Date:

Author:
Category:

On the Kennedy Centre Prize and the best performances in its history

Throughout the history of the Kennedy Centre Honors, there have been a ton of top-notch and truly talented performers on its stage! Today, we take a look at the best award performances.

Kennedy Centre Prize: to whom it is awarded and for what merit, best speeches

Kennedy Centre Prize - A prestigious annual award that honours performers for their contribution to cultural development of the United States. The history of the award dates back to the sunset 70-хwhen the first ceremony was held. The event usually concludes with a gala concert at the Kennedy Center Opera House in Washington, D.C., in the presence of the President of the United States. Throughout its history. "Kennedy Centre Honors" has hosted a host of top-notch performers. Today we take a look at some of the best performances at the awards.

A bit of history

Kennedy Center Honors logo.
Kennedy Center Honors logo.

This award was founded by the American film director George Stevens, Jr. and a dancer Nick Vanoff. The first gala concert was held at 1978-мand the first presenter was the composer Leonard Bernstein. He was succeeded a year later Erik Sevareidfollowed by an opera singer. Beverly Sills. From 1981 to 2002, guests were hosted Walter Cronkitewhose post was taken over Caroline Kennedy - she was a presenter from 2003 to 2012. In 2018 and in 2021, this honourable position went to a singer of Cuban origin Gloria Estefan.

Photo from Kennedy Centre Honors
Photo from Kennedy Centre Honors

A curious feature "Kennedy Centre Honors" is that the show is not broadcast live. Except for some sites with private access. As a rule, a two-hour edited version of the show is aired - this is done as part of the CBS after Christmas.

How the selection process works

The Kennedy Center Opera House in Washington, D.C.
The Kennedy Center Opera House in Washington, D.C.

To select applicants for the prize "Kennedy Centre Honors" A special committee has been set up, comprising several members of the Board of Trustees as well as past winners and outstanding artists. Nominees are chosen on the basis of their achievements in music and other arts. Elections usually take place between mid-summer and early autumn.

Best Performances

Kennedy Center Opera House in Washington, D.C., photo inside
The Kennedy Center Opera House in Washington, D.C., photo inside

Having familiarised myself with the history "Kennedy Centre Honors"We would like to recall the most striking and memorable performances at the awards.

2012 was remembered for a heartfelt performance by the American-Canadian rock band "Heart."who sang the famous hit "Stairway to Heaven" British rockers "Led Zeppelin.". There is real magic on stage, and tears came to the eyes of the Zeppelin members. This is one of the most touching and at the same time the most dynamic performances in the history of the award! Goosebumps go all over your body while watching it. You can feel that more than one soul was put into this little show.

The most memorable performance 2013 was an entire mini-show dedicated to the iconic guitar virtuoso Carlos Santana. Various artists performed legendary works such as "Black Magic Woman," "Oye Como Va," Buddy Guy's "I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man."as well as "Everybody's Everything". By all appearances, Santana was pleased with the evening!

В 2014 on the Kennedy Center Honors stage. Bruno Mars. The Hawaiian musician performed "So Lonely" и "Message In a Bottle" - band hits "The Police". The fact is that in 2014 Sting was awarded the Kennedy Centre Prize for his contributions to American culture.

2014 was also remembered by Kennedy Centre Honors guests for a performance by the charming Jennifer Hudson. The singer performed "Simply Beautiful."thereby honouring To Elu Green.who wrote the song back in 1972. Hudson literally tore the souls of the audience into a million little shards, putting incredible energy into her performance.

A particularly outstanding performance was made by 2015. That's when she took the stage Aretha Franklin. The Queen of Soul performed "(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman."paying tribute Carole King and brought Barack Obama to tears. King cried and admired Aretha's performance at the same time.

В 2019 one of the highlights "Kennedy Centre Honors" was the performance Ne-Yo. Winner of three Grammy Awards, the singer gave the audience real magic by performing two gorgeous compositions: "Shining Star." и "Sing a Song.". As always, it was not without tears. Although it is impossible to do otherwise in art, especially in music: in fact, during his performance, the artist exposes his soul in front of thousands of people....

