Author:
Category:

Moby "Play": the story of the hit album that should have been his last

Today, "Play" is the first album to have all tracks licensed for use in movies, TV shows or commercials. The record influenced many artists, including British singer Adele.

Moby "Play" (1999) - history of creation, interesting facts, video clips

Play - the fifth studio album by the DJ Moby, which almost became the musician's last record. He came out in the spring 1999 year, but recording began two years before release.

At first, "Play" showed a weak commercial success, but a month later it reached the first line of a number of charts, becoming platinum in more than 20 countries around the world! For Moby himself, the fifth studio work was both a critical success and a commercial phenomenon. Many tracks from the disc became hits that did not stop for many years. Songs from "Play" were widely used in films, advertising, TV shows, media. As a result, the "last record" has become the best-selling electronic album in history: the world circulation is over 12 million copies!

History of creation

Moby
Moby

Play can rightly be called unique work in electronic music. The album included 18 tracks, and the rights were acquired by TV people, advertisers and directors for everything!

Moby
Moby

Today Play awarded all the most prestigious laurels: the album is included in the famous list 500 Greatest Records of All Time according to the influential music magazine "Rolling Stone. However, after its release, it did not have commercial success, and the tracks did not even want to be played on the radio. The reason for this is a failed punk release Animal Rights 1996 of the year. Then Moby decided to move away from the usual electronic sound, and it became a mistake. Yes, rock monsters praised his efforts, but former fans turned their backs on the DJ. So “Play” was kind of an attempt to get back the public recognition. In my own words Richard Hall (real name of the musician), he planned to record the last album and retire. In his plans was the study of architecture. However, to everyone's surprise Play began to show incredible commercial results.

List of tracks

Moby
Moby

We invite you to personally enjoy the splendor Play - below is the complete list of tracks from the album. We also recommend that you pay special attention to the great video clips shot for singles.

Honey

"Find My Baby"

"Porcelain"

Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?

"South Side"

Rushing

body rock

"Natural Blues"

Machete

"7"

"Run On"

Down Slow

"If Things Were Perfect"

"Everloving"

"Inside"

"Guitar Flute & String"

"The Sky Is Broken"

"My Weakness"

A curious fact: the album included 18 tracks, but, according to Hall, there were about two hundred of them! The fact is that many compositions were punk, and therefore, given the failure "Animal Rights", they had to be abandoned:

“Some of the tracks were punk, others were heavy techno… There were also a lot of experimental records. But we decided not to risk it. Today they have accumulated a significant amount, so I'm even thinking of releasing a separate punk album! The only thing is that they need to be improved a little, ”says Moby.

Release, promotion, success

Moby
Moby

The album was released in May 1999 of the year. As mentioned above, at first its sales figures were rather sad. But suddenly, at some point, its circulation crossed the mark of 10 million copies! And today it seems funny, but then Moby and his manager prayed that "Play" sales would catch up with at least a few hundred thousand. Three singles were released in support of the disc, but they did not affect its promotion in any way. Radio stations refused to rotate the tracks, and music magazines refused to listen to them at all. Fortunately, an independent label Mute did not give up, even when almost a year had passed since the release. The company did its best to promote the "rejected" record, and it was to her Play owes its success.

Many years later, Moby gave an interview in which he admitted that he still does not understand how Play suddenly became popular. The disc really remained in the shadows for a long time, but today they talk about it as the most successful release of the American DJ. His next works could not beat the success of "Play", despite the fact that he himself Richard Hall treated them much more seriously in the process of creation.

Popularity Secret

Moby
Moby

Success Play unique and really surprising - at first nothing, and then all the laurels! In an interview Moby told how he had to play in the basement of a music store so that customers could hear his new album and maybe want to buy it. Sometimes he played for forty people, sometimes for ten.

The promotion also included appearances as the opening act for American rock bands. Then there was grief, a lot of alcohol, unconsciousness ... And then one fine day Richard the manager called and said: "We are number one in Britain!" Since then, the album's popularity has only grown.

Movies also played an important role in promoting the release. DJ agents literally bombarded advertising agencies and film studios with offers, which is why today many tracks from Play well known to listeners thanks to television.

"I just wanted to release tracks that I like and that my friends will probably like," commented Hall.

Impact

Adele
Adele

Today Play is the first album from which all tracks are licensed for use in films, television shows or commercials. The record influenced many artists, including the British singer Adele. One day she said:

“My mother introduced me to this record. I remember immediately thinking: “God, there is something unearthly in these tracks ...” Every time I listen to “Play”, I feel alive!”

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:

Категория:

Moby «Play»: история хитового альбома, который должен был стать последним

Сегодня «Play» является первым альбомом, все треки из которого лицензированы для использования в фильмах, телешоу или рекламных роликах. Пластинка оказала влияние на многих артистов, включая британскую певицу Адель.

Moby «Play» (1999) – история создания, интересные факты, видеоклипы

«Play» — пятый студийный альбом диджея Moby, который чуть не стал последней пластинкой музыканта. Вышел он весной 1999 года, однако запись началась ещё за два года до выпуска.

Поначалу «Play» показывал слабый коммерческий успех, но уже спустя месяц добрался до первой строчки ряда чартов, став платиновым в более чем 20 странах мира! Для самого Moby пятая студийная работа стала одновременно критическим успехом и коммерческим явлением. Многие треки с диска стали хитами, которые не смолкали на протяжении многих лет. Композиции из «Play» широко использовались в фильмах, рекламе, телешоу, СМИ. В результате «последняя пластинка» превратилась в самый продаваемый электронный альбом в истории: мировой тираж составляет свыше 12 миллионов копий!

