Date:

Author:
Category:

The band Wolfmother, or "modern classic rock".

It's not about where something came from, it's about how it makes you feel right now. And Wolfmother's music is definitely something that is sorely lacking today....

How modern band Wolfmother brought classic rock back into fashion

Fans classic rock people often complain that nothing new worth listening to is released anymore. But this is not entirely true. Part of the blame for the fact that good modern rock music "doesn't reach" the public lies with the labels, which reject promising artists, and with the radio, which often ignores fresh releases in this direction. But part of the blame remains with the listeners themselves....

Remember yourself in your school and college years: you were trying your best to get new music, persevering in your endeavours, discovering a new artist or band with genuine curiosity... It's understandable that when we grow up, our head starts to "fill up" with completely different things, worldly. Yes and there is no time to listen to new releases - especially against the background of all the diversity, which today abounds in the boundless Internet ....

Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin

Of course, we love the rock stars of our youth, such as Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd.. And yet, the world does not stand still. We are not saying that modern rock bands can surprise us with something new - everything has long been played, sung and labelled as "classic". Yes, we agree with that statement. And yet, there is still some great material coming out that is also worth listening too, at least for the experience. That's true of the work Wolfmother - an Australian band that can transport you for a short while. back in the beautiful '70s.

Wolfmother: introduction to the band

Wolfmother
Wolfmother

Group Wolfmother was born on the rock scene in the early 2000s in Sydney, Australia. The band attracted attention quite quickly due to its unique (at least for its time), very beautiful and interesting sound: hard rock with elements of psychedelic and stoner rock. More importantly, almost every track of the band is generously flavoured with good old motifs of the late 1960s and early 1970s. There are also distinct shades of grunge, prog rock, and even blues!

Composition "Woman." from their 2005 debut album made Wolfmother up-and-coming rock stars with a Grammy Award for "Best Hard Rock Performance". But before this happened, the band had already had valuable experience under their belt... Back in 2004, the guys made a record - and not for the sake of commercialism or popularity, no! They just recorded for themselves, exclusively for personal use. But the result was so cool that they were immediately offered a contract. And they accepted, of course! Then the EP was released, which brought Wolfmother to the international level (the record was successfully released on both sides of the Atlantic). And after the debut album a whole series of records, awards, chart records and so on began. All in all, success came!

Wolfmother have made their way to a wider audience in 2006Since then, their fanbase has actively grown each year (and with each new album released, respectively). However, this is a band whose line-up fickle (and that's putting it mildly). In fact, the heart and soul of Wolfmother has remained for many years now Andrew Stockdalefamous for his gorgeous curls and charisma. In fact, Wolfmother has always remained largely his work.

An album definitely worth a listen - a brief review of Victorious

Andrew Stockdale
Andrew Stockdale

However, as the band's line-up changed, so did its sound, level, maybe even style. So: at the beginning of the article we promised to take you to the good old 70sdon't you think? Well, here's the record. "Victorious" 2016. of the year is the perfect way to do it in our opinion!

It's fantastic albumfilled with rock recordings that echo various elements of classic rock from the 1960s and 70s. The songs are all original compositions, brilliantly written and performed Andrew. By the way: the album was produced by legendary producer Brendan O'Brien.

Of course, rock will never be the same again, but why not pay a little attention to what's going on in the industry today? It seems to us that if music lovers start to pay attention to such little-known bands, it will be a great thing for them motivation for the followers! And who knows, maybe one day the radio will play top-notch releases again....

In conclusion

Andrew Stockdale
Andrew Stockdale

Despite the fact that "Victorious." has a striking sound, critics have literally trashed it. The record has been criticised for allegedly being just a "just a rehash of classic 1970s rock.". Well, there may be some truth to that. But let these critics try to write and record their own rock music to realise that legendary rock bands put a fat stop to any innovation 50 years ago!

It's not about where something comes from, it's about how it makes you feel feel right now. And Wolfmother's music is definitely something that is sorely lacking today... .

LEAVE ANSWER

Please enter your comment!
please enter your name here

'Pretty Woman With A Secret': Debbie Harry's 'Blondie' Secrets She Long Hid From Fans

Debbie Harry: facts about her personal life and career Debbie Harry is unfortunately a rarity: a surviving 78-year-old punk scene icon whose career developed during the era of...

Yuri Antonov - The Hardest Idol: Antics and Scandals That Made Producers Walk Away From the Master

Yuri Antonov: character, scandals, antics Recently, producer Sergey Lavrov said that Yuri Antonov is the most difficult, capricious and wayward maestro of the domestic variety, with whom he...

Ekaterina Batrakova: "A good half of academic musicians listen to good rock"

Ekaterina Batrakova - interview: about career and plans for the future The correspondent of Fuzz Music talked to the rock singer Katya Batrakova, whose songs have repeatedly hit the...
Recommended

Queen's first hit that got the band on the radio

Queen - "Seven Seas of Rhye": All about the song, history and facts, translation The Kingdom of Rhye was surrounded by seven seas, where fairies and other... lived together.

