Date:

Author:
Category:

Why Prince loved the colour purple so much

Prince or not, there was something truly royal about that star, and that seemed to be part of why he liked wearing the colour purple so much...

Why Prince loved the colour purple, and wore it all the time

What makes you the real you musical icon? Well, some of the same factors that can contribute to success in any walk of life: charisma, motivation, talent, opportunity, a chance fateful encounter that can also change the course of someone's life... However, it's not just about that. To truly stand the test of time and become a pop culture legend, it takes particular person. A sense of style. Those rare musicians who reach the very pinnacle of success have something special. They have a commanding look and an image that literally puts the audience in a trance.....

No doubt about it: Prince was an icon in the truest sense of the word. In January 1997, in an interview, emphasising his then identity as an artist known as a The Prince of Pophe put his hand round his luxurious property and said:

"As you can see, I'm not broke as rumoured."

Prince
Prince

By then, he had sold over 100 million records around the world, cementing his legendary status. Prince or not, there was something truly royal about that star, and that seemed to be part of why he enjoyed wearing it so much purple colour. So much so that some fans have even nicknamed him that: 'Purple'.

A little backstory: why Tyrrh purple is such an expensive hue

The film Purple Rain.
The film Purple Rain.

The world's nobility, royalty and other dignitaries tend to have a taste for the finer things in this life. This luxury is often associated with travelling in higher circles as, historically, the rich like to dress in purple.

Chief Librarian Smithsonian Cooper Hewitt Museum of Design, Jennifer Coleman Bracchi, explained the reasons for this association and how long ago it occurred. The fact is that the colouring agent known as Tyrian purplewas something more special than simple combinations of blue and red colours. Tyrian purple is reported to date back to the Phoenicians in 1200 BC. Snail slime was used to create this rare hue, and the process was so painstaking and expensive that it seems only the upper classes were worthy of it.

Prince.
Prince.

According to history, the leaders of the Byzantine Empire literally lived in Tyrian purple: they wore clothes of this colour, decorated their houses with it and so on. And some Roman emperors even forbade their men to wear this colour! But that was kind of silly and pointless. They didn't really have anything to worry about - Tyrian purple was so rare that only its shade was honoured, and its production was so expensive that the average worker could buy only a small amount of wool on his annual wage. What are we talking about?

To produce an ounce of dye required about 250,000 sea snails Bolinus brandariswhich made it clear that it was the very last word in luxury. Prince, being a superstar himself, seems to have loved purple for that reason. And his half-sister later confirmed it.

Not one, but two: whether Prince liked the colour yellow.

Prince
Prince

You may not have known, but Prince's name was his real name: Prince Rogers Nelson Was born in 1958 and grew up in Minneapolis to an African American family. Subsequently, he became a star attracting worldwide attention and it seems that his great love for wearing the colour purple is due to the royal image he created for himself.

In August 2017, already after the star's death, his half-sister Sharon Nelson discussed the topic. She stated that wearing purple "always made him feel like a prince," going on to say that "he especially loved the colour purple because it represented royalty." However, Nelson also noted that her brother had room in his heart for other colours. And perhaps for devoted fans who used to associate Prince's name with the "Purple."it became more than just a rant....

Prince
Prince

Tika Nelson - the musician's own sister, who visited the exhibition after his tragic death. "My name is Prince." (which opened in London in October 2017 and displayed a lot of memorabilia belonging to the icon). Among the rarities was a guitar Cloudwhich Prince used in his most famous performances... The models came in a variety of colours, but the most notable one was the bright yellow an instrument of which Tika said the following:

"It's weird because people always associate purple with my brother, but actually his favourite colour was yellow. Well, or at least it was another one of his favourite colours."

Prince's legendary guitar
Prince's legendary guitar

Sadly, the music maestro himself is no longer around to settle the dispute, but this statement is pretty much in line with that vibrant lifethat he was leading.

