Author:
Category:

As part of rock bands they were world legends, but the "solos" are forgotten even by fans

Lack of motivation, ambition, mixing of "immiscible" genres, or problems with addictions - the reasons why this happened could be different. But the result is roughly the same: the solo journey turned into failures and even ridicule in the press.

Members of iconic rock bands who tried but failed to build a dazzling solo career

There are hundreds of stories about how musicians managed to build a dazzling solo career after leaving the band. One Ozzy Osbournewho was fired from Black Sabbath because of his excessive, out-of-control addiction to substances and alcohol, for what? А Robert Plant? After Led Zeppelin his solo career was quite successful, and even turned into a couple of great hits in the vein of "Big Log"! However, fate was not so kind to everyone...

At the same time there are stories of how after leaving the band even international idols remained... in the shadows. Lack of motivation, ambition, mixing of "immiscible" genres or problems with addictions - the reasons why this happened could be different. But the result is roughly the same: the solo journey turned into failures and even ridicule in the press. And here are the names of those legends who sincerely tried, but never failed to build a dazzling solo career

Syd Barrett

Syd Barrett
Syd Barrett

The man whose name has gone down in the history of psychedelic and classic rock Syd Barrett was at the origin of what would later become known to the world as Pink Floyd. The band is considered one of the greatest of its kind! The Dark Side of the Moon, Animals, The Wall... All these legendary albums were released without Barrett.

Syd Barrett (center)
Syd Barrett (center)

Sid was fired from the band in 1968, and, it should be noted, the decision was very, very hard for his comrades... But it was forced. While his inner demons began to prevail over his creativity and personality in general - Sid literally plunged into a different stratosphere, plunging deeper and deeper into the world of forbidden substances. At some point he lost the ability to play and create, and the members of Floyd were forced to fire him, because such an approach to business threatened the fate of the whole band.

Subsequently Sid released several solo albums recorded with his old mates, and there were even some very hit songs! But his mental health was so depleted that a full career was out of the question... Sadly, he became a recluse and died in 2006 at the age of 60 years.

Mick Jagger

Mick Jagger
Mick Jagger

Name a solo career Mick Jagger of failure is unequivocally impossible. But... it is clearly inferior to his success in the lineup The Rolling Stones. Why, it would seem - Mick is talented, charismatic, ambitious... His solo hits should have been classics! But no, and for good reason...

Mick Jagger
Mick Jagger

The media and critics constantly ridicule Jagger's solo outbursts, because in his work - separate from The Rolling Stones - the iconic vocalist got so much into experimentation that he began to create something that is not understood by everyone. His supergroup, for example. Super HeavyIn the course of the first half of the 20th century, the music of the modern soul and reggae icons, and even of the Indian composer, was received ambiguously by the public.

Fans also agreed that it would be better for Mick not to experiment, and continue to rock out on stage with his rock and roll band.

John Frusciante

John Frusciante
John Frusciante

When John Frusciante joined the Red Hot Chili Peppershe was only 18 years old! No wonder he quickly found the alluring world of partying and illicit substances so appealing and enjoyable... And he plunged headlong into it. At some point John realized that he was tired of all these rock-star excesses, but he couldn't give them up at the snap of his fingers. And then he came up with nothing better than to leave the lineup and become an authentic musician. But in reality it wasn't as easy as it was in his head.

John Frusciante
John Frusciante

Since leaving RHCP, John has gone downhill: his addiction has multiplied, he's been kicked out of homes and hotels, and reporters have been shocked by the appearance of a very young guy who literally has no front teeth...

His attempts at solo work could not be called successful, and, according to Frusante himself, he recorded only to pay off dangerous people for substances. Eventually he came out the winner - with false teeth, scars, and special rehabilitation centers behind them. Well, at least that's the way it is!

David Byron

devid bayron
David Byron

If Barrett was ruined by substances, then David Byron became a hostage of the "green serpent. Legend Uriah Heep and classic rock in particular, the performer of the cult hit "July Morning." - At some point Byron was forced to go on a solo trip.

David Byron
David Byron

Byron released his first solo album when he was still the vocalist of Uriah Heep. After his dismissal he released a few more works, but in spite of high-quality arrangements they remained practically unnoticed.

Byron's life turned out to be tragic: he was gone at 38, and by then his liver was completely destroyed...

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...

The strongest albums in Russian rock in the 90s according to Fuzz Music magazine - Top 6

Top 6 Coolest Russian Rock Albums of the 90s by Fuzz Music In the 1990s, music was on the cusp of an era. Important political events in the history of...

