Author:
Category:

Top 20 Best Songs Performed by Erykah Badu

Erykah Badu's thoughtful and compelling songs prove why the performer has been called the first lady of neo-soul.

List of Erykah Badu's best songs: Video, audio, description

In this selection we have collected 20 the best songs performed by Erykah Badu, and at different points in time, from her formative years as an outspoken neo-soul queen to her later politically charged songs at the forefront of modern R&B. Erykah Badu's multicolored and sometimes controversial career has always been fascinating. Combining jazz, soul, funk and hip-hop in equal measure, we've compiled 20 of Erykah Badu's best songs, revealing the depth of her talent.

20: Hello

The highlight of Badu's 2015 mixtape "But You Caint Use My Phone" was a brilliant reworking of the Todd Rundgren/Isley Brothers hit, created in collaboration with André 3000. The duo was particularly popular in the '90s. The track ends with their voices singing in perfect harmony, which is Certificate the strength of their family ties.

19: Other Side Of The Game

The third single from her debut album, "Baduizm," tells the story of a woman who faces the moral dilemmas of supporting a romantic partner involved in criminal activity. Its subtle, unhurried blend of jazz and R&B, movable with the deepest bass groove, epitomized the childlike sound that made "Baduizm" one of R&B's breakout hits of the '90s.

18: Window Seat

The sensual mid-tempo groomer, lead single "New Amerykah Part Two (Return Of The Ankh)" became famous for Spectacular video clip. In the clip, Badu walks down Dealey Plaza in Dallas, slowly removing her clothes before being shot by an unseen sniper, an allusion to President Kennedy's assassination at the same location.

17: Telephone

Written the day after Erica learned of J. Dilla's passing, "Telephone" is a heartfelt and Touching a tribute to her former collaborator, who tragically died young of a rare blood disease. The song was inspired by a conversation she had with the producer's mother.

16: Back In The Day

Released in 2003, the track, as the intended part of the "Worldwide Underground" record, which was larger than most artists' full-length albums, features impeccably executed analog grooves that were showcased by the deep bass lines, dreamy keyboards and exquisitely funky guitars of this single, a nostalgic ode to youth.

15: Time's A Wastin'

The highlight of her second album, "Mama's Gun," the single "Time's A Wastin'" combines features quirky bass lines with keyboard inserts, highlighting Bud's cautionary tale to a young black man. The track ends with a delightful allusion to Johnny Hammond's rarified song "Can't We Smile.

14: Soldier

In the first part of the record "New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)," you can see that Badu strongly deviated from her previous work, both stylistically and thematically. Her contemporary hip-hop sound, presented here in the form of an ethereal flute sample complemented by sharp minimalist beats from producer Carrim Riggins, informed the singer's incisive reflections on racial inequality and black oppression.

13: Fall In Love (Your Funeral)

Another masterpiece by Carrim Riggins, "Fall In Love" epitomizes warm rhythms that Badu uses on his next album "New Amerykah Part One", "Return Of The Ankh". A juicy blend of R&B and hip-hop rhythms.

12: Tyrone (live version)

Inspired by huge the success of her debut album, Badu released a live album, a bold move for those just starting out in their careers. Near the end of her set, released as "Live" in 1997, she tests the newly written "Tyrone," a caustic response to a scrappy partner.

11: Me

Many of Erykah Badu's best tracks are a kind of practical tips on how to live at a good pace. Few things are more creative than this work by Sa-Ra Creative Partners producer Shafiq Hussain. Amid gorgeous shuffling beats, tense bass lines and delicate arrangements, Erika delivers a powerful ode to self-love.

10: Didn't Cha Know

The second single from "Mama's Gun" was created after J Dilla's momentous visit to Detroit in 1998. It based on a sample from the 1977 song "Dreamflower," by the jazz-funk ensemble Tarika Blue, a track she discovered while browsing through the producer's giant collection.

