Author:
Category:

The greatest rock songwriters of all time. Part two

On iconic rock legends...

Top Greatest Rock Writers in History! Part 2

We continue to remember the greatest authors of rock hits in the history of music ... These geniuses gave the world such timeless hits that to this day - after many decades - these songs continue to be recognized by the widest audience. And it doesn’t matter at all whether their career lasted dozens or just a few years, whether they had hundreds of hit tracks on their account, or there were ... 20 really successful songs! The role here is played by the quality of the works and the constancy of their authors. So: this is the top of the greatest rock authors in the history of music! Let's go...

Roger Waters

Roger Waters
Roger Waters

The indisputable fact is that Roger Waters is the author of the vast majority of Pink Floyd's hit material. And now we are talking not only about the lyrics, but also about the music ... During his leadership, he was the main ideologist of the group, as well as the main author of the cult album The Wall. His influence over the group inexorably grew: it got to the point that the other members were only allowed to arrange arrangements ... So, the work of The Final Cut became, in fact, solo ...

In the mid-1980s, Roger Waters left Pink Floyd: the musician commented on his decision as follows: “It’s just that the group has exhausted itself ...” Waters believed that after his departure the band would disintegrate, but the new leader, David Gilmour, decided otherwise. However, that's another story.

Jeff Lynn

Jeff Lynn
Jeff Lynn

And this British rock idol gained worldwide fame as the lead vocalist of the Electric Light Orchestra. It is on his account such timeless masterpieces as "Can't Get It Out Of My Head" or "Evil Woman" ...

As in the case of Waters, Lynn lost interest in the group in the second half of the 1980s: he disbanded the once successful and promising team ... It should be added that Lynn produced all the ELO singles that entered the UK Top 10 Top 10! In 2017, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of ELO.

Sting

Sting in Dune
Sting in Dune

In the early stages of his musical career, Sting gained popularity and recognition from the general public as the vocalist and main songwriter of The Police. Probably one of the most famous hits he wrote is "Roxanne":

Sting has been a solo artist since 1984. He is also one of the "50 Greatest Bassists of All Time" by Rolling Stone magazine.

Peter Gabriel

Peter Gabriel
Peter Gabriel

Fame came to Peter Gabriel as part of Genesis. Then he started a successful solo career: today Peter Gabriel is also known as a record producer of ethno artists. As for Genesis, Gabriel left the group because he felt "alienated from the rest of the members ..." Peter released his first solo album in 1977: it included a fairly well-known composition, "Solsbury Hill", which is an allegorical story about his departure from the group …

Ozzy Osbourne

Ozzy Osbourne
Ozzy Osbourne

One of the founders of Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne was a big influence on the emergence of hard rock and heavy metal! No wonder today he bears the title of "Godfather of heavy metal" ... In addition to crazy antics (both on stage and beyond) and a bright image, Osbourne gained recognition and popularity as a songwriter. One of the most striking examples is the song "Crazy Train", written by Osbourne with Randy Rhoads and Bob Daisley:

Today, Ozzy Osbourne is one of the most popular representatives of the rock scene: as of December 2010, the world circulation of his records has exceeded 100 million copies...

Bruce Springsteen

Bruce Springsteen
Bruce Springsteen

This rock genius is widely known for his deep poetic lyrics, the main theme of which is his homeland, New Jersey ... His discography also includes the cult album "Born in the USA", which is the most successful to date in the United States (and Its worldwide circulation has long been estimated at more than 30 million copies...)

Peter Frampton

Peter Frampton
Peter Frampton

It is noteworthy that at the beginning of his journey, Frampton could not boast of due commercial success ... However, the situation changed in 1967, after the release of the live "Frampton Comes Alive!" The hit singles from the album were "Baby, I Love Your Way", "Show Me the Way" and "Do You Feel Like We Do", which brought Frampton worldwide fame ... As a result, the album spent a full 97 weeks on the Billboard 200 (55 of which he was in the Top 40…)

Jim Morrison

Jim Morrison
Jim Morrison

This man remains the idol of millions ... The poet, leader and vocalist of The Doors - Morrison has made a great contribution to the development of modern music.

Today, Morrison is considered one of the most charismatic frontmen in the history of rock...

