Author:

Category:

The Eagles' crazy antics that are legendary

From their formation in 1971 until their infamous breakup in 1980, The Eagles not only dominated the charts with gentle ballads, they also accumulated an impressive number of crazy stories that lavished their biography!

The Eagles you didn't know before: The incredible adventures of the soft-rock legends

As one of the most popular and best-selling bands of all time, The Eagles were not at all as soft and placid as their sound! Yes, the soft vocals and soft rock that abounded in this band paint images of relaxing, drowning in the ocean of sunsets and gentle breezes... But in fact, the everyday life of these American rockers was full of Madness! Ozzie himself would probably take his hat off to them...

From their formation in 1971 until their infamous breakup in 1980, The Eagles not only dominated the charts with tender ballads, but also accumulated an impressive amount of crazy storieswhich have generously added to their biography! Because of this, the Eagles could easily compete with such hard rockers as Led Zeppelin and Guns N' Roses! They were on fire, in a word, in a big way!

"No weirdos!"

Eagles
Eagles

At the height of their popularity, the Eagles developed their own system of passes to the so-called "Third encore." - This is how the musicians dubbed the crazy party after the concert. The guests were invited in the following way: each member of the band and the crew was given kind of badgeThe third encore was the first one they could give to the people backstage or in the audience. But not everyone could get to the "Third Encore". A strict rule was in effect: "No weirdos!"

By geeks, the Eagles meant characters who didn't mind a bit of a binge. Although their famous "Third Encore" was not unlike high moral character: tons of substances and alcohol, hot dancing and many other interesting things. Rumor has it that their guests included not only artists, but also famous athletes, in particular hockey players.

They rocked harder than Black Sabbath in the studio

Black Sabbath Band
Black Sabbath Band

During the recording of the famous Hotel California Eagles shared studio space with Black Sabbath. From memory Geezer Butler it follows that when Sabbath arrived in the studio after the Eagles, they literally had to "scrape stuff out of the mixing desk"!

"There was at least a pound of them in there!"

Subsequently Don Henley will say:

"It was our engine, our inspiration, our writing tool. Substances fueled our writing, but with it brought out the worst in each of us..."

Another interesting episode of their studio life is the track "Life in the Fast Lane."Inspired by the way Glenn Frye and his personal purveyor of "forbidden pleasures" were speeding in the car 90 mph!

"He was doing 90 miles an hour, and I yelled at him, "Hey, what are you doing!" And he replied, grinning: "Life in the fast lane!" I thought, "Now there's a song title."

"Hop baths" are fraught with the risk of dismissal

Bernie Lydon
Bernie Lydon

By 1975, the Eagles began to move away from their country-rock roots and became a real rock and roll group. Some participants, in particular Bernie Leadon, didn't like that kind of direction. He came in as a country guitarist and played banjo! So the change of tone toward pure rock, alas, did not appeal to him. The constant touring was also taking its toll, and Lydon was on his last legs...

One evening after a concert at the Orange Bowl Glenn was excitedly discussing his plans for the band, which finally got to Lydon. He walked up to Fry and said: "You need to chill, man." The next second he poured out whole jar of beer on Fry's head! After that, Bernie left the band without apologizing.

Design by Joe Walsh

Joe Walsh
Joe Walsh

Joe Walshwho replaced Lydon, was famous for his love of things you don't know why, but must have! So, the Eagles' manager gave him a birthday present chainsaw! Irving Azoff advised the guitarist to keep this particularly dangerous item at home, but Walsh had other plans...

"We stayed the night at the hotel. We were promised adjoining rooms, but there was no way! We were cheated! So I decided to make a door in the wall myself! There was some ridiculous plywood partition... Anyway - I started the chainsaw and made my own door! I went through it to Azoff and said: "Hey, now we have adjoining rooms!"

