Date:

Author:
Category:

"Trial by Fire" is the debut live album by virtuoso virtuoso Yngwie Malmsteen from the USSR

We tell you about the album "Trial By Fire" by Rising Force. How the public reacted to it, why the band soon broke up, what does Yngwie Malmsteen do now - these and other questions are answered in our article.

Rising Force album "Trial By Fire": prehistory, concerts in the USSR, recording, conflicts in the band

Yngwie Malmsteen - legendary guitar virtuoso, multi-instrumentalist and composer from Sweden and the USA, who was one of the pioneers of neoclassical metal. Born in Stockholm on 30 June 1963, he first picked up a guitar after seeing Jimi Hendrix on TV. Inspired not only by him, but also by classical composers such as Vivaldi, Bach and Paganini, he developed his unique style of playing by utilising technique swiping. For reference, swooping is a guitar playing technique in which the fingers of the right hand are swiftly guided across the strings while the fingers of the left hand release the right fret.

Malmsteen played in various bands such as Powerhouse, Steeler and Alcatrazz before starting his own band Rising Force in 1982. He has released over 40 albums and is considered one of the best guitarists of all time.

Yngwie Malmsteen with guitar
Yngwie Malmsteen with guitar

"Trial by fire." Yngwie Malmsteen's first live album, which was recorded during a tour of the USSR in 1989. He performed in Leningrad and Moscow with the band Rising Force. The album contains 11 songsincluding a cover of Jimi Hendrix's "Spanish Castle Magic". It received favourable reviews from critics and fans and became one of Malmsteen's best performances.

How the concerts were held

Rising Force tours in Leningrad and Moscow took place in 1989 and were part of a world tour "Trial By Fire". Yngwie Malmsteen performed together with Jo Lynn Turner (vocals), Barry Dannelly (bass), Jens Johansson (keyboards) and Anders Johansson (drums). The concerts were attended by thousands of fans and were recorded on video and audio.

В Leningrad the band played at the Leninsky Komsomol DK on 9 and 10 April, and in Moscow - in Olimpiyskiy on 12 and 13 April. Their performances were characterised by the musicians' high level of skill, energy and drive. Yngwie Malmsteen performed his hitssuch as "You Don't Remember", "I'll Never Forget", "Far Beyond The Sun", "Black Star", "Icarus' Dream Suite Op.4".

Recording and album release

Rising Force's "Trial By Fire" album includes. 11 songs. Here are some of them: "Liar" is a song about a liar who deceives his lover, "Queen in Love" is a song about a queen who falls in love with a mere man, "Deja Vu" is a song about a feeling that repeats itself again, "Far Beyond the Sun" is an instrumental composition that demonstrates the craftsmanship Malmsteen on guitar, "Heaven Tonight" is a song about wanting to spend the night with a loved one.

 

Rising Force's "Trial By Fire" album has received various feedback from critics and the public. On the one hand, it was well received by Malmsteen's fans and lovers of neoclassical metalwho appreciated his technical mastery and energetic performance. This was reflected in the numbers: the album also reached number 31 in the Swedish Albums Chart and number 128 in the Billboard 2001.

Here's what today's listeners think of the album:

"There's an unbelievable guitar work, it doesn't matter to me what the musician used to do it. I give credit for the incredible craftsmanship. "Spanish Castle Magic." - my favourite song, but the rest of the songs are in my heart too. Great album."

 

On the other hand, Trial By Fire has been criticised for its monotonyand the lack of originality and weak Joe Lynn Turner's vocals. Some critics also felt that Malmsteen was too focused on his guitar and neglected other aspects of the music. All in all, the album can be called controversial and ambiguous in your perception.

Bad end to the tour

After the "Trial By Fire" tour, the band Rising Force disintegrated. To be more precise, not even so: Malmsteen was left all alone, because the other members of the collective simply left him. The reasons for their departure are still not entirely clear, but it can be assumed that they were related to the conflicts between Yngwie and other musicians.

Jo Lynn Turner
Jo Lynn Turner

For example, Joe Lynn Turner stated that Yngwie was an "egotist and dictator" who did not give him freedom to create and did not respect him as a singer. Brothers Jens and Anders Johansson also complained The bassist Barry Donway also decided to leave the band because of disagreements with Yngwie. Bassist Barry Donway also decided to leave the band because of disagreements with Yngwie. As a result, Yngwie had to pack up after the tour new composition for the next Eclipse album.