Ken Hensley

Ken Hensley
Ken Hensley

Popularity came to Ken Hensley as part of the Uriah Heep group. Subsequently, Hensley made a huge contribution to the development of rock music, and it is a pity that today his name is less and less remembered ... On account of this man such magnificent creations as "Free Me", "Sympathy", "Lady in Black", "July Morning ” (the latter became the unofficial anthem of Bulgaria) ...

Ritchie Blackmore

After Rainbow disbanded in 1997, Ritchie Blackmore continued to work on his new project Blackmore's Night...
After Rainbow disbanded in 1997, Ritchie Blackmore continued to work on his new project Blackmore's Night...

Today, Ritchie Blackmore is considered one of the greatest guitarists of the 20th century: he is included in various prestigious lists and ratings, and his influence on rock music is invaluable ... He is a legend in such cult bands as Deep Purple and Rainbow! But he also has a lot of great stuff to his credit, like "Soldier of Fortune" (written with David Coverdale).

Ian Gillan

Ian Gillan. Photo: Ara Ashchyan
Ian Gillan. Photo: Ara Ashchyan

Deep Purple legend Ian Gillan has become famous as one of the most talented songwriters! He has a lot of really chic hits on his account, for example, the composition "Fireball" based on personal experience. Later, the author himself says:

“She was a complete mystery to me. This is another story about unrequited love ... "

Gillan also sang the part of Jesus in the original version of the rock opera "Jesus Christ Superstar" by E. Webber and T. Rice and was a member of Black Sabbath.

Keith Richards and Mick Jagger

Mick Jagger and Keith Richards
Mick Jagger and Keith Richards

Why are these two geniuses included in our list as a duo? Probably, the true fans of The Rolling Stones know the answer to this question: the fact is that it was the joint efforts of Richards and Jagger that created masterpieces for the ages ... "Angie" (although a significant part of the song was written by Richards, Jagger also had a hand in this ballad), "Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)", "Mother's Little Helper" - it can reasonably be said that the majority of the Stones' repertoire was co-written by Richards and Jagger.

No wonder they have long been called the author's duet!

Part 1

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

Величайшие авторы рок-песен всех времён. Часть вторая

О культовых легендах рока...

Топ величайших рок-авторов в истории! Часть 2

Продолжаем вспоминать самых величайших авторов рок-хитов за всю историю музыки… Эти гении подарили миру столь вневременные хиты, что и по сей день — спустя долгие десятилетия — эти песни продолжают находить признание самой широкой публики. И совершенно не важно — длилась ли их карьера десятки или всего несколько лет, были ли на их счету сотни хит-треков, или по-настоящему успешных песен было… штук 20! Роль здесь играет именно качество произведений и постоянство их авторов. Итак: это топ величайших рок-авторов в истории музыки! Погнали…

Роджер Уотерс

Роджер Уотерс
Роджер Уотерс

Неоспоримый факт заключается в том, что именно Роджер Уотерс является автором преобладающего большинства хитового материала Pink Floyd. Причём речь сейчас не только о текстах песен, но и о музыке… В период своего лидерства он был основным идеологом группы, а также главным автором культового альбома The Wall. Его влияние над группой неумолимо росло: дошло до того, что остальные участники допускались лишь к аранжировкам… Так, работа The Final Cut стала, по сути, сольной…

В середине 1980-х Роджер Уотерс покинул Pink Floyd: своё решение музыкант прокомментировал так: «Просто группа исчерпала себя…» Уотерс полагал, что после его ухода коллектив распадётся, однако новый лидер — Дэвид Гилмор, решил иначе. Однако — это уже другая история.

Джефф Линн

Джефф Линн
Джефф Линн

А этот британский рок-кумир приобрёл мировую известность в качестве лидер-вокалиста Electric Light Orchestra. Именно на его счету такие вневременные шедевры, как «Can’t Get It Out Of My Head» или «Evil Woman»…

Как и в случае с Уотерсом, Линн потерял интерес к группе во второй половине 1980-х: он распустил некогда успешную и многообещающую команду… Стоит добавить, что Линн спродюсировал все синглы ELO, которые вошли в Топ-10 лучших Великобритании! В 2017 году он был введён в Зал славы рок-н-ролла как член ELO.