LEAVE ANSWER

Please enter your comment!
please enter your name here

43 + = 49

'Pretty Woman With A Secret': Debbie Harry's 'Blondie' Secrets She Long Hid From Fans

Debbie Harry: facts about her personal life and career Debbie Harry is unfortunately a rarity: a surviving 78-year-old punk scene icon whose career developed during the era of...

Yuri Antonov - The Hardest Idol: Antics and Scandals That Made Producers Walk Away From the Master

Yuri Antonov: character, scandals, antics Recently, producer Sergey Lavrov said that Yuri Antonov is the most difficult, capricious and wayward maestro of the domestic variety, with whom he...

Ekaterina Batrakova: "A good half of academic musicians listen to good rock"

Ekaterina Batrakova - interview: about career and plans for the future The correspondent of Fuzz Music talked to the rock singer Katya Batrakova, whose songs have repeatedly hit the...
Recommended

'Pretty Woman With A Secret': Debbie Harry's 'Blondie' Secrets She Long Hid From Fans

Debbie Harry: facts about her personal life and career Debbie Harry is unfortunately a rarity: a surviving 78-year-old punk scene icon whose career developed during the era of...

"Men Who Sing": Patrick Swayze, Bradley Cooper - Actors Who Have Performed Loud Hits

Actors who have performed hits: names, clips, facts Many actors are very bright and versatile personalities! They make us laugh to tears or tremble to goosebumps, but besides...

Brigitte Bardot: Four Marriages, Lonely Old Age - And Not a Drop of Regret

Brigitte Bardot: personal life, relationships and husbands In her youth, Brigitte Bardot was one of the most beautiful women in France - as, in fact, and the world cinema in...

What Lolita Milyavskaya is grateful to Pugacheva for

Lolita Milyavskaya and Alla Pugacheva: friendship, relationship, photos To call Lolita and Alla Borisovna girlfriends - somehow the language does not turn. Let the relationship between them always and...

Maksim and His Brother Dmitry Galkin - When the Apple Has Fallen Far From the Apple Tree

Maxim Galkin* and his brother Dmitry: biography, photos and facts Often children repeat their parents at an already realised age - their actions, their aspirations,... И...

Yuri Antonov: "Broken Zhiguli and a flat in Vykhino" - What the Artist Spent His Millions on, and How Much He's Ready to Perform for Today

Yuri Antonov: royalties, wealth, fortune Yachts, houses, business class cars... Yes, the sweet life of today's artists can only be envied, because they are literally like cheese in...

Artists Who Russians Respect and Are Ashamed of in 2023

Russia's most respected and most hated artists 2023 Over the past 2 years a lot has changed in the domestic show business. If before the beginning of the SWO the charts were dominated by such...

'He's a tumour': How Brigitte Bardot Ruined Relationship with Son

Brigitte Bardot's son: biography, relations with his mother, photos It's no secret that there are people who would rather leave all their inheritance to their "favourite dog" than to their relatives. And they...

How Kevin from Home Alone came to be.

The fate of Macaulay Culkin, Kevin from Home Alone Macaulay Culkin witnessed early on how childhood fame can be a curse. When "Home Alone" came out in 1990, it was...

Дата:

Автор:
Категория:

Почему Принс так сильно любил пурпурный цвет

Принц или нет, в этой звезде было что-то воистину королевское, и это, кажется, было частью того, почему ему так нравилось носить пурпурный цвет...

Почему Принс любил пурпурный цвет, и постоянно носил его

Что делает вас настоящей музыкальной иконой? Ну, некоторые из тех же факторов, которые могут способствовать успеху на любом жизненном пути: харизма, мотивация, талант, возможности, случайная судьбоносная встреча, которая также может изменить ход чьей-то жизни… Однако речь идёт не только об этом. Чтобы по-настоящему выдержать испытание временем и стать легендой поп-культуры, нужна определённая личность. Чувство стиля. У тех редких музыкантов, которые достигают самой вершины успеха, есть что-то особенное. У них властный вид и образ, который буквально вводит публику в транс…

Вне всякого сомнения: Принс был иконой в прямом смысле этого слова. В январе 1997 года в интервью, подчёркивая свою тогдашнюю личность художника, известного как Принц поп-музыки, он обвёл рукой свою роскошную собственность и сказал:

«Как видите, я не разорился, как ходят слухи».