Rising Force in 2022
Rising Force in 2022

Relationship Yngwie Malmsteen's relations with former band members can hardly be called friendly now, either. Indeed, Yngwie is known for his complex character and arrogance. The only former member of Rising Force with whom Malmsteen has maintained a normal relationship is Goran Edman, who sang on the albums "Eclipse" and "Fire and Ice". They occasionally performers together at concerts and share photos on social media.

Yngwie Malmsteen
Yngwie Malmsteen

Despite all the difficulties, Yngwie Malmsteen is now continues his musical career and performs with various projects. In 2021, he released his 22nd solo album "Parabellum."which received favourable reviews from critics and fans. A year later, he participated in the tribute album "Immortal Randy Rhoads - The Ultimate Tribute", dedicated to memories of legendary guitarist Randy Rhoades.

In 2023. announced new album "Blue Lightning", which will consist of covers of classic blues songs such as "Purple Haze", "Smoke on the Water" and "While My Guitar Gently Weeps". In addition, Yngwie Malmsteen is planning a worldwide tour in support of their new album, which will begin in March and run through January.

LEAVE ANSWER

Please enter your comment!
please enter your name here

72 + = 78

'Pretty Woman With A Secret': Debbie Harry's 'Blondie' Secrets She Long Hid From Fans

Debbie Harry: facts about her personal life and career Debbie Harry is unfortunately a rarity: a surviving 78-year-old punk scene icon whose career developed during the era of...

Yuri Antonov - The Hardest Idol: Antics and Scandals That Made Producers Walk Away From the Master

Yuri Antonov: character, scandals, antics Recently, producer Sergey Lavrov said that Yuri Antonov is the most difficult, capricious and wayward maestro of the domestic variety, with whom he...

Ekaterina Batrakova: "A good half of academic musicians listen to good rock"

Ekaterina Batrakova - interview: about career and plans for the future The correspondent of Fuzz Music talked to the rock singer Katya Batrakova, whose songs have repeatedly hit the...

A Rising Force - "Undertow" (2022): interesting facts about the album

'Undertow' (2022) album from A Rising Force American rock band A Rising Force have presented their new LP, which is titled "Undertow" (2022). The album "Undertow" (2022) is...

The best performances in the history of 80s-90s pop music: Part 2

Stunning performances in pop music history that will transport you back to your youth... Part 2 Continuing our selection of pop stars' performances on Top of the Pops from the 80's - 90's....

Top 10 timeless songs by the band Scorpions...

Scorpions: a selection of the best tracks by the German rock band... Today's article is a nice dive into the world of rock music, and to be more precise - into the world of music of German band...

Viktor Tsoi (band Kino) - Pack of Cigarettes (1989)

Pack of Cigarettes (1989): the story of Victor Tsoi's legendary song What do we know about Viktor Tsoy? This name is forever engraved in the history of Russian rock as a "legend", an undying...

Top 5 best songs by the band Whitesnake

Best Whitesnake songs Whitesnake is one of the most talented and, what is not strange, popular rock bands in the history of music! Everyone knows their tracks, because...

Elton John - Your Song (1970) / Sacrifice (1989)

All about Your Song (1970) and Sacrifice (1989) by Elton John! He's a master piano player, a talented composer, and the legendary Rocketman! His mediocre appearance is...

Top 10 songs about high school: Classic rock!

10 classic rock songs about high school High school is high on everyone's list of memories. Memory is selective. All the unpleasant things that happened during school gradually...

10 women's songs from the 80s and 90s

A selection of 10 songs that girls listened to in the 80s and 90s These songs are still being listened to. And they won't lose their relevance for a long time to come. If...

The most popular songs of the 80s. Part 1

The most popular songs of the 80s. Part 1 What can be called the best song of its time? First of all, an unrivalled composition, tested by listeners from all corners of the planet and conquered...
Recommended

Queen's first hit that got the band on the radio

Queen - "Seven Seas of Rhye": All about the song, history and facts, translation The Kingdom of Rhye was surrounded by seven seas, where fairies and other... lived together.

Best Song From The Rolling Stones' Worst Album

The Rolling Stones - "She's a Rainbow": all about the song, story and meaning, recording This song isn't quite like what you expect to hear....

Yoko Ono Admits She's A "Witch" - and 4 More "Witchy" Songs About Women

The best rock songs about witches: translations, clips and facts The connection between witchcraft and rock and roll has been around for many decades. Thanks in large part to a conservative society that still...