A $28,000 hotel smash

James Belushi
James Belushi

But on this Adventures Walsh's hotel days were not over. As you know, Joe often hung out with the comedian James Belushi. The story goes that one evening the two went to a restaurant, but were refused service - the reason being their blue jeans. Undeterred, the two men bought a can of black paint in a nearby alley and transformed their outfits there! According to Walsh's recollection, they were allowed into the restaurant this time. True, when the meal came to an end and he and Belushi rose from the table, the chairs where they had been sitting, blackened.

But it was only in the middle of the evening! That same night the friends went to a fancy hotel, where they trashed the room to smithereens! And they did it on purpose. for fun! Their childish pastimes cost them $28,000.

Problems with the police

Eagles
Eagles

If you think rock stars are personalities untouchable and the law doesn't go around them, you're wrong. The Eagles have had to deal with law enforcement on many occasions. And once the band almost got locked up Bahamas!

In 1974, the Eagles took a two-day break from touring and decided to fly to the Bahamas to relax and play for their own pleasure. Like typical rock stars, they flew to the country with their "untold riches." (we're talking about substances). When they got off the plane, customs control stopped them for a search. It's not hard to imagine what happened next. As Glenn put it, "Suddenly we were in a cell in a Bahamian prison. But the Eagles lucky manager!

Irving Azoff
Irving Azoff

No one knows what he said. AzoffBut five minutes later, the rockers were able to leave the dungeon - and with all their substances! Safe and sound.

Backstage dramas

Eagles
Eagles

Randy MeisnerThe Eagles, the founding father of The Eagles, had a turning point in 1977 when he was found to be under a great deal of stress and to be pretty tired of "Take it to the Limit". But the audience didn't really care about the musician's morale. And yes: they demanded "Take It to the Limit" for an encore. When Meissner refused to go on stage, Glenn Frye sent him very, very far away... The next second the two got into a fight, and not even the police officer on duty at the concert was able to separate them.

"Go to hell! It's personal!" yelled Fry.

After this incident, Meissner left the group. The behind-the-scenes scuffle, meanwhile, is not over! Glenn Fry is at it again. This time, he's got his hands full with... Don Felderand it happened during a benefit concert! The story goes that on July 31, 1980 The Eagles agreed to perform at the Long Beach Arena as part of a fundraiser for Senatorand Alan Cranston. The only problem was that not all members agreed to it...

Don Felder
Don Felder

Don Felderwho has had increasing conflicts with Glenn and Don Henley, was against the fund-raising show. And during the greeting, he waved the senator off, which pissed Glenn off. Backstage, Fry threw a beer can at Felder with all his might, and it almost hit him on the head!

"We played the show, but onstage we were having a hard time containing ourselves so we wouldn't fight each other. He (Felder) kept looking back and saying to me, 'A few more songs and you'll be screwed! And I'd say to him, "How great! I can't wait!"

After the show, Felder smashed his guitar, jumped into a limousine and drove away. That's the story of The Eagles ended.

9kFollowers

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

Related Articles

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

"She left early, but she left a bright mark" - the story of Yanka Diagileva

A bright representative of the national underground - the story of Yanka Diagileva Yanka Diagileva went down in history as a bright representative of the Siberian underground, a woman who during her short career...

Автор:

Категория:

Безумные выходки The Eagles, о которых слагают легенды

С момента своего образования в 1971 году и вплоть до печально известного распада в 1980 году The Eagles не только доминировали в чартах с нежными балладами, но и накопили впечатляющее количество безумных историй, которые щедро пополнили их биографию!

Такого о The Eagles вы ещё не знали: невероятные приключения легенд софт-рока

Будучи одной из самых популярных и продаваемых групп всех времён, The Eagles были вовсе не такими уж мягкими и покладистыми, как их звучание! Да, нежные вокал и софт-рок, коим изобиловала эта группа, рисуют образы расслабляющих, тонущих в океане закатов и нежного бриза… Но на самом деле будни этих американских рокеров были полны безумства! Наверное, сам Оззи снимет перед ними шляпу…

С момента своего образования в 1971 году и вплоть до печально известного распада в 1980 году The Eagles не только доминировали в чартах с нежными балладами, но и накопили впечатляющее количество безумных историй, которые щедро пополнили их биографию! Благодаря этому Eagles запросто могут соперничать с такими хард-рокерами, как Led Zeppelin и Guns N’ Roses! Отжигали они, одним словом, не по-детски!