Стинг

Стинг в фильме «Дюна»
Стинг в фильме «Дюна»

На ранних этапах своей музыкальной карьеры Стинг приобрёл популярность и признание широкой публики в качестве вокалиста и основного автора песен The Police. Наверное, одним из самых известных хитов, написанных им, является «Roxanne»:

С 1984 года Стинг занимается сольным творчеством. Он также входит в «50 величайших басистов всех времён» по версии журнала Rolling Stone.

Питер Гэбриел

Питер Гэбриел
Питер Гэбриел

Известность пришла к Питеру Гэбриелу в составе Genesis. Затем он начал успешную сольную карьеру: сегодня Питер Гэбриел также известен как продюсер записей этно-исполнителей. Что касается Genesis, то Гэбриел покинул группу, так как чувствовал «отчуждение от остальных участников…» Свой первый сольный альбом Питер выпустил в 1977 году: в него вошла довольно известная композиция, «Solsbury Hill», представляющая собой аллегорический рассказ о его уходе из группы…

Оззи Осборн

Оззи Осборн
Оззи Осборн

Один из основателей Black Sabbath, Оззи Осборн оказал большое влияние на появление хард-рока и хеви-метала! Недаром сегодня он носит титул «Крёстный отец хэви-метала»… Помимо безумных выходок (как на сцене, так и за её пределами) и яркого образа, Осборн обрёл признание и популярность в качестве автора песен. Одним из наиболее ярких примеров служит песня «Crazy Train», написанная Осборном совместно с Рэнди Роадсом и Бобом Дэйсли:

Сегодня Оззи Осборн является одним из популярнейших представителей рок-сцены: по состоянию на декабрь 2010 года мировой тираж его пластинок перевалил за отметку 100 млн копий…

Брюс Спрингстин

Брюс Спрингстин
Брюс Спрингстин

Этот рок-гений широко прославился благодаря своим глубоким поэтичным текстам, основной темой которых является его родина, Нью-Джерси… Его дискография также включает в себя культовый альбом «Born in the U.S.A.», который является самым успешным на сегодняшний день на территории США (а его мировой тираж давно оценивается более чем в 30 млн копий…)

Питер Фрэмптон

Питер Фрэмптон
Питер Фрэмптон

Примечательно, но в начале своего пути Фрэмптон не мог похвастаться должным коммерческим успехом… Однако, ситуация изменилась в 1967 году, после выхода живого «Frampton Comes Alive!» Хит-синглами с альбома стали «Baby, I Love Your Way», «Show Me the Way» и «Do You Feel Like We Do», которые принесли Фрэмптону мировую славу… В результате альбом провёл в Billboard 200 целых 97 недель (55 из которых он находился в Топ-40…)

Джим Моррисон

Джим Моррисон
Джим Моррисон

Этот человек остаётся кумиром миллионов… Поэт, лидер и вокалист The Doors — Моррисон внёс большой вклад в развитие современной музыки.

Сегодня Моррисон считается одним из самых харизматичных фронтменов за всю историю рока…

Кен Хенсли

Кен Хенсли
Кен Хенсли

Популярность пришла к Кену Хенсли в составе группы Uriah Heep. Впоследствии Хенсли внёс огромный вклад в развитие рок-музыки, и очень жаль, что сегодня его имя всё реже вспоминают… На счету этого человека такие великолепные творения, как «Free Me», «Sympathy», «Lady in Black», «July Morning» (последняя стала неофициальным гимном Болгарии)…

Ричи Блэкмор

После распада в 1997 году Rainbow Ричи Блэкмор продолжил работу в своем новом проекте Blackmore’s Night...
После распада в 1997 году Rainbow Ричи Блэкмор продолжил работу в своем новом проекте Blackmore’s Night…

Сегодня Ричи Блэкмор считается одним из величайших гитаристов XX века: он входит в различные престижные списки и рейтинги, и его влияние на рок-музыку неоценимо… Он — легенда таких культовых групп, как Deep Purple и Rainbow! Но на его счету также множество великолепных творений, например — «Soldier of Fortune» (написанная с Дэвидом Ковердейлом).