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...
Related Articles

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Valery Didyulya was left without music

Valery Didiuli's Muse: how the musician's family broke up Often celebrity couples try not to give publicity to disagreements within the family. But sooner or later the stars also need ...

"What I'd Say" is a chic rock 'n' roll from Jose Feliciano that will cheer anyone up

Musician Jose Feliciano - discography of the great guitarist, creativity, awards Nowadays Latin American musicians are reaching a new level: they easily conquer the world stage and acquire...

Автор:
Категория:

В составе рок-групп они были мировыми легендами, но «соло» позабылись даже поклонникам

Нехватка мотивации, амбиций, смешение «несмешиваемых» жанров или проблемы с зависимостями – причины, по которым так произошло, могут быть разными. Но результат примерно один: сольный путь обернулся неудачами и даже насмешками в прессе.

Участники культовых рок-групп, которые пытались, но не сумели построить ослепительную сольную карьеру

Историй о том, как после ухода из группы музыканты сумели построить ослепительную сольную карьеру – сотни. Один Оззи Осборн, которого уволили из Black Sabbath из-за чрезмерного, вышедшего из-под контроля пристрастия к веществам и алкоголю, чего стоит? А Роберт Плант? После Led Zeppelin его сольная карьера сложилась вполне благополучно, и даже обернулась парочкой отменных хитов в духе «Big Log»! Однако – судьба не ко всем столь благосклонна…

Вместе с этим существуют истории о том, как после ухода из группы даже кумиры международного масштаба оставались… в тени. Нехватка мотивации, амбиций, смешение «несмешиваемых» жанров или проблемы с зависимостями – причины, по которым так произошло, могут быть разными. Но результат примерно один: сольный путь обернулся неудачами и даже насмешками в прессе. И вот имена тех легенд, которые искренне пытались, но так и не сумели построить ослепительную сольную карьеру

Сид Барретт

Сид Барретт
Сид Барретт

Человек, чьё имя навсегда вошло в историю психоделического и классического рока – Сид Барретт стоял у истоков того, что позже станет известно миру как Pink Floyd. Группу принято считать одной из величайших в своём роде! Ничего подобного публика не слышала ни до, ни после: «The Dark Side of the Moon», «Animals», «The Wall»… Правда – все эти легендарные альбомы были выпущены уже без Барретта.

Сид Барретт (в центре)
Сид Барретт (в центре)

Сида уволили из группы в 1968 году, и, стоит отметить, данное решение далось его товарищам очень и очень тяжело… Но оно было вынужденным. В то время как его внутренние демоны начали преобладать над творчеством и личностью в целом – Сид буквально погрузился в иную стратосферу, всё глубже и глубже окунаясь в мир запретных веществ. В какой-то момент он утратил способность играть и творить, и участники Floyd были вынуждены уволить его, ведь подобный подход к делу угрожал судьбе всего коллектива.

Впоследствии Сид выпустил несколько сольных альбомов, записанных при участии старых товарищей, и даже были весьма хитовые вещи! Но его ментальное здоровье настолько истощилось, что ни о какой полноценной карьере не шло и речи… К сожалению, он стал отшельником и скончался в 2006 году в возрасте 60 лет.

Мик Джаггер

Мик Джаггер
Мик Джаггер

Назвать сольную карьеру Мика Джаггера неудачной однозначно нельзя. Но… она явно уступает его успеху в составе The Rolling Stones. Почему же? Казалось бы – Мик талантливый, харизматичный, амбициозный… Его сольные хиты должны были стать классикой! Но нет, и на то есть свои причины…

Мик Джаггер
Мик Джаггер

СМИ и критики то и дело высмеивают сольные порывы Джаггера, ведь в своём – отдельном от The Rolling Stones творчестве – культовый вокалист так сильно увлёкся экспериментами, что начал творить нечто, понятное далеко не всем. К примеру его супергруппа Super Heavy, в рамках которой пытались ужиться современные соул и регги иконы, и даже индийский композитор, была принято публикой неоднозначно.

Поклонники тоже согласились с тем, что лучше бы Мику не экспериментировать, а продолжать отжигать на сцене со своей рок-н-ролльной бандой.

Джон Фрушанте

Джон Фрушанте
Джон Фрушанте

Когда Джон Фрушанте присоединился к Red Hot Chili Peppers, ему было всего 18 лет! Неудивительно, что юноша быстро нашёл манящий мир тусовок и запрещённых веществ таким притягательным и приятным… И с головой окунулся в него. В какой-то момент Джон осознал, что устал от всех этих излишеств рок-звезды, но отказаться от них по щелчку пальцев он уже не мог. И тогда он не придумал ничего лучше, как покинуть состав и стать аутентичным музыкантом. Но на деле это оказалось не так легко, как в его голове.