«Никаких чудаков!»

Eagles
Eagles

На пике популярности у Eagles сложилась собственная система пропусков на так называемый «Третий бис» – так музыканты окрестили безумную вечеринку после концерта. Приглашали гостей следующим образом: каждому члену группы и съёмочной команды выдавался своеобразный жетон, который они могли отдать людям за кулисами или присутствующим в зале. Но попасть на «Третий бис» могли, отнюдь, не все. Действовало строгое правило: «Никаких чудаков!»

Под чудаками Eagles имели в виду персонажей, которые не прочь подебоширить. Хотя их знаменитый «Третий бис» не отличался высокой нравственностью: тонны веществ и алкоголя, горячие танцы и много прочих интересных вещей. Поговаривают, что среди их гостей были не только артисты, но также известные спортсмены, в частности хоккеисты.

В студии они отжигали сильнее Black Sabbath

Группа «Black Sabbath»
Группа «Black Sabbath»

Во время записи знаменитого «Hotel California» Eagles делили студийное пространство с Black Sabbath. Из воспоминаний Гизера Батлера следует, что когда Sabbath прибыли в студию после Eagles, то им буквально приходилось «выскребать вещества из микшерного пульта»!

«Их там было не меньше фунта!»

Впоследствии Дон Хенли скажет:

«Это был наш двигатель, вдохновение, инструмент для письма. Вещества подпитывали наши записи, но вместе с этим выявляли худшее в каждом из нас…»

Ещё один интересный эпизод их студийной жизни – трек «Life in the Fast Lane», вдохновлённый тем, как Гленн Фрай и его личный поставщик «запрещённых удовольствий» неслись в машине на скорости 90 миль в час!

«Он выжал 90 миль в час, и я заорал на него: «Эй, ты что творишь!» А он ответил, усмехаясь: «Жизнь на скоростной полосе!» Я подумал: «Теперь есть название песни».

«Хмелевые ванны» чреваты увольнением

Берни Лидон
Берни Лидон

К 1975 году Eagles начали отходить от своих корней в стиле кантри-рок и стали настоящей рок-н-ролльной группой. Некоторым участникам, в частности Берни Лидону, такое направление не понравилось. Он пришёл как гитарист в стиле кантри и играл на банджо! Поэтому изменение тона в сторону чистого рока его, увы, не прельщало. Постоянные гастроли также брали своё, и Лидон был на последнем издыхании…

Однажды вечером после концерта в Orange Bowl Гленн взволнованно обсуждал свои планы относительно группы, что окончательно добило Лидона. Он подошёл к Фраю и сказал: «Тебе нужно остыть, чувак». В следующую секунду он вылил целую банку пива на голову Фрая! После этого Берни покинул группу так и не извинившись.

Дизайнерское решение от Джо Уолша

Джо Уолш
Джо Уолш

Джо Уолш, заменивший Лидона, славился своей любовью к вещам, которые непонятно зачем, но обязательно должны быть в хозяйстве! Так, менеджер Eagles подарил ему на День рождения бензопилу! Ирвинг Азофф посоветовал гитаристу держать этот особо опасный предмет дома, но у Уолша были другие планы…

«Ночью мы остановились в отеле. Нам обещали смежные номера, но не тут-то было! Нас обманули! И тогда я решил самостоятельно сделать дверь в стене! Там была какая-то смешная перегородка из фанеры… В общем – я запустил бензопилу и сделал свою собственную дверь! Я вошёл через неё к Азоффу и сказал: «Эй, теперь у нас есть смежные комнаты!»