Принс
Принс

К тому времени он продал более 100 миллионов пластинок по всему миру, что закрепило за ним легендарный статус. Принц или нет, в этой звезде было что-то воистину королевское, и это, кажется, было частью того, почему ему так нравилось носить пурпурный цвет. Настолько, что некоторые поклонники даже прозвали его так: «Purple».

Немного предыстории: почему тирский пурпур – такой дорогой оттенок

Фильм «Пурпурный дождь» (на фото Принс)
Фильм «Пурпурный дождь» (на фото Принс)

Мировая знать, члены королевских семей и другие высокопоставленные лица склонны иметь вкус к лучшим вещам в этой жизни. Эта склонность к роскоши часто связана с путешествиями в более высоких кругах, поскольку, как исторически сложилось, богачам нравится облачаться в пурпурный цвет.

Главный библиотекарь Смитсоновского музея дизайна Купера Хьюита, Дженнифер Колман Бракки, объяснила причины этой ассоциации и то, как давно она возникла. Дело в том, что краситель, известный как тирский пурпур, был чем-то более особенным, чем простые комбинации синего и красного цветов. Сообщается, что тирский пурпур восходит к финикийцам 1200 г. до н.э. Для создания этого редкого оттенка использовалась слизь улиток, и процесс создания был настолько кропотливым и дорогостоящим, что, кажется, его достойны были только высшие слои общества.

Принс (Prince)
Принс (Prince)

Согласно истории, лидеры Византийской империи буквально жили в тирском пурпуре: они носили одежду этого цвета, украшали дома им и так далее. А некоторые римские императоры даже запретили своим людям носить этот цвет! Но это было в какой-то степени глупо и бессмысленно. На самом деле им не о чем было беспокоиться – тирский пурпур был такой редкостью, что почитался только его оттенок, и его производство было настолько дорогостоящим, что на годовую зарплату средний рабочий мог купить лишь небольшое количество шерсти. О чём речь?

Для производства унции красителя требовалось около 250 000 морских улиток Болинус брандарис, что давало понять, что это было самое последнее слово в роскоши. Принс, сам будучи суперзвездой, похоже, полюбил пурпурный именно по этой причине. И впоследствии его сводная сестра подтвердила это.

Не один, а сразу два: любил ли Принс жёлтый цвет

Принс
Принс

Вы могли не знать, но имя Принса было его настоящим именем: Принс Роджерс Нельсон родился в 1958 году и вырос в Миннеаполисе в семье афроамериканцев. Впоследствии он стал звездой, привлекающей внимание всего мира, и кажется, что его большая любовь к ношению пурпурного цвета связана с королевским образом, который он создал для себя.

В августе 2017 года, уже после смерти звезды, его сводная сестра Шэрон Нельсон обсуждала эту тему. Она заявила, что ношение пурпурного «всегда заставляло его чувствовать себя принцем», продолжая говорить, что «он особенно любил фиолетовый цвет, потому что он представлял королевскую власть». Однако Нельсон также отметила, что у её брата в сердце было место и для других цветов. И, наверное, для преданных поклонников, которые привыкли ассоциировать имя Принса с «Purple», это стало более чем просто громким заявлением…

Принс
Принс

Тика Нельсон – родная сестра музыканта, которая после его трагической смерти посетила выставку «Меня зовут Принц» (которая открылась в Лондоне в октябре 2017 года и продемонстрировала множество памятных вещей, принадлежащих иконе). Среди раритетов была гитара Cloud, которую Принс использовал в своих наиболее известных выступлениях… Модели были разных цветов, но наиболее примечательным оказался ярко-жёлтого инструмент, о котором Тика сказала следующее:

«Это странно, потому что люди всегда ассоциируют фиолетовый цвет с моим братом, но на самом деле его любимым цветом был жёлтый. Ну или, во всяком случае, он был ещё одним его любимым цветом».