Джон Фрушанте
Джон Фрушанте

После ухода из RHCP Джон пошёл по наклонной: его зависимость выросла в разы, его выгоняли из домов и отелей, а репортёры были в шоке от внешнего вида ещё совсем молодого парня, у которого буквально не было передних зубов…

Его попытки сольного творчества нельзя назвать успешными, и, по словам самого Фрушанте, он записывался только для того, чтобы расплатиться с опасными людьми за вещества. В конце концов он вышел победителем – со вставными зубами, шрамами и специальными реабилитационными центрами за плечами. Ну, хоть так!

Дэвид Байрон

devid bayron
Дэвид Байрон

Если Барретта погубили вещества, то Дэвид Байрон стал заложником «зелёного змея». Легенда Uriah Heep и классического рока в частности, исполнитель культового хита «July Morning» – в какой-то момент Байрон был вынужден отправиться в сольное путешествие.

Дэвид Байрон
Дэвид Байрон

Свой первый сольный альбом Байрон издал, будучи ещё вокалистом Uriah Heep. После увольнения он выпустил ещё несколько работ, однако несмотря на качественную аранжировку – они остались практически незамеченными.

Жизнь Байрона оказалась трагичной: его не стало в 38 лет, и к тому моменту его печень была полностью разрушена…

Лучший альбом Кена Хенсли, который поклонники Uriah Heep не слушают, а помнят наизусть

Всё об альбоме «Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf»: история создания, треки, успех Нередко музыканты, долго играющие в группе, хотят начать сольную деятельность. Некоторые из...

Самые сильные альбомы в русском роке за период 90-х по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» – Топ-6

Топ 6 самых крутых российских рок-альбомов в 90-е по версии «Fuzz Music» В 1990-е годы музыка оказалась на переломе эпох. Важные политические события в истории...

Брук Шилдс была разочарована – кому на самом деле Джордж Майкл посвятил «Careless Whisper»

«Careless Whisper»: величайший хит 80-х, история его создания и главная вдохновительница  Джорджа Майкла Ох уж этот «Беспечный шепот», затронувший сердца миллионов слушателей со всех...
Похожие статьи

Лучано Паваротти: история культового лирического тенора Италии

Биография итальянского певца Лучано Паваротти: детство, карьера, наследие Мелодичная Италия подарила миру самый музыкальный язык и добавила в музыкально-театральный жанр оперы много красок. Несмотря на...

Они пели о том, что окружало людей в 90-х – вспоминаем главные хиты «Комбинации»: Топ-5

Топ-5 лучших песен группы «Комбинация» Культовая для поколения «дефицитных» 90-х годов группа «Комбинация» начала свою деятельность в конце 80-х. Несмотря на пройденные года, в душе...

Очаровательная Эммилу Харрис – легенда кантри

Кантри-певица Эммилу Харрис: биография, творчество, дискография, награды Фолк- и кантри-музыка зачастую остаются за бортом популярности, какую имеют другие жанры музыки, в частности рок или хип-хоп....

Они пели о том, что касалось каждого: «Комбинация» – самая актуальная поп-группа 90-х

Всё о группе «Комбинация»: история создания, концерты, современность На рубеже 80-х и 90-х годов многое меняется на отечественной сцене. На место строгих и трогательных песен...

Больше, чем товарищи по цеху: культовые группы, которые никогда не меняли состав

Рок-группы, никогда не менявшие состав участников – список, фото и имена, интересные факты История музыки знает огромное количество рок-групп. Эта форма музицирования в настоящее время...

Часть 2. «Жизнь на дороге»: чем занялся Брайан Джонсон в старости

Брайан Джонсон: карьера и её завершение, новые проекты  После завершения карьеры рок-музыканты либо уходят в отставку и больше уделяют времени себе, либо стараются заниматься новыми...

Та самая песня из «Телохранителя»: смысл оказался глубже

Всё о песне «I Will Always Love You»: история создания, исполнение, успех Часто случается так, что между артистами, исполнившими одну песню, но в разных стилях,...

Валерий Дидюля остался без музы

Муза Валерия Дидюли: как произошёл распад семьи музыканта Часто звёздные пары пытаются не придавать огласке разногласия внутри семьи. Но рано или поздно звёздам тоже необходима...

«What I’d Say» – шикарный рок-н-ролл от Хосе Фелисиано, который взбодрит любого

Музыкант Хосе Фелисиано – дискография великого гитариста, творчество, награды В настоящее время латиноамериканские музыканты выходят на новый уровень: они легко покоряют мировую сцену и приобретают...