9: Gone Baby, Don't Be Long

The third part of a trilogy of songs, told from the perspective of a woman in love with a misguided con man, Badu followed for "Otherside Of The Game" and "Danger" from Worldwide Underground, with a rather sensual denouement. Another brilliant example of her penchant for long grooves. The track gets its soulful reggae sound from a track on the 1979 Wings album, "Arrow Through Me."

8: On & On

Erykah Badu's debut single had a tremendous influence on the singer's development. It charted on both sides of the Atlantic, earned her a Grammy, brought the nascent neo-soul movement to a wider audience, and made the singer one of music's brightest new stars. His playful fusion of classic jazz and hip-hop still sounds fresh.

7: AD 2000

The track is dedicated to Tragic the death of Amadou Diallo, who was shot and killed by NYPD officers in 1999. Created by a stunningly beautiful instrumental arranged by in the style of Stevie Wonder, and with lyrics and vocals by soul legend Betty Wright, this is the most heartfelt track in Badu's oeuvre. Once again, the track has political overtones and acts as a protest.

6: Master Teacher Medley

Badu's duet with Georgia Ann Muldrow, allowed create one of the forward tracks on the record, "New Amerykah Part One," had a lasting lyrical impact, introducing the concept of Stay Woke, a call to the black diaspora to remember their origins, and an appeal to the world that they are Forcibly displaced persons.

5: Next Lifetime

This sensual ballad, is one of the the best neo-soul singles that comes from a woman with conflicting romantic thoughts. Already attached, but with feelings for someone else, it's a bittersweet story with a poetic metaphysical bent:

Well I guess I'll see you next lifetime/Maybe we'll be butterflies.

Which translated:

Well, I guess I'll see you in the next life / Maybe we'll become butterflies.

4: Honey

As is typical for playful and peculiar Badu, effectively hiding one of his most sparkling and accessible dancefloor bombs. Appearing at the end of the first part of "New Amerykah," the single "Honey" is not mentioned on the list, "Honey" begins with a reworked RAMP song "The American Promise" and then turns into a life-affirming, heavy P-funk composition.

3: I Want You

The epic ten-minute song has become an integral part of the "Worldwide Underground" record - it Sensual Marvin Gaye-style ode to lust and longing. James Poyser's keyboard rhythms masterfully mimic the rapid heartbeat of lovers.

2: Green Eyes

Badu's Breakup with André 3000 Inspired by artist to create the ten-minute track that completes her album, "Mama's Gun." Taking the form of a three-part suite, "Green Eyes" moves from playful ragtime to smoky jazz and warm soul with brass instruments to reflect the many moods of a crumbling relationship. Badu performed by one of his most stirring and revealing songs.

1: The Healer

Created by producer Madlib's brilliantly crafted sampling of Kono Samuarai of The Yamasuki Singers, "The Healer" is an ode bringing together the power of hip-hop. Badu's lyrics were explained to The New York Post:

There are so many ways to worship, no matter what religion you belong to. And for me hip-hop is felt in all religions - it has a healing power. I was recently in Palestine, Jerusalem, Africa... and everyone is listening to hip-hop. There's something about that snare drum sound that people find meaning in.

 

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Домой Подборки лучших песен Зарубежные TOП-20 лучших песен в исполнении Erykah Badu

TOП-20 лучших песен в исполнении Erykah Badu

0
TOП-20 лучших песен в исполнении Erykah Badu
Певица Erykah Badu (Эрика Баду)

Список лучших песен Erykah Badu: Видео, аудио, описание

В этой подборке мы собрали 20 лучших песен в исполнении Erykah Badu, причем в разные периоды времени: от её становления, в качестве откровенной королевы нео-соула, до её более поздних политически заряженных песен в авангарде современного R&B. Многоцветная и иногда противоречивая карьера Эрики Баду всегда была увлекательной. Сочетая джаз, соул, фанк и хип-хоп в равной степени, мы собрали 20 лучших песен Эрики Баду, раскрывающих всю глубину её таланта.

