Author:

Category:

Biography of Joe Dassin

He was always in a white, bright suit. His charming smile, soothing and velvety voice drove millions of girls and women crazy. Image of white...

What has oppressed Joe Dassin lately? Could he be saved?

Joe Dassin
Joe Dassin

He was always in a white, bright suit. His charming smile, soothing and velvety voice drove millions of girls and women crazy. The image of a snow-white angel sent from heaven made people cling to the screens with trepidation and, without ceasing, follow his singing and how he moves around the stage. He inspired calmness and some kind of inner confidence, which was inaccessible to mere mortals. He was a guide, and his voice was a guide!

But what kind of person was hiding behind this snow-white facade? Did the image on the stage correspond to his real image? Who was Joe Dassin in real life?

When our Russian film crew went to Paris to shoot the documentary “Joe Dassin. The story of a prophecy”, she had to interview close friends and relatives of the musician. In the process, they discovered for themselves and for those around them a completely different Dassin, which few people knew about before. In fact, the singer was an insecure person, very suspicious and notorious. He was afraid of something and tried to hide it from others. Where does all this come from? Let's try to figure it out.

He was 20 years old, he studied at the University of Michigan in the USA. In a few years he was to become a certified anthropologist, researching the origins, customs and culture of the peoples of the world. But fate decreed otherwise: one fine day, choosing between another expedition to the depths of America and a trip to Europe, he chose the latter and, climbing onto a cargo liner, went across the ocean to another continent.

Joe Dassin, 1960
Joe Dassin, 1960

In Europe, he was immediately overwhelmed from head to toe by social life: he had affairs with girls, played the guitar, wrote and acted in films. After some time, he met a girl named Maryse. She decided to "wrap" the passionate womanizer and formalize their union officially. When the day of registration came, Joe Dassin appeared in a very strange outfit: the suit was old and worn, 3-day-old stubble flaunted on his face, and he himself was drunk as an insole. But Maryse was not embarrassed, she saw the potential in him, and she heard his voice, which, turning into a whisper, could make millions of people listen to him for hours without stopping.

Joe Dassin and Maryse Massiere
Joe Dassin and Maryse Massiere

Of course, all his entourage was delighted with what had happened: at last he became a family man. But even greater joy among all his friends and relatives caused his creative success, which he achieved. However, such a dizzying rise frightened even himself. Joe experienced this with difficulty ... By nature, he was an ordinary non-public person, his popularity oppressed him, and he could not fully enjoy life, as before. His personal life no longer belonged to him, it was in the public domain. His shyness kept him from becoming a star more and more every day. Despite all the circumstances, he nevertheless achieved the recognition of millions and became one of the most popular singers of the 20th century. But what did it cost him?

Joe Dassin
Joe Dassin

From interviews with his friends and relatives, it follows that he had difficulty experiencing a split personality. His nature struggled with itself more and more every day. At the end of his life, he was in a deep depression, the more fame irradiated him, the more he retreated into himself. He just wanted to be alone. He admitted once: "I'm afraid of my own fame."

His personal life was turned upside down when he met a girl on a plane. The girl's name was Christine. In the movie "Joe Dassin. The story of a prophecy ”described in detail their love story. Life has changed, and not for the better! The role of Christine's wife did not work out well. She was very jealous, quick-tempered and uncontrollable.

Joe Dassin with his second wife Christine
Joe Dassin with his second wife Christine

The drugs and alcohol that Kristin dabbled in added fuel to the fire. Of course, Joe did not stand aside and kept her company, this lifestyle changed him too. When the divorce process began, Joe Dassin said in court that it would be better for their children if he himself took care of the upbringing, since he did not see his wife in this role. She could simply harm the children, damage their psyche. The court was able to see into the essence of Christine, and, to the surprise of many, Joe received custody of the children. At that time, it was a bold enough decision for the court to leave custody not to the mother, but to the father.

All this had a terrible effect on the singer. His creative life was going through hard times, family life fell apart, leaving him with children. His health and mental state were failing... As a result, he had a heart attack at the age of 41. It was a crash!