The Rolling Stones return with Hackney Diamonds - First Album in 7 years

The Rolling Stones' Hackney Diamonds album: review, tracks, facts Despite their cult status, this band hasn't been heard from in a while - well, if...

Top 3 Led Zeppelin Songs Written by Jimmy Page Solo

Led Zeppelin songs written by Jimmy Page Today, classic rock is still at the very centre of popular music, alongside genres such as country and hip-hop. А...

Who she is - Jimi Hendrix's mysterious "cunning lady".

Jimi Hendrix - Foxy Lady: meaning and history of the song, muse Jimi Hendrix didn't like to write songs - or rather lyrics to them: according to him, "usually...

The band "Jeopardy" has a healing effect

How the band "Bardak" heals the public The band "Bardak", playing real rock with pronounced hard rock and blues tones, continues to gain momentum. The album "Russkiy...

The painful real meaning of the "Floyd" song Hey You

The history and meaning of the song Hey You by Pink Floyd Few concept albums can match the greatness of Pink Floyd's "The Wall". Released in 1979, the album...

Thomas Anders' worthy singles after Modern Talking

The best solo singles by Thomas Anders from Modern Talking Thomas Anders' name has forever earned its place in the hearts of millions of listeners around the world. And domestic music lovers...

Дата:

Автор:
Категория:

«Испытание огнём» – дебютный концертный альбом виртуоза Ингви Мальмстина из СССР

Рассказываем про альбом «Trial By Fire» Rising Force. Как на него отреагировала публика, почему группа вскоре распалась, чем занимается Ингви Мальмстин сейчас – на эти и другие вопросы есть ответы в нашей статье.

Альбом «Trial By Fire» Rising Force: предыстория, концерты в СССР, запись, конфликты в группе

Ингви Мальмстин – легендарный гитарист-виртуоз, мультиинструменталист и композитор из Швеции и США, который стал одним из пионеров неоклассического метала. Он родился в Стокгольме 30 июня 1963 года и впервые взял гитару в руки после того, как по телевизору увидел Джими Хендрикса. Вдохновившись не только им, но и классическими композиторами, такими как Вивальди, Бах и Паганини, он развил свой уникальный стиль игры, используя технику свипинга. Для справки: свипинг – это техника игры на гитаре, при которой пальцы правой руки быстро проводятся по струнам, а пальцы левой отпускают нужные лады.

Мальмстин играл в разных группах, таких как Powerhouse, Steeler и Alcatrazz, прежде чем основать свою собственную группу Rising Force в 1982 году. Он выпустил более 40 альбомов и считается одним из лучших гитаристов всех времен.

Ингви Мальмстин с гитарой
Ингви Мальмстин с гитарой

«Испытание огнём» Ингви Мальмстина – это первый концертный альбом, который был записан во время тура по СССР в 1989 году. Он выступал в Ленинграде и Москве с группой Rising Force. Альбом содержит 11 песен, в том числе кавер на «Spanish Castle Magic» Джими Хендрикса. Он получил положительные отзывы от критиков и фанатов и стал одним из лучших выступлений Мальмстина.

Как проходили концерты

Туры Rising Force в Ленинграде и Москве проходили в 1989 году и были частью мирового тура «Trial By Fire». Ингви Мальмстин выступал вместе с Джо Линн Тёёрнером (вокал), Барри Даннелли (бас), Дженсом Юханссон (клавишные) и Андерсом Юханссон (ударные). На концертах собрались тысячи фанатов, они были записаны на видео и аудио.

В Ленинграде группа играла в ДК им. Ленинского комсомола 9 и 10 апреля, а в Москве – в Олимпийском 12 и 13 апреля. Их выступления были отмечены высоким уровнем мастерства музыкантов, энергичностью и драйвом. Ингви Мальмстин исполнял свои хиты, такие как «You Don’t Remember», «I’ll Never Forget», «Far Beyond The Sun», «Black Star», «Icarus’ Dream Suite Op.4».

Запись и выпуск альбома

Альбом «Trial By Fire» Rising Force включает в себя 11 песен. Вот некоторые из них: «Liar» – песня о лжеце, который обманывает свою возлюбленную, «Queen in Love» – песня о королеве, которая влюбляется в простого человека, «Deja Vu» — песня о чувстве, которое повторяется вновь, «Far Beyond the Sun» – инструментальная композиция, демонстрирующая мастерство Мальмстина на гитаре, «Heaven Tonight» – песня о желании провести ночь с любимым человеком.