Also performing on stage in 2019 was. John Legend - a popular American singer performed a heartfelt song "Can't Hide Love".

Speeches Ne-Yo и John Legend were part of a tribute "Earth, Wind & Fire" - American band that played in the genres of rhythm and blues, soul, funk, jazz, disco, and rock. The band was founded in 1969 in Chicago. The most interesting thing is that it still exists today! It's fascinating to see how people dedicated to creativity make it through the decades and stay true to their passion!

LEAVE ANSWER

Please enter your comment!
please enter your name here

97 - = 93

'Pretty Woman With A Secret': Debbie Harry's 'Blondie' Secrets She Long Hid From Fans

Debbie Harry: facts about her personal life and career Debbie Harry is unfortunately a rarity: a surviving 78-year-old punk scene icon whose career developed during the era of...

Yuri Antonov - The Hardest Idol: Antics and Scandals That Made Producers Walk Away From the Master

Yuri Antonov: character, scandals, antics Recently, producer Sergey Lavrov said that Yuri Antonov is the most difficult, capricious and wayward maestro of the domestic variety, with whom he...

Ekaterina Batrakova: "A good half of academic musicians listen to good rock"

Ekaterina Batrakova - interview: about career and plans for the future The correspondent of Fuzz Music talked to the rock singer Katya Batrakova, whose songs have repeatedly hit the...
Recommended

'Sausages and lollies - anything goes': the weirdest things fans have thrown on stage

Strange things that fans have thrown on stage during concerts Many people would love to be a rock or pop star, as the life of an artiste is always sweet. Do you have ...

3.5 million people: who owns the biggest concert in history

3.5 million people - the biggest concert in music history What's cooler than a live concert? Listening to a record by your favourite artist is one thing. But...

Top 5 highlights of live performances by Tim Buckley, the folk star who faded too soon

Tim Buckley: biography and best live performances No folk musician in history has ever thrown his shabby guitar into the passenger seat of, say, a Ferrari. The genre,...

Monterey Festival: How the 1967 Summer of Love's main concert went down

All about the Monterey Music Festival: history, bands and significance In the 60's, when people were still not fully accepting the changes in the world and music,...

One of the first Western rock bands to visit the USSR - Nitty Gritty Dirt Band in the Land of the Soviets: what it was like

How the American Nitty Gritty Dirt Band managed to perform in the USSR during the Cold War period Founded in California in 1966, the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band...

Sonic Youth in the USSR - how it was: unique footage and memories of the participants

Sonic Youth performance in the USSR: history of the band, impressions about the concert, interesting facts The band Sonic Youth was formed in New York in 1981. Its members were...

Modern Talking's first television appearance in Europe and the USSR

Modern Talking's first appearance in the USSR and Europe Modern Talking to this day remain one of the most famous Eurodance bands of the 80s, who brought the world of music with danceable netlensions....

The 1975 incident after which Led Zeppelin was banned from performing in Boston

Why Led Zeppelin was banned from performing in Boston in 1975 It's undeniable: Led Zeppelin is one of the greatest rock bands in history. Despite the fact that...

UB40 in the USSR: what the reggae band did to tour behind the Iron Curtain

The story of the tour of "British reggae kings" UB40 in the Soviet Union In the distant year of 1986, a loud and almost unthinkable event took place in the Soviet Union: behind the Iron Curtain....

Дата:

Автор:
Категория:

О премии Центра Кеннеди и лучших выступлениях за всю её историю

За всю историю существования «Kennedy Center Honors» на её сцене выступила масса первоклассных и поистине талантливых исполнителей! Сегодня мы рассмотрим лучшие выступления в рамках премии.

Премия Центра Кеннеди: кому присуждается и за какие заслуги, лучшие выступления

Премия Центра Кеннеди — престижная ежегодная премия, которая вручается исполнителям за вклад в развитие культуры Соединённых Штатов. История премии берёт своё начало на закате 70-х, когда прошла первая церемония. Как правило, завершается мероприятие гала-концертом в Оперном театре Кеннеди-центра в Вашингтоне в присутствии президента Соединённых Штатов. За всю историю существования «Kennedy Center Honors» на её сцене выступила масса первоклассных исполнителей. Сегодня мы рассмотрим лучшие выступления в рамках премии.