20: Hello

Изюминкой микстейпа «Badu» 2015 года «But You Caint Use My Phone» стала блестящая переработка хита Todd Rundgren/Isley Brothers, созданная в сотрудничестве с André 3000. Дуэт пользовался особой популярностью в 90-х. Трек заканчивается тем, что их голоса поют в совершенной гармонии, что является свидетельством силы их семейных уз.

19: Other Side Of The Game

Третий сингл с её дебютного альбома «Baduizm» рассказывает историю женщины, которая сталкивается с моральными дилеммами, связанными с поддержкой романтического партнера, вовлеченного в преступную деятельность. Его тонкая, неторопливая смесь джаза и R&B, движимая глубочайшим басовым грувом, олицетворяла детское звучание, которое сделало «Baduizm» одним из самых прорывных хитов R&B 90-х.

18: Window Seat

Чувственный среднетемповый грумер, ведущий сингл «New Amerykah Part Two (Return Of The Ankh)» прославился, благодаря эффектному видеоклипу. В клипе Баду идет по Дили Плаза в Далласе, медленно снимая одежду, прежде чем её застрелит невидимый снайпер – намек на убийство президента Кеннеди на том же месте.

17: Telephone

Песня написана на следующий день после того, как Эрика узнала о кончине Джей Диллы, «Telephone» – это сердечная и трогательная дань уважения её бывшему сотруднику, трагически погибшему молодым от редкого заболевания крови. Песня была вдохновлена ​​разговором, который состоялся с матерью продюсера.

16: Back In The Day

Выпущенный в 2003 году трек, как предполагаемая часть пластинки «Worldwide Underground», которая была больше полноформатных альбомов большинства артистов, отличается безукоризненно исполненными аналоговыми грувами, которые были продемонстрированы глубокими басовыми линиями, мечтательными клавишными и изысканно фанковыми гитарами этого сингла – ностальгической оды юности.

15: Time’s A Wastin’

Изюминкой её второго альбома «Mama’s Gun», сингл «Time’s A Wastin’» сочетает в себе причудливые басовые партии с клавишными вставками, что подчеркивает предостерегающий рассказ Баду молодому чернокожему мужчине. Трек заканчивается восхитительным намеком на раритетную песню Джонни Хаммонда «Can’t We Smile».

14: Soldier

В первой части пластинки «New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)» можно заметить, что Баду сильно отклонилась от своих предыдущих работ как в стилистическом, так и тематическом плане. Её современное звучание хип-хопа, представленное здесь в форме эфирного флейтового сэмпла, дополненного резкими минималистскими битами продюсера Каррима Риггинса, легло в основу резких размышлений певицы о расовом неравенстве и угнетении чернокожих.

13: Fall In Love (Your Funeral)

Ещё один шедевр Каррима Риггинса, «Fall In Love», олицетворяет теплые ритмы, которые Баду использует на следующем альбоме «New Amerykah Part One», «Return Of The Ankh». Сочное сочетание ритмов R&B и хип-хопа.

12: Tyrone (live version)

Воодушевлённая огромным успехом своего дебютного альбома, Баду выпустила концертный альбом – смелый шаг для тех, кто только начинал свою карьеру. Ближе к концу своего сета, выпущенного под названием «Live» в 1997 году, она тестирует недавно написанную «Tyrone» – едкий ответ скряге-партнеру.

11: Me

Многие из лучших треков Эрики Баду – это своего рода практические советы о том, как жить в хорошем ритме. Мало что может быть более креативно, чем эта работа продюсера «Sa-Ra Creative» Partners Шафика Хуссейна. На фоне великолепных перетасовок битов, напряженных басовых партий и нежных аранжировок, Эрика исполняет мощную оду любви к себе.

10: Didn’t Cha Know

Второй сингл из «Mama’s Gun» был создан после судьбоносного посещения J Dilla в Детройте в 1998 году. Он основан на семпле из песни «Dreamflower» 1977 года, джаз-фанк-ансамбля Tarika Blue, трека, который она обнаружила, просматривая гигантскую коллекцию продюсера.