Joe Dassin with Christine and children
Joe Dassin with Christine and children

He was accustomed to a riotous lifestyle, a sharp change in contrasts affected him badly. He was a musician and he couldn't live without it! It's been a month since Joe got out of the hospital. There was no money, and he also could not earn. Luxury and comfort have always been faithful companions for him: expensive hotels, expensive drinks, women, tennis, golf, skiing, holidays in luxury resorts ... This lifestyle required huge investments. Deciding to take a break, he took a family: a mother and two tiny children; invited his close friend Claude Lemel and went to rest in Tahiti. 2 days later, he died. It happened very quickly. In the restaurant at the table…

Joe with father Jules Dassin and mother Beatrice Lohner-Dassin. Paris, 1970
Joe with father Jules Dassin and mother Beatrice Lohner-Dassin. Paris, 1970

If fate had decreed otherwise, and he would have died in a car accident, for example, millions of fans would have unanswered questions to fate and God. But it happened differently, it was his personal tragedy. His internal motor simply could not withstand such stress. Heart stopped…

Joe Dassin at sea
Joe Dassin at sea

And here we should leave a rhetorical question: “Would Joe Dassin be happier if he had not gone to Europe then? What kind of person would he become if he chose the profession of an anthropologist and scientist? What would happen to his work, his songs, his voice? Would the world have noticed the absence of the musical genius of Joe Dassin?”

10kFollowers

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Related Articles

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Geezer Butler: surprising facts about the "unholy" Black Sabbath bassist

What You Didn't Know About Geezer Butler - Top Surprising Facts About the Black Sabbath Legend Geezer Butler is a Black Sabbath legend and the most "unholy"...

The Worst Hard Rock Albums by Fuzz Music Magazine

Why These Are The Worst Albums In Hard Rock History Commercialism isn't so bad, but only if it's "tasteful" and "in moderation. It's...

"The maestro of progressive metal" - meet John Petrucci

A little history of John Petrucci, one of the best guitarists of our time Progressive rock was a product of psychedelic rock. It was more of an instrumental and compositional approach to...

Randy California: a hero who admires fortitude and great guitar playing

Remembering Randy California, one of the legendary guitarists of the last century Randy California is one of the most legendary guitarists and the greatest father-heroes in history. He was brilliant and...

Rory Gallagher and his wonderful acoustic style

Remembering one of the greatest guitarists Rory Gallagher Rory Gallagher passed away in 1995, and the world literally gasped and was sadly horrified: he was truly...

Автор:

Категория:

Биография Джо Дассена

Он всегда был в белом, ярком костюме. Его обворожительная улыбка, умиротворяющий и бархатный голос сводили миллионы девушек и женщин с ума. Образ белоснежного...

Что угнетало Джо Дассена в последнее время? Мог ли он спастись?

Джо Дассен
Джо Дассен

Он всегда был в белом, ярком костюме. Его обворожительная улыбка, умиротворяющий и бархатный голос сводили миллионы девушек и женщин с ума. Образ белоснежного, посланного с небес, ангела заставлял людей прильнуть с трепетом к экранам и, не переставая, следить за его пением, и за тем как он двигается по сцене. Он внушал спокойствие и какую-то внутреннюю уверенность, простым смертным она была недоступна. Он был проводником, а его голос ориентиром!

Но что за человек скрывался за этим белоснежным фасадом? Соответствовал ли образ на сцене его реальному образу? Кем был Джо Дассен в обычной жизни?

Когда наша русская съёмочная группа отправилась в Париж снимать документальный фильм «Джо Дассен. История одного пророчества», ей предстояло взять интервью у близких друзей и родственников музыканта. В процессе, они открыли для себя и для окружающих совершенно другого Дассена, о котором мало кто знал до этого. На самом деле, певец был неуверенным в себе человеком, очень мнительным и закомплексованным. Он чего-то боялся и пытался скрыть это от окружающих. Откуда все это в нём? Попробуем разобраться.

Ему было 20 лет, он учился в Мичиганском университете в США. Через несколько лет он должен был стать дипломированным антропологом, исследовавшим происхождение, обычаи и культуру народов мира. Но судьба распорядилась иначе: одним прекрасным днём, выбрав между ещё одной экспедицией в глубь Америки и поездкой в Европу, он выбрал второе и, забравшись на грузовой лайнер, отправился через океан на другой континент.

Джо Дассен, 1960 год
Джо Дассен, 1960 год

В Европе его сразу же захлестнула с головы до ног светская жизнь: он крутил романы с девушками, играл на гитаре, занимался писательством и снимался в кино. Спустя немного времени он встретил девушку по имени Мариз. Она решила “охомутать” страстного ловеласа и оформить их союз официально. Когда наступил день регистрации, Джо Дассен явился в очень странном прикиде: костюм был старый и поношенный, на его лице красовалась 3-х дневная щетина, а сам он был пьян в стельку. Но Мариз это не смутило, она видела в нём потенциал, и она слышала его голос, который переходя в шёпот, мог заставить миллионы людей, не отрываясь, слушать его часами.

