Author:
Category:

"Losing My Faith": What REM's Biggest Hit Really Is About

Today the song is a trademark of R.E.M. It's hard to believe that back in 1991 the producers almost rejected this masterpiece.

R.E.M. "Losing My Religion" (1991) - song recording, lyrics, cover versions

"Losing My Religion" - The band's biggest hit "R.E.M." The composition was released as a single from the album "Out of Time." In winter 1991 year. Because of the unusual arrangement with mandolin motifs, the producers did not believe in the success of the track, and in vain: "Losing My Religion" was often played on the radio, and the gorgeous music video contributed to its popularity. As a result, the song became the biggest hit for the band on the territory of the USA, and in 1992 it even won two Grammy awards! But under what circumstances was this masterpiece born and what does its name really mean? We suggest finding out together.

History of Creation, Recording

R.E.M. Band.
R.E.M. Band.

Many listeners remembered this composition because of its extravagant sound, in which the guitar and mandolin merge harmoniously. And that is what almost doomed the song to failure. The story "Losing My Religion" began with guitarist and co-founder of the "R.E.M." Peter Buck decided to discover a new instrument. Legend has it that he spent a long time improvising with the mandolin and recording his results on a tape recorder. The next morning the musician listened to the recordings and realized that he had in his hands a ready sketch of a melody for a future hit.

They recorded the track in New York. And while it only took one take for the vocals, the bassist To Mike Mills. It wasn't easy for him to come up with something original for a long time, and finally he was inspired by the game John McVie from "Fleetwood Mac.. The track also featured an organ, but it was later replaced by classical symphony orchestra notes.

R.E.M. Band.
R.E.M. Band.

Sound "Losing My Religion" was quite unusual, and the label didn't like it. Fortunately, the band managed to insist and the song was released as a single. Although from the side of "Warner." The song was initially only played on small radio stations, before it was allowed to float on the major radio waves.

The meaning of the title and the lyrics

Michael Stipe as a young man
Michael Stipe as a young man

When "Losing My Religion" saw the light of day, many people thought that the composition was addressed to the deceased Beatle To John Lennon. And some even found references to AIDS in it. But actually it's a song about unrequited love. That's what the author of the lyrics said in the interview Michael Stipe:

"Where I grew up, the phrase 'Losing My Religion' means 'losing patience. That's what they say when they want to put an end to something or are on the verge of it. And the hero of the song sings about that, about his hopeless love..."

Music video

A classy music video was directed by Tarsem Singh. He later admitted that the work was inspired by one of the stories Gabriel Garcia Marquez. It is clear that Singh also drew inspiration from the Italian painter Caravaggio. In addition, the video sequence is full of references to religious images.

The music video was incredibly successful on the MTV: he was nominated for nine awards and as a result won several awards, including "Video of the Year.". As of 2021, the number of views on YouTube is more than 900 million!

Cover versions

Over the years, the popularity of the composition has only grown. As a result, many performers, and just talented enthusiasts presented their interpretations on "Losing My Religion". Especially the song is a success among alternative and metal bands. We suggest you personally enjoy the most interesting cover versions.

Interesting Facts

  • "Losing My Religion" was a huge success. It was on the list of "500 Songs That Shaped Rock and Roll," and the album itself topped the charts on both sides of the Atlantic and sold over 18 million copies all over the world.
  • The recording of the track involved guest musicians, including an entire symphonic Atlanta Orchestra.

  • Despite the fact that the author himself explained the meaning of the song in an interview, fans to this day are trying to find in the "Losing My Religion" secret meaning. Thus, some believe that Michael Stipe sings about herself in this heartfelt hit.
  • Today, the song is a calling card "R.E.M.". It's hard to believe that back in 1991 the producers almost rejected this masterpiece.

How R.E.M. "murmured" in the charts, or the story of their debut album "Murmur"

R.E.M. debut album "Murmur" and its history: full review, interesting facts, track list Despite the fact that the way to fame R.E.M. started in the prime of...

"Hidden in the Clouds" - a look back at one of Pink Floyd's favorite Nick Mason albums

History of the album "Obscured by Clouds" by Pink Floyd: recording, facts, success and tracks This record is far from being Pink Floyd's most popular work. However, they...

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...
Related Articles

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Автор:
Категория:

«Теряю свою веру»: о чём на самом деле главный хит R.E.M.

Сегодня песня является визитной карточкой «R.E.M.». С трудом верится, что в далёком 1991-м продюсеры чуть не забраковали этот шедевр.