What's SHAMAN's Little Brother, or the PR stunt that worked: The Neverlove Story

Neverlove band: history, vocalist Yaroslav Stepanov, tracks and clips Perhaps you have already seen a video on YouTube (and by the way, it is far from one), which...

Best Song From The Rolling Stones' Worst Album

The Rolling Stones - "She's a Rainbow": all about the song, story and meaning, recording This song isn't quite like what you expect to hear....

Deep Purple: The Band That Trials Accompanied

Grim little-known facts about Deep Purple Deep Purple is one of the most legendary, yet darkest bands in the history of classic rock. Even their...

Ace of Base: The Fate of the Happy Nation Performers

Members of Ace of Base today: photos and facts In 1992, the debut album of the band Ace of Base was released. The single of the same name from it was instantly...

Yoko Ono Admits She's A "Witch" - and 4 More "Witchy" Songs About Women

The best rock songs about witches: translations, clips and facts The connection between witchcraft and rock and roll has been around for many decades. Thanks in large part to a conservative society that still...

"Did One Song Split the Beatles?" - A Fresh Look at the Affairs of Yesteryear

The song "Cold Turkey" and the breakup of The Beatles The Beatles are a band that definitely needs no introduction. Being one of the most colourful and influential pioneers of...

Top 3 Led Zeppelin Songs Written by Jimmy Page Solo

Led Zeppelin songs written by Jimmy Page Today, classic rock is still at the very centre of popular music, alongside genres such as country and hip-hop. А...

Who she is - Jimi Hendrix's mysterious "cunning lady".

Jimi Hendrix - Foxy Lady: meaning and history of the song, muse Jimi Hendrix didn't like to write songs - or rather lyrics to them: according to him, "usually...

Дата:

Автор:
Категория:

Группа Wolfmother, или «современный классический рок»

Дело не в том, откуда что взялось, а в том, как оно заставляет вас чувствовать себя сейчас. И музыка Wolfmother определённо то, чего так не хватает сегодня...

Как современная группа Wolfmother вернула моду на классический рок

Поклонники классического рока часто жалуются, что ничего нового, достойного прослушивания, уже не выпускается. Но это не совсем так. Отчасти, вина за то, что хорошая современная рок-музыка «не доходит» до публики, лежит на лейблах, которые отвергают перспективных исполнителей, и на радио, которое частенько игнорирует свежие релизы в этом направлении. Но часть вины остаётся и за самими слушателями…

Вспомните себя в школьные и студенческие годы: вы всеми силами доставали новую музыку, упорно добивались своего, с искренним любопытством открывали для себя нового исполнителя или группу… Понятное дело, что когда мы взрослеем, наша голова начинает «забиваться» совершенно иными вещами, житейскими. Да и времени столько нет, слушать новые релизы – тем более на фоне всего того многообразия, коим сегодня изобилует безграничный Интернет…

Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin

Конечно, мы любим рок-звёзд нашей молодости, таких как Led Zeppelin или Pink Floyd. И тем не менее, мир не стоит на месте. Мы не говорим, что современные рок-группы могут удивить нас чем-то новеньким – всё уже давно сыграно, спето и помечено как «классика». Да, мы согласны с этим утверждением. И всё же, по-прежнему выходит отличный материал, который тоже стоит послушать, по крайней мере, ради опыта. Это относится к творчеству Wolfmother – австралийского бэнда, который способен ненадолго перенести вас в прекрасные 70-е.

Wolfmother: знакомство с группой

Wolfmother
Wolfmother

Группа Wolfmother зародилась на рок-сцене в начале 2000-х в Сиднее, Австралия. Коллектив довольно быстро привлёк к себе внимание благодаря уникальному (как минимум – для своего времени), очень красивому и интересному звучанию: хард-рок с элементами психоделики и стоунер-рока. Что более важно, почти каждый трек группы щедро приправлен старыми добрыми мотивами конца 1960-х – начала 1970-х годов. Здесь также отчётливо прослеживаются оттенки гранжа, прог-рока, и даже блюза!

Композиция «Woman» из дебютного альбома 2005 года сделала Wolfmother перспективными рок-звёздами с наградой Грэмми за «Лучшее хард-рок исполнение». Но прежде, чем это произошло, группа уже имела ценный опыт за плечами… Ещё в 2004-м ребята сделали запись – и вовсе не ради коммерции или популярности, нет! Они просто записались для себя, исключительно для личных целей. Но результат получился настолько крутым, что им тут же предложили контракт. И они, конечно же, согласились! Затем вышел EP, который вывел Wolfmother на международный уровень (запись успешно издавалась по обе стороны Атлантики). Ну а после дебютного альбома началась целая череда пластинок, наград, рекордов в чартах и так далее. В общем, пришёл успех!

Wolfmother добрались до более широкой аудитории в 2006-м, и с этого момента их фан-база активно росла с каждым годом (и с каждым новым выпущенным альбомом, соответственно). Однако это та группа, чей состав непостоянен (и это мягко сказано). По сути, сердцем и душой Wolfmother вот уже долгие годы остаётся Эндрю Стокдейл, прославившийся своими шикарными кудрями и харизмой. На самом деле, Wolfmother всегда оставалась по большей части именно его работой.

