Author:
Category:

The Smiths' Top 3 Awesome Albums Everyone Should Listen To

Even their last Strangeways, Here We Come, colored in new shades, hinted at promising directions for fans in a future that never came. Today we decided to tell you about three of The Smiths records that everyone should listen to.

Here are three of The Smiths' best records

The Smiths - The legendary British rock band from Manchester, which lasted only 5 yearsbut had a tremendous influence! Their work contributed to the development of Brit-pop, and many contemporaries call them their main ideological inspirations. Today the Smiths are considered one of the most important alternatives of British bands and simply "iconic descendants of '80s indie rock.

Throughout the project's existence, there have been two figures at its center: the vocalist Morrissey and guitarist Johnny Marr. Together they wrote a number of iconic tracks, though they were an unlikely pair from the start: Morrissey was socially aloof and cold, while Marr was planning a soccer career altogether! But Johnny quickly felt "like a fish in water" with a guitar in his hands: he avoided clichés like solos and power chords in favor of intricate arpeggios and ringing rhythms. Morrissey, for his part, demonstrated his punk influence with intricate lyrics and an odd performance that the audience loved. Fortunately - Their paths crossedand rock history was enriched by another worthy band (which was also joined by bassist Andy Rourke and drummer Mike Joyce).

The Smiths outside the Salford Lads Club. Photo: Stephen Wright
The Smiths

Unfortunately or fortunately, The Smiths existed not for long. But it gave them a big advantage: unlike many of their peers, they had no chance of becoming boring. Each of their albums is an important chapter in their history. Even their latest "Strangeways, Here We Come"The Smiths, painted in new shades, hinted at promising directions for the future, which never came. Today we decided to tell you about three of The Smiths records that everyone should listen to. At the end of the article you will find nice bonus!

The Smiths

The Smiths
The Smiths

If you really intend to understand The Smithsthen you need to listen to their 1984 debut of the same name. This album concentrates their raw, but later signature sound, which was so beloved by the public. The record demonstrates what the Smiths were capable of in their early years, and after listening to the following releases, it's clear how much they grown up.

After the release of the album The Smiths almost immediately became the most celebrated indie band UK! The record attracts a great set of tracks, among which are widely known among fans "Suffer Little Children and "Pretty Girls Make Graves. Here Morrissey is not yet replete with black humor, but the somber tone, underpinned by Johnny Marr's shimmering guitar, is present.

"Meat Is Murder"

The Smiths
The Smiths

The Smiths' second studio album captures the slightly awkward transition between the sheer simplicity of their early recordings and their later studio work. Melodic songs such as the funky "Barbarism Begins at Home" and the title track, stretched to epic length... But they are very good! And it's not boring to listen to them at all.

The hits were "The Headmaster Ritual" and "I Want the One I Can't Have". For the majority of American listeners, it was these tracks that started their acquaintance with the band. The critics were ambiguousBut after so many years the record is still in demand, and the loyal fans not without pleasure listen to it, indulging in nostalgia...

"The Queen Is Dead"

The Queen Is Dead (1986) – The Smiths (album cover)
The cover of "The Queen Is Dead" by The Smiths

The indisputable masterpiece in The Smiths catalog, the album "The Queen Is Dead" demonstrates all the power and maturity of the band. It is hard to find weak tracks on this record - each composition is attractive and interesting in its own way.

One of the best indie rock albums of the '80s, "The Queen Is Dead" is worth listening to at least for the experience - even if you're not a fan of the band. Morrissey's voice is perfect here, and Johnny's playing and stylistic contributions are fantastic! It's hard to believe that the band that released the eponymous first album and "The Queen Is Dead" is same projectand that this astronomical progress lasted only two years.

Bonus: "Louder Than Bombs"

The Smiths
The Smiths

"Louder Than Bombs" is a compilation published in 1987. But what a...

The Smiths' strongest masterpieces, such as "Sheila Take a Bow" or "Asleep," are concentrated here. All in all, it includes 24 tracks, non-album singles and B-sides recorded from 1983 to 1987. For fans this release was a great surprise and an amazing gift: a real musical journey of more than 70 minutesIt's a great way to get away from reality and coolly relaxes you at the expense of indie motifs!

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Автор:
Категория:

Топ-3 шикарных альбома The Smiths, которые стоит послушать каждому

Даже их последний «Strangeways, Here We Come», окрашенный в новые оттенки, намекал поклонникам на многообещающие направления в будущем, которое так и не наступило. Сегодня мы решили рассказать вам о трёх пластинках The Smiths, которые стоит послушать каждому.