 

Альбом «Trial By Fire» Rising Force получил различные отзывы от критиков и публики. С одной стороны, он был хорошо принят поклонниками Мальмстина и любителями неоклассического метала, которые ценили его техническое мастерство и энергичное исполнение. Это отразилось на цифрах: альбом также занял 31-е место в шведском чарте альбомов и 128-е место в Billboard 2001.

Вот, что думают об альбоме современные слушатели:

«На этом альбоме есть невероятная гитарная работа, для меня не имеет значения, что для этого использовал музыкант. Отдаю должное за невероятное мастерство. «Spanish Castle Magic» – моя любимая песня, но и остальные тоже запали в сердце. Отличный альбом».

 

С другой стороны, «Trial By Fire» был раскритикован за его однообразие, недостаток оригинальности и слабый вокал Джо Линн Тёрнера. Некоторые критики также считали, что Мальмстин слишком сосредоточен на своей гитаре и не уделяет внимания другим аспектам музыки. В общем, альбом можно назвать спорным и неоднозначным в своем восприятии.

Плохое окончание тура

После тура «Trial By Fire» группа Rising Force распалась. Точнее, даже не так: Мальмстин остался совсем один, потому что другие участники коллектива его просто покинули. Причины их ухода до сих пор не совсем ясны, но можно предположить, что они были связаны с конфликтами между Ингви и другими музыкантами.

Джо Линн Тёрнер
Джо Линн Тёрнер

Например, Джо Линн Тёрнер заявил, что Ингви был «эгоистом и диктатором», который не давал ему свободы в творчестве и не уважал его как певца. Братья Йенс и Андерс Йоханссоны также жаловались на то, что Ингви не платил им достаточно денег и не ценил их вклад в музыку. Басист Барри Донуэй также решил покинуть группу из-за разногласий с Ингви. В результате, после тура Ингви пришлось собирать новый состав для следующего альбома «Eclipse».

Rising Force в 2022 году
Rising Force в 2022 году

Отношения Ингви Мальмстина с бывшими участниками группы сейчас тоже вряд ли можно назвать дружескими. Действительно, Ингви известен своим сложным характером и высокомерием. Единственный бывший участник группы Rising Force, с которым Мальмстин сохранил нормальные отношения, это Горан Эдман, который пел на альбомах «Eclipse» и «Fire and Ice». Они иногда выступают вместе на концертах и делятся фотографиями в социальных сетях.

Ингви Мальмстин
Ингви Мальмстин

Несмотря на все сложности, Ингви Мальмстин сейчас продолжает свою музыкальную карьеру и выступает с разными проектами. В 2021 году он выпустил свой 22-й сольный альбом «Parabellum», который получил положительные отзывы от критиков и фанатов. Через год он принял участие в трибьют-альбоме «Immortal Randy Rhoads – The Ultimate Tribute», посвященному памяти легендарного гитариста Рэнди Роадса.

В 2023 году он анонсировал новый альбом «Blue Lightning», который будет состоять из кавер-версий классических блюзовых песен, таких как «Purple Haze», «Smoke on the Water» и «While My Guitar Gently Weeps». Кроме того, Ингви Мальмстин планирует провести мировое турне в поддержку своего нового альбома, которое начнется в марте и продлится до января.

Интервью с участниками группы Manapart

Группа Manapart: интервью и интересные факты Недавно мы рассказывали вам об интересной и удивительной российско-армянской рок-группе MANAPART, которая уже сегодня захватывает сердца фанатов тяжелой музыки...

Российско-армянский рок покоряет сердца: MANAPART выпустили новый альбом «Red»

Группа MANAPART представила новый альбом «Red». Почему его стоит послушать? Рок – штука удивительная! Он может быть «гламурным», южным, симфоническим... И даже российско-армянским! И если...

«Красотка с Секретом»: Тайны «Блонди» Дебби Харри, Которые Она Долго Скрывала от Фанатов

Дебби Харри: факты о личной жизни и карьере Дебби Харри, к сожалению, является редкостью: дожившая до 78 лет икона панк-сцены, чья карьера развивалась в эпоху...

A Rising Force — «Undertow» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Undertow» (2022) от группы A Rising Force Американская рок-группа A Rising Force презентовала свою новую пластинку, которая получила название «Undertow» (2022). Альбом «Undertow» (2022)...