Немного истории

Логотип «Kennedy Center Honors»
Логотип «Kennedy Center Honors»

Данная премия была основана американским режиссёром Джорджем Стивенсом-младшим и танцором Ником Ваноффом. Первый гала-концерт прошёл в 1978-м, а первым ведущим стал композитор Леонард Бернстайн. Годом позже его сменил Эрик Севарейд, а за ним последовала оперная певица Беверли Силлс. С 1981 по 2002 год гостей принимал Уолтер Кронкайт, пост которого перешёл Кэролайн Кеннеди — она была ведущей с 2003 по 2012 год. В 2018 и в 2021 году эта почётная должность досталась певице кубинского происхождения Глории Эстефан.

Фото с «Kennedy Center Honors»
Фото с «Kennedy Center Honors»

Любопытной особенностью «Kennedy Center Honors» является то, что шоу не транслируется в прямом эфире. Разве что за исключением некоторых площадок с приватным доступом. В эфир, как правило, выходит уже отредактированная двухчасовая версия — происходит это в рамках CBS уже после Рождества.

Как происходит процесс отбора

Оперный театр Кеннеди-центра в Вашингтоне
Оперный театр Кеннеди-центра в Вашингтоне

Для отбора претендентов на премию «Kennedy Center Honors» был создан специальный комитет: в его состав входит несколько членов Попечительского совета, а также прошлые лауреаты и выдающиеся артисты. Номинантов выбирают, отталкиваясь от их достижений в музыке и прочих видов искусства. Как правило, выборы проходят с середины лета по начало осени.

Лучшие выступления

Оперный театр Кеннеди центра в Вашингтоне, фото внутри
Оперный театр Кеннеди-центра в Вашингтоне, фото внутри

Ознакомившись с историей «Kennedy Center Honors», предлагаем вспомнить наиболее яркие и запоминающиеся выступления на премии.

2012 год запомнился проникновенным выступлением американо-канадской рок-группы «Heart», которая исполнила знаменитый хит «Stairway to Heaven» британских рокеров «Led Zeppelin». На сцене царит настоящее волшебство, а на глазах участников «Zeppelin» наворачиваются слёзы. Это одно из самых трогательных и в тот же момент самых динамичных выступлений за всю историю премии! Во время просмотра мурашки идут по всему телу. Ощущается, что в это маленькое шоу вложили не одну душу.

Наиболее запоминающимся выступлением 2013 года стало целое мини-шоу, посвящённое культовому гитаристу-виртуозу Карлосу Сантане. В исполнении разных артистов со сцены прозвучали легендарные произведения, такие как «Black Magic Woman», «Oye Como Va», «I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man» Бадди Гая, а также «Everybody’s Everything». По всей видимости, Сантана остался доволен вечером!

В 2014 году на сцене «Kennedy Center Honors» выступил Бруно Марс. Гавайский музыкант исполнил «So Lonely» и «Message In a Bottle» — хиты группы «The Police». Дело в том, что в 2014-м Стинг был удостоен премии Центра Кеннеди за вклад в американскую культуру.

2014-й также запомнился гостям «Kennedy Center Honors» по выступлению очаровательной Дженнифер Хадсон. Певица исполнила «Simply Beautiful», тем самым отдав дань уважения Элу Грину, который написал эту композицию в далёком 1972-м. Хадсон буквально разорвала души присутствующих на миллион мелких осколков, вложив в выступление невероятную энергию.

Особенно ярким выступлением отметился 2015 год. Тогда на сцену вышла сама Арета Франклин. Королева соула исполнила «(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman», отдав дань уважения Кэрол Кинг и доведя до слёз Барака Обаму. Кинг плакала и восхищалась выступлением Ареты одновременно.

В 2019 году одним из самых ярких моментов «Kennedy Center Honors» стало выступление Ne-Yo. Обладатель трёх премии «Грэмми», певец подарил публике настоящее волшебство, исполнив две роскошные композиции: «Shining Star» и «Sing a Song». Без слёз, как всегда, не обошлось. Хотя по-другому в искусстве, особенно в музыкальном, и невозможно: по сути, во время своего выступления артист обнажает свою душу перед тысячами людей…

Также в 2019 году на сцене выступил Джон Ледженд — популярный американский певец исполнил проникновенную композицию «Can’t Hide Love».