Рассказываем о трёх лучших пластинках группы The Smiths

The Smiths – легендарная британская рок-группа из Манчестера, которая просуществовала всего 5 лет, но оказала колоссальное влияние! Их творчество внесло свой вклад в развитие брит-попа, и многие современники называют их своими главными идейными вдохновителями. Сегодня «Смитсы» считаются одной из самых важных альтернативных групп Британии и просто «культовыми выходцами из инди-рока 80-х».

На протяжении всего существования проекта, в его центре было две фигуры: вокалист Моррисси и гитарист Джонни Марр. Вместе они написали ряд культовых треков, хотя и представляли собой маловероятную пару с самого начала: Моррисси был социально отстранённым и холодным, в то время как Марр вовсе планировал построить футбольную карьеру! Но Джонни быстро почувствовал себя «как рыба в воде» с гитарой в руках: он избегал клише, таких как соло и пауэр-аккорды, в пользу замысловатых арпеджио и звенящих ритмов. Моррисси, в свою очередь, продемонстрировал своё влияние панка в замысловатой лирике и странном исполнении, которое пришлось публике по душе. К счастью – их пути пересеклись, и история рока стала богаче на ещё одну достойную группу (к которой также примкнули басист Энди Рурк и барабанщик Майк Джойс).

The Smiths возле Клуба Солфорд Ладс. Фото: Стивен Райт
The Smiths

К сожалению или к счастью, но The Smiths просуществовали недолго. Но это дало им большое преимущество: в отличие от многих их сверстников, у них не было шанса стать скучными. Каждый из их альбомов является важной главой в их истории. Даже их последний «Strangeways, Here We Come», окрашенный в новые оттенки, намекал поклонникам на многообещающие направления в будущем, которое так и не наступило. Сегодня мы решили рассказать вам о трёх пластинках The Smiths, которые стоит послушать каждому. В конце статьи вас ждёт приятный бонус!

«The Smiths»

Группа The Smiths
Группа The Smiths

Если вы действительно намерены понять The Smiths, то вам необходимо послушать их одноимённый дебют 1984 года. В этом альбоме сосредоточено их сырое, но впоследствии фирменное звучание, которое так полюбилось публике. Пластинка демонстрирует, на что «Смитсы» были способны в ранние свои годы, а прослушав следующие релизы – становится ясно, как сильно они повзрослели.

После выпуска альбома The Smiths почти сразу же стали самой прославленной инди-группой в Великобритании! Пластинка привлекает отличным набором треков, среди которых широко известные среди почитателей «Suffer Little Children» и «Pretty Girls Make Graves». Здесь Моррисси ещё не изобилует чёрным юмором, однако мрачный тон, подкрепляемый мерцающей гитарой Джонни Марра, присутствует.

«Meat Is Murder»

The Smiths
The Smiths

Второй студийный альбом The Smiths фиксирует слегка неловкий переход между абсолютной простотой их ранних записей и более поздними студийными работами. Мелодичные песни, такие как фанковая «Barbarism Begins at Home» и заглавный трек, растянуты до эпической длины… Но они очень хороши! И слушать их совсем не скучно.

Яркими хитами стали «The Headmaster Ritual» и «I Want the One I Can’t Have». Для большинства американских слушателей знакомство с группой началось именно с этих треков. Критика была неоднозначной, но спустя столько лет пластинка всё ещё пользуется спросом, а преданные поклонники не без удовольствия переслушивают её, предаваясь ностальгии…

«The Queen Is Dead»

The Queen Is Dead (1986) – The Smiths (обложка альбома)
Обложка альбома «The Queen Is Dead» группы The Smiths

Бесспорный шедевр в каталоге The Smiths, альбом «The Queen Is Dead» демонстрирует всю силу и зрелость бэнда. На этой пластинке сложно отыскать слабые треки – каждая композиция привлекательна и интересна по-своему.

Один из лучших альбомов инди-рока 80-х, «The Queen Is Dead» стоит послушать хотя бы ради опыта – даже если вы не являетесь поклонником группы. Голос Моррисси здесь идеален, а игра Джонни и его стилистический вклад просто фантастические! Трудно поверить, что группа, выпустившая одноимённый первый альбом, и «The Queen Is Dead» – это один и тот же проект, и что этот астрономический прогресс длился всего два года.

Бонус: «Louder Than Bombs»

The Smiths
The Smiths

«Louder Than Bombs» представляет собой сборник, выпущенный в 1987 году. Но какой…

Здесь сосредоточены сильнейшие шедевры The Smiths, такие как «Sheila Take a Bow» или «Asleep». Всего сюда вошло 24 трека, неальбомные синглы и би-сайды, записанные с 1983 по 1987 год. Для поклонников этот релиз стал большим сюрпризом и потрясающим подарком: настоящее музыкальное путешествие длительностью более 70 минут, которое отрывает от реальности и круто расслабляет за счёт инди-мотивов!

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...
Похожие статьи

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...