9: Gone Baby, Don’t Be Long

Третья часть трилогии песен, рассказанная с точки зрения женщины, влюбленной в заблудшего мошенника, Баду последовала за «Otherside Of The Game» и «Danger» из Worldwide Underground, с достаточно чувственной развязкой. Ещё один блестящий пример её склонности к длинным грувам. Трек получил свое душевное звучание в стиле регги из трека альбома «Wings» 1979 года «Arrow Through Me».

8: On & On

Дебютный сингл Эрики Баду оказал огромное влияние на развитие певицы. Попав в чарты по обе стороны Атлантики, он принес ей премию «Grammy», донес зарождающееся нео-соул-движение до широкой аудитории и сделал певицу одной из самых ярких новых звезд музыки. Его игривый сплав классического джаза и хип-хопа по-прежнему звучит свежо.

7: AD 2000

Трек посвящён трагической смерти Амаду Диалло, который был застрелен офицерами полиции Нью-Йорка в 1999 году. Созданный потрясающе красивой инструментальной аранжировкой в ​​стиле Стиви Уандера, а также лирическими и вокальными партиями легенды соула Бетти Райт, этот трек является самым проникновенным в творчестве Баду. В очередной раз, трек имеет политический подтекст и выступает в качестве протеста.

6: Master Teacher Medley

Дуэт Баду с Джорджией Энн Малдроу, позволил создать один из передовых треков пластинки «New Amerykah Part One», оказал длительное лирическое воздействие, представляя концепцию Stay Woke – призыв к черной диаспоре помнить о своём происхождении, и обращение к миру, что они являются вынужденно перемещенными лицами.

5: Next Lifetime

Эта чувственная баллада, является одним из лучших синглов в стиле нео-соула, который исходит от женщины, с противоречивыми романтическими мыслями. Уже привязанный, но с чувствами к кому-то ещё, это горько-сладкая история с поэтическим метафизическим уклоном:

Well I guess I’ll see you next lifetime/Maybe we’ll be butterflies.

Что в переводе:

Ну, думаю, увидимся в следующей жизни / Может быть, мы станем бабочками.

4: Honey

Как типично, для игривой и своеобразной Баду, эффективно прятать одну из своих самых искрометных и доступных бомб для танцпола. Появляясь в конце первой части «New Amerykah», сингл «Honey» не упоминается в списке, «Honey» начинается с переработанной песни RAMP «The American Promise», а затем превращается в жизнеутверждающую, тяжелую P-funk композицию.

3: I Want You

Эпическая десятиминутная песня стала неотъемлемой частью пластинки «Worldwide Underground» – это чувственная ода в стиле Марвина Гэя о похоти и тоске. Клавишные ритмы Джеймса Пойзера мастерски имитируют учащенное сердцебиение влюбленных.

2: Green Eyes

Расставание Баду с André 3000 вдохновило артистку на создание десятиминутного трека, завершающего её альбом «Mama’s Gun». Принимая форму сюиты из трех частей, «Green Eyes» переходит от игривого рэгтайма к дымчатому джазу и теплому соулу с духовыми инструментами, чтобы отразить множество настроений разрушающихся отношений. Баду исполняет одну из своих самых волнующих и открытых песен.

1: The Healer

Созданный продюсером Мэдлибом блестяще обработанный сэмпл Коно Самуараи из The Yamasuki Singers, «The Healer» – это ода объединяющей силе хип-хопа. Текст песни Баду объяснили в издательстве The New York Post:

Существует так много способов поклоняться, независимо от того, к какой религии вы принадлежите. И для меня хип-хоп ощущается во всех религиях – он обладает исцеляющей силой. Я недавно был в Палестине, Иерусалиме, Африке… и все слушают хип-хоп. Есть что-то в этом звуке бочки малого барабана, в котором люди находят смысл.

 

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

7 + 3 =