Альбом, который точно стоит послушать – краткий обзор «Victorious»

Эндрю Стокдейл
Эндрю Стокдейл

Однако вместе с тем, как менялся состав группы, менялось и её звучание, уровень, возможно даже стиль. Итак: в начале статьи мы пообещали перенести вас в старые добрые 70-е, не так ли? Так вот: пластинка «Victorious» 2016 года идеальный на наш взгляд способ это сделать!

Это фантастический альбом, наполненный рок-записями, которые перекликаются с различными элементами классического рока 1960-х и 70-х годов. При этом все песни представляют собой оригинальные композиции, блестяще написанные и исполненные Эндрю. К слову: спродюсирован альбом был легендарным продюсером Бренданом О’Брайеном.

Конечно, рок уже никогда не будет прежним, но почему бы не уделить немного своего внимания тому, что происходит сегодня в индустрии? Как нам кажется, если меломаны начнут обращать внимание на такие вот малоизвестные группы, это непременно станет отличной мотивацией для последователей! И кто знает, быть может однажды на радио вновь будут играть первоклассные релизы…

В заключение

Эндрю Стокдейл
Эндрю Стокдейл

Несмотря на то, что «Victorious» обладает поразительным звучанием, критики буквально разгромили его. Запись раскритиковали за то, что она якобы представляет собой всего «лишь перепевку классического рока 1970-х». Что ж, возможно доля правды в этом есть. Но пусть эти критики попытаются написать и записать свою собственную рок-музыку, чтобы понять, что легендарные рок-группы поставили жирную точку на каком-либо новаторстве ещё 50 лет назад!

Дело не в том, откуда что взялось, а в том, как оно заставляет вас чувствовать себя сейчас. И музыка Wolfmother определённо то, чего так не хватает сегодня…

Интервью с участниками группы Manapart

Группа Manapart: интервью и интересные факты Недавно мы рассказывали вам об интересной и удивительной российско-армянской рок-группе MANAPART, которая уже сегодня захватывает сердца фанатов тяжелой музыки...

Российско-армянский рок покоряет сердца: MANAPART выпустили новый альбом «Red»

Группа MANAPART представила новый альбом «Red». Почему его стоит послушать? Рок – штука удивительная! Он может быть «гламурным», южным, симфоническим... И даже российско-армянским! И если...

«Красотка с Секретом»: Тайны «Блонди» Дебби Харри, Которые Она Долго Скрывала от Фанатов

Дебби Харри: факты о личной жизни и карьере Дебби Харри, к сожалению, является редкостью: дожившая до 78 лет икона панк-сцены, чья карьера развивалась в эпоху...
Рекомендуем

Интервью с участниками группы Manapart

Группа Manapart: интервью и интересные факты Недавно мы рассказывали вам об интересной и удивительной российско-армянской рок-группе MANAPART, которая уже сегодня захватывает сердца фанатов тяжелой музыки...

Российско-армянский рок покоряет сердца: MANAPART выпустили новый альбом «Red»

Группа MANAPART представила новый альбом «Red». Почему его стоит послушать? Рок – штука удивительная! Он может быть «гламурным», южным, симфоническим... И даже российско-армянским! И если...

Первый Хит Queen, с Которым Группа Попала На Радио

Queen – «Seven Seas of Rhye»: Всё о песне, история и факты, перевод Королевство Рай было окружено семью морями, где вместе жили феи и другие...

Что За «Младший Брат SHAMAN», или Пиар-ход, Который Сработал: История Neverlove

Группа Neverlove: история, вокалист Ярослав Степанов, треки и клипы Возможно, вам уже довелось увидеть видео на Ютуб (а оно, к слову, далеко не одно), которое...

Лучшая Песня с Худшего Альбома The Rolling Stones

The Rolling Stones – «She's a Rainbow»: всё о песне, история и смысл, запись Эта песня не совсем похожа на то, что вы ожидаете услышать...

Deep Purple: Группа, Которую Сопровождали Испытания

Мрачные малоизвестные факты о Deep Purple Deep Purple – одна из легендарнейших, и при этом самых мрачных групп за всю историю классического рока. Даже их...

Ace of Base: Как Сложилась Судьба Исполнителей «Хэппи Нейшен»

Участники Ace of Base сегодня: фото и факты В 1992 году в свет вышел дебютный альбом группы Ace of Base. Одноимённый сингл с него мгновенно...

Йоко Оно Признала Себя «Ведьмой» – и Ещё 4 «Колдовских» Песни о Женщинах

Лучшие рок-песни о ведьмах: перевод, клипы и факты Связь между колдовством и рок-н-роллом существует уже много десятилетий. Во многом – благодаря консервативному обществу, которое ещё...

«Битлов Расколола Одна Песня?» – Свежий Взгляд на Дела Минувших Лет

Песня «Cold Turkey» и распад The Beatles The Beatles – группа, которая точно не нуждается в представлении. Будучи одним из самых ярких и влиятельных пионеров...