин Тарантино утверждал, что на съёмки бестселлера его вдохновила именно эта композиция! А Дика Дейла, в свою очередь, вдохновила невероятно старая египетская мелодия, о возрасте которой по сей день ведутся споры.

«Surf Rider»

«Криминальное чтиво» («Pulp Fiction» 1994)
«Криминальное чтиво» («Pulp Fiction» 1994)

У этой композиции тоже весьма увлекательная история: группа The Lively Ones заимствовала её у The Ventures. Только если оригинал имел скромный успех (и назывался «Spudnik»), то кавер стал классикой жанра.

В общем-то, сегодня о The Lively Ones помнят благодаря именно этой песне.

«Comanche»

The Revels
The Revels

И ещё одна сёрф-рок композиция, украсившая «Криминальное чтиво» – «Comanche»! Весьма приподнятое произведение, которое прославило калифорнийскую группу The Revels. Особенно примечательно здесь то, что вместо гитары мы слышим… саксофон!

В общем, Тарантино щедро наградил свой кинобоевик отменными сёрф-рок хитами. Впоследствии критики называли режиссёра человеком, который «вернул интерес публики к ушедшей музыкальной культуре Калифорнии».

«Surfin’ Safari»

Beach Boys
Beach Boys

Как вы уже могли заметить, над названиями особо не думали: практически в каждом есть слово «Surf» в той или иной форме. Исполнители словно намекают нам: «Да-да, это то, что вы ищете! Тот самый сёрф-рок!»

Этот трек стал открывающим в одноимённом дебюте The Beach Boys 1962 года. К слову: именно сингл дал название всей пластинке после того, как хорошо зарекомендовал себя в чартах!

«Surfin’ USA»

Ещё один «сёрферный» шедевр «Пляжных Мальчиков», который, в свою очередь, дал название второму альбому.

«Surfin’ USA» хорошо показала себя в «Билборд», и стала символом калифорнийского звучания 1960-х годов.

«Surfin’ Bird»

The Trashmen
The Trashmen

А завершить наш список мы решили наиболее неординарным сёрф-рок шедевром, дабы показать вам, насколько интересен и многогранен в своём звучании этот жанр.

Наверное, для публики 60-х это было чем-то невообразимым! Вы только представьте, о чём думали зрители (особенно консервативное общество), наблюдая за этим перфомансом? Многие критики отмечают, что «Surfin’ Bird» в исполнении The Trashmen стала своего рода «окном» в мир панк-рока, который появится на мировой арене совсем скоро…

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...
Похожие статьи

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...