Выступления Ne-Yo и Джона Ледженда стали частью трибьюта «Earth, Wind & Fire» — американской группы, которая играла в жанрах ритм-энд-блюз, соул, фанк, джаз, диско, рок. Коллектив был основан в 1969 году в Чикаго. Самое интересное то, что он существует и сегодня! Это восхищает — как люди, преданные творчеству, проходят сквозь десятилетия и остаются верны своей страсти!

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

1 + 7 =

«Красотка с Секретом»: Тайны «Блонди» Дебби Харри, Которые Она Долго Скрывала от Фанатов

Дебби Харри: факты о личной жизни и карьере Дебби Харри, к сожалению, является редкостью: дожившая до 78 лет икона панк-сцены, чья карьера развивалась в эпоху...

Юрий Антонов – Самый «Тяжёлый» Кумир: Выходки и Скандалы, из-за Которых Продюсеры Обходят Мэтра Стороной

Юрий Антонов: характер, скандалы, выходки Недавно продюсер Сергей Лавров заявил, что Юрий Антонов – самый тяжёлый, капризный и своенравный мэтр отечественной эстрады, с которым ему...

Екатерина Батракова: «Добрая половина академических музыкантов слушает хороший рок»

Екатерина Батракова – интервью: о карьере и планах на будущее Корреспондент издания «Fuzz Music» пообщался с набирающей известность рок-исполнительницей Катей Батраковой, песни которой неоднократно попадали...
Рекомендуем

«Сосиски и леденцы – всё идёт в ход»: самые странные вещи, которые фанаты бросали на сцену

Странные вещи, которые фанаты бросали на сцену во время концертов Многие хотели бы быть рок- или поп-звездой, ведь жизнь артиста всегда сладка. У вас есть...

3,5 миллиона человек: кому принадлежит самый большой концерт в истории

3,5 миллиона человек – самый большой концерт за всю историю музыки Что может быть круче живого концерта? Послушать пластинку любимого артиста – одно. А вот...

Топ-5 ярких живых выступлений Тима Бакли, фолк-звезды, которая угасла слишком рано

Тим Бакли: биография и лучшие живые выступления Ни один фолк-музыкант в истории никогда не бросал свою потрёпанную гитару на пассажирское сиденье, скажем, Ferrari. Этот жанр,...

Фестиваль в Монтерее: как прошёл главный концерт «лета любви» 1967 года

Всё о фестивале музыки в Монтерее: история, группы и значение В 60-х годах, когда люди ещё не до конца принимали изменения в мире и музыке,...

Одна из первых западных рок-групп, посетившая СССР – Nitty Gritty Dirt Band в стране Советов: как это было

Как американской группе Nitty Gritty Dirt Band удалось выступить в СССР в период холодной войны Основанная в Калифорнии в 1966 году, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band...

Sonic Youth в СССР – как это было: уникальные кадры и воспоминания участников

Выступление Sonic Youth в СССР: история группы, впечатления о концерте, интересные факты Группа Sonic Youth была сформирована в Нью-Йорке в 1981 году. Ее участниками стали...

Первое появление Modern Talking на телевидении в Европе и СССР

Первое появление Modern Talking в СССР и Европе Modern Talking по сей день остаются одной из известнейших евродэнс-групп 80-х, принёсших в мир музыки танцевальные нетленки...

Инцидент 1975 года, после которого Led Zeppelin было запрещено выступать в Бостоне

Из-за чего в 1975 году Led Zeppelin запретили выступать в Бостоне Бесспорно: Led Zeppelin – одна из величайших рок-групп в истории. Несмотря на то, что...

UB40 в СССР: на что пошёл регги-коллектив ради тура за железным занавесом

История гастролей «британских королей регги» UB40 в Советском Союзе В далёком 1986 году произошло событие громкое и практически немыслимое для Советского Союза: за железный занавес...