Джо Дассен и Мариз Массьера
Джо Дассен и Мариз Массьера

Конечно же, все его окружение было в восторге от произошедшего: наконец он стал семейным человеком. Но ещё большую радость у всех его друзей и родственников вызывал его творческий успех, которого он добился. Однако, такой головокружительный взлёт пугал даже его самого. Джо переживал это с трудом… По натуре он был обычным не публичным человеком, популярность его угнетала, и он не мог в полной мере наслаждаться жизнью, как до этого. Его личная жизнь теперь не принадлежала ему, она была достоянием общественности. Его застенчивость мешала ему становится звездой все больше и больше с каждым днём. Вопреки всем обстоятельствам он все-таки добился признания миллионов и стал одним из самых популярных певцов XX века. Но чего это ему стоило?!

Джо Дассен
Джо Дассен

Из интервью его друзей и близких следует, что с трудом переживал раздвоение личности. Его натура боролось сама с собой все больше и больше с каждым днём. Под конец жизни он был в глубокой депрессии, чем больше его облучала слава, тем больше он уходил в себя. Он просто хотел быть один. Он признался как-то раз: “Я боюсь своей собственной славы”.

Его личная жизнь перевернулась с головы до ног, когда он познакомился с девушкой в самолёте. Девушку звали Кристин. В фильме «Джо Дассен. История одного пророчества» подробно описана их любовная история. Жизнь изменилась, и изменилась не в лучшую сторону! Роль жены Кристин плохо удавалась. Она была очень ревнивой, вспыльчивой и неуправляемой.

Джо Дассен со своей второй женой Кристин
Джо Дассен со своей второй женой Кристин

Масло в огонь подливали наркотики и алкоголь, которыми баловалась Кристин. Конечно, Джо не оставался в стороне и составлял ей компанию, этот образ жизни изменил и его. Когда начался процесс развода, в суде Джо Дассен заявил, что для их детей будет лучше, если воспитанием займется он сам, так как он не видит свою жену в этой роли. Она просто могла навредить детям, нанести урон их психике. Суд смог разглядеть сущность Кристин, и, к удивлению многих, Джо получил опекунство над детьми. В то время это было достаточно смелое решение для суда: оставить опеку не матери, а отцу.

Все это ужасно сказывалось на певце. Его творческая жизнь переживала не лучшие времена, семейная жизнь развалилась, оставив его с детьми. Его здоровье и психическое состояние давало сбои… В результате, он заработал инфаркт в 41 год. Это был крах!

Джо Дассен с Кристин и детьми
Джо Дассен с Кристин и детьми

Он привык к разгульному образу жизни, резкая смена контрастов сказывалась на нём плохо. Он был музыкантом, и он не мог без этого! Прошёл месяц как Джо вышел из больницы. Денег не было, и не зарабатывать он тоже не мог. Роскошь и комфорт были для него верными спутниками всегда: дорогие отели, дорогие напитки, женщины, теннис, гольф, лыжи, отдых на роскошных курортах… Этот образ жизни требовал колоссальных вложений. Решив взять передых, он взял семью: маму и двух крохотных детей; пригласил своего близкого друга Клода Лемеля и отправился отдыхать на Таити. Спустя 2 дня, он умер. Случилось это очень быстро. В ресторане за столом…

Джо с отцом Жюлем Дассеном и матерью Беатрис Лонер-Дассен. Париж, 1970 г
Джо с отцом Жюлем Дассеном и матерью Беатрис Лонер-Дассен. Париж, 1970 г

Если бы судьба распорядилась иначе, и он умер бы в автокатастрофе, например, у миллионных фанатов остались бы безответные вопросы к судьбе и Богу. Но произошло иначе, это было трагедией его личной. Его внутренний моторчик просто не выдержал такого напряжения. Сердце остановилось…

Джо Дассен на море
Джо Дассен на море

И тут следует оставить риторический вопрос: “Был бы Джо Дассен счастливее, если бы тогда не поехал в Европу? Каким человеком бы он стал, выбрав профессию антрополога и ученого? Что было бы с его творчеством, с его песнями, с его голосом? Заметил бы мир отсутствие музыкального гения Джо Дассена?”

10kFollowers

«Истерия»: как Def Leppard довели мир до безумия

История альбома «Hysteria» – культовой классики Def Leppard Пластинка «Hysteria», наполненная хитами, по-прежнему считается определяющим моментом в карьере Def Leppard и остаётся такой же актуальной...

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Похожие статьи

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...