R.E.M. «Losing My Religion» (1991) – запись песни, смысл текста, кавер-версии

«Losing My Religion» — громкий хит группы «R.E.M.». Композиция вышла как сингл с альбома «Out of Time» зимой 1991 года. Из-за необычной аранжировки с мотивами мандолины, продюсеры не верили в успех трека, а зря: «Losing My Religion» часто крутили на радио, а шикарное музыкальное видео способствовало росту популярности. В результате песня стала самым большим хитом для коллектива на территории США, а в 1992-м даже завоевала две премии «Грэмми»! Но при каких обстоятельствах родился этот шедевр и что на самом деле означает его название? Предлагаем узнать вместе.

История создания, запись

Группа «R.E.M.»
Группа «R.E.M.»

Многим слушателям данная композиция запомнилась благодаря экстравагантному звучанию, в котором гармонично сливаются гитара и мандолина. И именно оно чуть не обрекло песню на провал. История «Losing My Religion» началась с того, что гитарист и один из основателей «R.E.M.» Питер Бак решил открыть для себя новый инструмент. Легенда гласит, что он долго импровизировал с мандолиной и записывал свои результаты на магнитофон. Следующим утром музыкант переслушал записи и осознал, что у него в руках готовый набросок мелодии для будущего хита.

Записывали трек в Нью-Йорке. И если на вокал понадобился всего один дубль, то басисту Майку Миллсу пришлось несладко: ему долго не удавалось придумать что-то оригинальное, и в конце концов он вдохновился игрой Джона Макви из «Fleetwood Mac». В треке также присутствовал орган, однако впоследствии его заменили классическими нотами симфонического оркестра.

Группа «R.E.M.»
Группа «R.E.M.»

Звучание «Losing My Religion» оказалось довольно необычным, и это не понравилось лейблу. К счастью, группе удалось настоять на своём и песня вышла как сингл. Хотя со стороны «Warner» и были выдвинуты определённые условия: поначалу композицию крутили только на маленьких радиостанциях, прежде чем пустили «плавать» по крупным радиоволнам.

Смысл названия и лирика

Майкл Стайп в молодости
Майкл Стайп в молодости

Когда «Losing My Religion» увидела свет, многие решили, что композиция адресована погибшему битлу Джону Леннону. А некоторые даже нашли в ней отсылки к СПИДу. Но на самом деле это песня о безответной любви. Об этом сообщил в интервью автор текста Майкл Стайп:

«Там, где я вырос, фраза «Losing My Religion» означает «терять терпение». В тех краях так говорят, когда хотят положить конец чему-то или находятся на грани этого. И герой песни поёт об этом, о своей безнадёжной любви…»

Музыкальное видео

Шикарный клип был снят режиссёром Тарсемом Сингхом. Впоследствии он признавался, что работа была вдохновлена одним из рассказов Габриэля Гарсиа Маркеса. Очевидно, что Сингх также черпал вдохновение в творчестве итальянского живописца Караваджо. Помимо этого, видеоряд полон отсылок к религиозным образам.

Клип оказался невероятно успешным на MTV: он был номинирован на девять премий и в результате завоевал несколько наград, включая «Видео года». По состоянию на 2021 год количество его просмотров на YouTube составляет более 900 миллионов!

Кавер-версии

С годами популярность композиции только росла. В результате очень многие исполнители, да и просто талантливые энтузиасты представили свои интерпретации на «Losing My Religion». Особенно песня пользуется успехом среди альтернативных и метал-групп. Предлагаем лично насладиться наиболее интересными кавер-версиями.

Интересные факты

  • «Losing My Religion» добилась огромного успеха. Композиция вошла в список «500 песен, сформировавших рок-н-ролл», и именно благодаря ей сам альбом возглавил чарты по обе стороны Атлантики и разошёлся тиражом свыше 18 миллионов экземпляров по всему миру.
  • В записи трека участвовали приглашённые музыканты, включая целый симфонический оркестр Атланты.

  • Несмотря на то что сам автор песни объяснил её смысл в одном из интервью, поклонники по сей день пытаются найти в «Losing My Religion» тайное значение. Так, некоторые полагают, что Майкл Стайп поёт в этом проникновенном хите о себе.
  • Сегодня песня является визитной карточкой «R.E.M.». С трудом верится, что в далёком 1991-м продюсеры чуть не забраковали этот шедевр.

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...
Похожие статьи

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...