Лучшие выступления в истории поп-музыки 80-х — 90-х годов: Часть 2

Потрясающие выступления в истории поп-музыки, которые перенесут вас в молодость... Часть 2 Продолжаем нашу подборку выступлений поп-звёзд на Top of the Pops 80-х — 90-х...

Топ-10 нестареющих песен группы Scorpions…

Scorpions: подборка лучших треков немецкой рок-группы... Сегодняшняя статья представляет собой приятное погружение в мир рок-музыки, а если быть точным — в мир музыки немецкой группы...

Виктор Цой (группа Кино) – Пачка сигарет (1989)

Пачка сигарет (1989): история легендарной песни Виктора Цоя Что мы знаем о Викторе Цое? Это имя навсегда запечатлелось в истории отечественного рока как «легенда», неугасающая...

Топ-5 лучших песен группы «Whitesnake»

Лучшие песни группы Whitesnake Whitesnake — одна из самых талантливых и, что вовсе не странно, популярных рок-групп в истории музыки! Их треки знает каждый, ведь...

Elton John (Элтон Джон) – Your Song (1970) / Sacrifice (1989)

Всё о песнях Your Song (1970) и Sacrifice (1989) Элтона Джона! Он — мастер игры на фортепиано, талантливый композитор, легендарный «Рокетмен»! Свою заурядную внешность ему...

Топ-10 песен о школе: Классический рок!

10 классических рок-песен о школе Школа занимает важное место в списке воспоминаний каждого. Память избирательна. Все неприятное, что приключалось за время учёбы в школе постепенно...

10 женских песен из 80-х и 90-х

Подборка из 10 песен, которые слушали девушки в 80-х и 90-х Эти песни до сих пор слушают. И они ещё долго не потеряют актуальности. Если...

Самые популярные песни 80-х. Часть 1

Самые популярные песни 80-х. Часть 1 Что можно назвать лучшей песней своего времени? Прежде всего, непревзойдённую композицию, проверенную слушателями из всех уголков планеты и покорившую...
Рекомендуем

Интервью с участниками группы Manapart

Группа Manapart: интервью и интересные факты Недавно мы рассказывали вам об интересной и удивительной российско-армянской рок-группе MANAPART, которая уже сегодня захватывает сердца фанатов тяжелой музыки...

Российско-армянский рок покоряет сердца: MANAPART выпустили новый альбом «Red»

Группа MANAPART представила новый альбом «Red». Почему его стоит послушать? Рок – штука удивительная! Он может быть «гламурным», южным, симфоническим... И даже российско-армянским! И если...

Первый Хит Queen, с Которым Группа Попала На Радио

Queen – «Seven Seas of Rhye»: Всё о песне, история и факты, перевод Королевство Рай было окружено семью морями, где вместе жили феи и другие...

Лучшая Песня с Худшего Альбома The Rolling Stones

The Rolling Stones – «She's a Rainbow»: всё о песне, история и смысл, запись Эта песня не совсем похожа на то, что вы ожидаете услышать...

Йоко Оно Признала Себя «Ведьмой» – и Ещё 4 «Колдовских» Песни о Женщинах

Лучшие рок-песни о ведьмах: перевод, клипы и факты Связь между колдовством и рок-н-роллом существует уже много десятилетий. Во многом – благодаря консервативному обществу, которое ещё...

Возвращение The Rolling Stones с Hackney Diamonds – Первым за 7 лет Альбомом

Альбом Hackney Diamonds группы The Rolling Stones: обзор, треки, факты Несмотря на культовый статус, про эту группу давненько не было ничего слышно – ну, если...

Топ-3 Песни Led Zeppelin, Написанные Джимми Пейджем Сольно

Песни Led Zeppelin, написанные Джимми Пейджем Сегодня в самом центре популярной музыки, наряду с такими жанрами, как кантри и хип-хоп, по-прежнему находится классический рок. А...

Кто она – загадочная «хитрая леди» Джими Хендрикса

Джими Хендрикс – Foxy Lady: смысл и история песни, муза Джими Хендрикс не любил писать песни – вернее тексты к ним: по его словам, «обычно...

Группа «Бардак» оказывает целительный эффект

Как группа «Бардак» исцеляет публику Группа «Бардак», играющая настоящий рок с ярко выраженными хардовым и блюзовым оттенками, продолжает набирать обороты. Много шума наделал альбом «Russkiy...