Легендарная гитара Принса
Легендарная гитара Принса

К сожалению, самого музыкального маэстро больше нет рядом, чтобы урегулировать спор, но это заявление вполне соответствует той яркой жизни, которую он вёл.

Интервью с участниками группы Manapart

Группа Manapart: интервью и интересные факты Недавно мы рассказывали вам об интересной и удивительной российско-армянской рок-группе MANAPART, которая уже сегодня захватывает сердца фанатов тяжелой музыки...

Российско-армянский рок покоряет сердца: MANAPART выпустили новый альбом «Red»

Группа MANAPART представила новый альбом «Red». Почему его стоит послушать? Рок – штука удивительная! Он может быть «гламурным», южным, симфоническим... И даже российско-армянским! И если...

«Красотка с Секретом»: Тайны «Блонди» Дебби Харри, Которые Она Долго Скрывала от Фанатов

Дебби Харри: факты о личной жизни и карьере Дебби Харри, к сожалению, является редкостью: дожившая до 78 лет икона панк-сцены, чья карьера развивалась в эпоху...
Рекомендуем

«Красотка с Секретом»: Тайны «Блонди» Дебби Харри, Которые Она Долго Скрывала от Фанатов

Дебби Харри: факты о личной жизни и карьере Дебби Харри, к сожалению, является редкостью: дожившая до 78 лет икона панк-сцены, чья карьера развивалась в эпоху...

«Мужчины, Которые Поют»: Патрик Суэйзи, Брэдли Купер – Актёры, Исполнившие Громкие Хиты

Актёры, исполнившие хиты: имена, клипы, факты Многие актёры очень яркие и разносторонние личности! Они заставляют нас смеяться до слёз или трепетать до мурашек, но помимо...

Брижит Бардо: Четыре Замужества, Одинокая Старость – И Ни Капли Сожаления

Брижит Бардо: личная жизнь, отношения и мужья В молодости Брижит Бардо была одной из самых красивых женщин Франции – как, собственно, и мирового кинематографа в...

За Что Лолита Милявская Благодарна Пугачёвой

Лолита Милявская и Алла Пугачёва: дружба, отношения, фото Назвать Лолиту и Аллу Борисовну подружками – как-то язык не поворачивается. Пусть отношения между ними всегда и...

Максим и Его Брат Дмитрий Галкины* – Когда «Яблоко от Яблони» Всё же Далеко Упало

Максим Галкин* и его брат Дмитрий: биография, фото и факты Зачастую дети повторяют своих родителей в уже осознанном возрасте – их поступки, их стремления... И...

Юрий Антонов: «Сломанные Жигули и Квартирка в Выхино» – На Что Тратил Свои Миллионы Артист, и За Сколько Готов Выступить Сегодня

Юрий Антонов: гонорары, богатство, состояние Яхты, дома, автомобили бизнес-класса... Да, сладкой жизни сегодняшних артистов остаётся только позавидовать, ведь они в буквальном смысле как сыр в...

Артисты, Которых в 2023 году Россияне Уважают и За Которых Им Стыдно

Самые уважаемые и самые ненавистные артисты России 2023 За последние 2 года многое изменилось в отечественном шоу-бизнесе. Если до начала СВО в чартах доминировали такие...

«Он – опухоль»: Как Брижит Бардо Разрушила Отношения с Сыном

Сын Брижит Бардо: биография, отношения с матерью, фото Не секрет, что существуют люди, которые предпочтут оставить всё своё наследство «любимой собачке», нежели родственникам. И они...

Как Сложилась Судьба Кевина из «Один дома»

Судьба Маколея Калкина, Кевина из «Один дома» Маколей Калкин рано стал свидетелем того, как детская слава может быть проклятием. Когда в 1990 году вышел «Один...