История создания

Moby
Moby

«Play» по праву можно назвать уникальной работой в электронной музыке. В альбом вошло 18 треков, и на все были приобретены права телевизионщиками, рекламщиками и режиссёрами!

Moby
Moby

Сегодня «Play» удостоен всех самых престижных лавров: альбом входит в знаменитый список 500 величайших пластинок всех времён по версии влиятельного музыкального журнала «Rolling Stone». Однако после выпуска он не имел коммерческого успеха, а треки даже не хотели крутить по радио. Виной тому — провальный панк-релиз «Animal Rights» 1996 года. Тогда Moby решил отойти от привычного электронного звучания, и это стало ошибкой. Да, рок-монстры похвалили его старания, но прежние поклонники отвернулись от диджея. Так что «Play» был своего рода попыткой вернуть былое признание публики. По собственным словам Ричарда Холла (настоящее имя музыканта), он планировал записать последний альбом и уйти на покой. В его планах было изучение архитектуры. Однако неожиданно для всех «Play» начал показывать невероятные коммерческие результаты.

Список треков

Moby
Moby

Предлагаем лично насладиться великолепием «Play» — ниже представлен полный список треков из альбома. Также рекомендуем обратить особенное внимание на великолепные видеоклипы, снятые на синглы.

«Honey»

«Find My Baby»

«Porcelain»

«Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?»

«South Side»

«Rushing»

«Bodyrock»

«Natural Blues»

«Machete»

«7»

«Run On»

«Down Slow»

«If Things Were Perfect»

«Everloving»

«Inside»

«Guitar Flute & String»

«The Sky Is Broken»

«My Weakness»

Любопытный факт: в альбом вошло 18 треков, но, по словам самого Холла, их было порядка двухсот! Дело в том, что многие композиции были панковыми, а потому, учитывая провал «Animal Rights», от них пришлось отказаться:

«Одни треки были панковыми, другие в стиле тяжёлого техно… Также было очень много экспериментальных записей. Но мы решили не рисковать. Сегодня их накопилось существенное количество, так что я даже думаю выпустить отдельный панк-альбом! Единственное — их нужно немного доработать», — рассказывает Moby.

Выпуск, продвижение, успех

Moby
Moby

Альбом увидел свет в мае 1999 года. Как уже было сказано выше, поначалу показатели его продаж были довольно печальными. Но внезапно в какой-то момент его тираж перешагнул отметку в 10 миллионов копий! И сегодня это кажется забавным, но тогда Moby и его менеджер молились, чтобы продажи «Play» догнали хотя бы несколько сотен тысяч. В поддержку диска было выпущено три сингла, однако они никак не повлияли на его продвижение. Радиостанции отказывались ротировать треки, а музыкальные журналы — вообще их слушать. К счастью, независимый лейбл «Mute» не сдавался, даже когда с момента релиза прошёл почти год. Компания всеми силами продвигала «забракованную» пластинку, и именно ей «Play» обязан своим успехом.

Спустя много лет Moby дал интервью, в котором признался, что до сих пор не понимает, как «Play» внезапно стал популярным. Диск действительно долго оставался в тени, но сегодня о нём говорят как о самом удачном релизе американского диджея. Следующие его работы не смогли побить успех «Play», несмотря на то, что сам Ричард Холл относился к ним гораздо более серьёзно в процессе создания.

Секрет популярности

Moby
Moby

Успех «Play» уникален и действительно удивляет — поначалу ничего, а потом все лавры! В интервью Moby рассказывал, как ему приходилось играть в подвале музыкального магазина, чтобы посетители могли услышать его новый альбом и, возможно, захотели его купить. Иногда он играл для сорока человек, иногда для десяти.

Продвижение также включало в себя выступления на разогреве у американских рок-групп. Затем было огорчение, много алкоголя, беспамятство… И вот в один прекрасный день Ричарду позвонил менеджер и сказал: «Мы на первом месте в Британии!» С тех пор популярность альбома только росла.

Важную роль в продвижении релиза сыграли и фильмы. Агенты диджея буквально засыпали рекламные агентства и киностудии предложениями, из-за чего сегодня многие треки из «Play» прекрасно известны слушателям благодаря телевидению.

«Я просто хотел выпустить треки, которые нравятся мне и которые, наверно, понравятся моим друзьям», — прокомментировал Холл.

Влияние

Адель
Адель

Сегодня «Play» является первым альбомом, все треки из которого лицензированы для использования в фильмах, телешоу или рекламных роликах. Пластинка оказала влияние на многих артистов, включая британскую певицу Адель. Однажды она сказала:

«С этой пластинкой меня познакомила мать. Помню, я сразу подумала: «Боже, в этих треках есть что-то неземное…» Каждый раз, когда я слушаю «Play», я чувствую себя живой!»

10kFollowers

Сочетание силы и утончённой красоты – вспоминаем Томми Болина

Вспоминаем Томми Болина, одну из самых молодых легенд гитары Во время последнего живого выступления Томми Болина на разогреве у Джеффа Бека, 3 декабря 1976 года,...

Тони Айомми – легенда тяжёлого звука и просто «самый крутой ребёнок на блоке»

Тони Айомми и секрет его легендарно известного стиля игры Человек в чёрном, чьё уникальное звучание восходит к несчастному случаю – Тони Айомми переписал историю рока,...

«Истерия»: как Def Leppard довели мир до безумия

История альбома «Hysteria» – культовой классики Def Leppard Пластинка «Hysteria», наполненная хитами, по-прежнему считается определяющим моментом в карьере Def Leppard и остаётся такой же актуальной...

Похожие статьи

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...