Разгром отеля на 28 000 долларов

Джеймс Белуши
Джеймс Белуши

Но на этом приключения Уолша в отелях не закончились. Как известно, Джо часто тусовался с комиком Джеймсом Белуши. История гласит: однажды вечером эти двое направились в ресторан, но им было отказано в обслуживании – причиной послужили их синие джинсы. Не растерявшись, эти двое приобрели баллончик чёрной краски в ближайшем переулке и там же преобразили свои наряды! По воспоминаниям Уолша, на этот раз в ресторан их пустили. Правда, когда трапеза подошла к концу и они с Белуши встали из-за стола – стулья, на которых они сидели, почернели.

Но то был лишь разгар вечера! Этой же ночью друзья отправились в модную гостиницу, где разгромили номер в пух и прах! Причём совершенно целенаправленно – потехи ради! Их детские забавы обошлись им в 28 000 долларов.

Проблемы с полицией

Eagles
Eagles

Если вы думаете, что рок-звёзды – личности неприкосновенные и закон обходит их стороной – вы ошибаетесь. Участникам The Eagles неоднократно приходилось иметь дело со стражами порядка. А однажды группу чуть не заперли за решёткой на Багамах!

В 1974 году Eagles взяли двухдневный перерыв в гастролях и решили слетать на Багамы, дабы расслабиться и немного поиграть в своё удовольствие. Как типичные рок-звёзды, они прилетели в страну со своими «несметными богатствами» (речь о веществах). Когда они вышли из самолёта, таможенный контроль остановил их для обыска. Нетрудно представить, что было дальше. Как выразился Гленн: «Неожиданно мы оказались в камере багамской тюрьмы». Но Eagles повезло с менеджером!

Ирвинг Азофф
Ирвинг Азофф

Никто не знает, что такого сказал Азофф, но через пять минут рокеры смогли покинуть темницу – да причём и со всеми своими веществами! В целости и сохранности.

Закулисные драмы

Eagles
Eagles

Рэнди Майснер, который стоял у истоков The Eagles, пережил переломный момент в 1977 году: как выяснилось, у него был сильнейший стресс и он изрядно устал от «Take It to the Limit». Но публику не особо волновало моральное состояние музыканта. И да: она требовала «Take It to the Limit» на бис. Когда Майснер отказался выходить на сцену, Гленн Фрай послал его очень-очень далеко… В следующую секунду эти двое сцепились, и даже дежуривший на концерте наряд полиции не смог их разнять.

«Идите к чёрту! Это личное!», – кричал Фрай.

После этого инцидента Майснер покинул группу. А закулисные потасовки, тем временем, не закончились! И снова Гленн Фрай в деле. На этот раз он сцепился с Доном Фелдером, причём произошло это во время благотворительного концерта! История гласит: 31 июля 1980 года The Eagles согласились выступить на Long Beach Arena в рамках сбора средств для сенатора Алана Крэнстона. Единственная проблема заключалась в том, что не все члены согласились на это…

Дон Фелдер
Дон Фелдер

Дон Фелдер, у которого участились конфликты с Гленном и Доном Хенли, был против шоу по сбору средств. А во время приветствия он и вовсе отмахнулся от сенатора, что вывело Гленна из себя. За кулисами Фрай со всей силы метнул в Фелдера банку с пивом, и почти попал по голове!

«Мы отыграли шоу, но на сцене мы с трудом сдерживали себя, чтобы не сцепиться друг с другом. Он (Фелдер) то и дело оглядывался и говорил мне: «Ещё несколько песен, и тебе крышка!» А я говорил ему: «Как здорово! Не могу дождаться!»

После шоу Фелдер разбил свою гитару, запрыгнул в лимузин и уехал. На этом история The Eagles закончилась.

9kFollowers

RY X — «Blood Moon» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Blood Moon» (2022) от RY X Рай Каминг, более известный под псевдонимом RY X поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «Blood...

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Похожие статьи

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...