Ян Гиллан

Ян Гиллан (Ian Gillan). Фото: Ара Ашчян
Ян Гиллан (Ian Gillan). Фото: Ара Ашчян

Легенда Deep Purple — Ян Гиллан прославился как один из талантливейших авторов песен! На его счету множество по-настоящему шикарных хитов, например — основанная на личном опыте композиция «Fireball». Позже сам автор скажет:

«Она была для меня полной загадкой. Это ещё одна история о безответной любви…»

Гиллан также исполнил партию Иисуса в оригинальной версии рок-оперы «Иисус Христос — суперзвезда» Э. Уэббера и Т. Райса и был участником Black Sabbath.

Кит Ричардс и Мик Джаггер

Мик Джаггер и Кит Ричардс
Мик Джаггер и Кит Ричардс

Почему эти два гения включены в наш список как дуэт? Наверное, истинные поклонники творчества The Rolling Stones знают ответ на этот вопрос: дело в том, что именно совместными усилиями Ричардс и Джаггер создавали шедевры на века… «Angie» (хотя существенная часть песни и была написана Ричардсом, Джаггер также приложил свою руку к этой балладе), «Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)», «Mother’s Little Helper» — можно обоснованно заявить, что преобладающая часть репертуара Stones была написана Ричардсом и Джаггером совместно.

Недаром их уже давно называют авторским дуэтом!

Часть 1

Единственная песня, которую Брайан Джонсон из AC/DC не исполнит никогда

Почему AC/DC отказываются от исполнения «It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ’n’ Roll)» AC/DC – легендарная австралийская рок-группа, сформированная в...

«Paranoid»: культовая классика Black Sabbath, написанная за считанные минуты

Хит «Paranoid» группы Black Sabbath: история и факты Не секрет, что некоторые из самых легендарных произведений родились за считанные минуты. Вообще говорят, что краткость –...

Киркоров был «другом» Майкла Джексона: выдумки или все-таки правда

Дружба Майкла Джексона и Филиппа Киркорова Майкл Джексон - американский поп-король, внесший колоссальный вклад в историю музыки. Однако вокруг него всегда было сосредоточено множество мифов,...
Похожие статьи

«Авария, предательство и не только»: несокрушимый дух Дона Пауэлла, барабанщика Slade

Легенда Slade Дон Пауэлл и его история: факты и интервью Он разменял восьмой десяток, но по-прежнему остаётся несокрушимой легендой. Дон Пауэлл, легендарно известный барабанщик Slade,...

Топ-5 культовых рок-альбомов, запись которых обернулась кошмаром

Легендарные рок-альбомы, запись которых обернулась кошмаром На первый взгляд, быть рок-звездой кажется самой приятной работой в мире! Твоя задача состоит только в том, чтобы сочинять...

Идеальные песни, положившие начало хард-року

Треки, положившие начало хард-року – топ лучших После легендарно известного «Лета любви» рок-н-ролл всё увереннее и увереннее обрастал шипами. Казалось, «мягкая» эпоха The Beatles и...

Лучшие «живые» классические рок-альбомы по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» – часть вторая

Лучшие концертные классические рок-альбомы – часть вторая Мы обожаем сотни рок-групп и исполнителей, но прежде всего бешеная слава приходит к ним благодаря безупречно спродюсированным «студийникам»....

«Это лучшее что с ним случалось»: американец исполнил смус-джазовую версию популярной песни Витаса «7-ой элемент»

Американец исполнил кавер-версию хита Витаса  «Седьмой элемент» В интернете можно найти множество каверов на известные песни, но как вам необычный подход американского музыкального блоггера Andre...

Как итальянский герцог обманул Стинга и его жену: история покупки поместья «Villa Il Palagio» и его дальнейшая судьба

История поместья Стинга: как музыкант купил шикарную виллу и открыл свою винодельню Уже ставший культовым музыкантом Стинг приобрел виллу в Тоскане в конце 1990-х годов,...

Топ-5 шикарных «поздних» релизов легенд рока

Лучшие поздние релизы рок-звёзд Не каждая рок-звезда может поддерживать огонь до скончания веков. Вполне естественно, что исполнители стареют, и вы не ожидаете, что они будут...

«Создатель джаза», или печальная история Джелли «Ролл» Мортона

Джелли Ролл Мортон и его печальная история: биография и факты Хотя Джелли Ролл Мортон – это имя, о котором, возможно, слышали немногие, музыкант был –...

Лучшие песни в исполнении Дэна Маккаферти

Дэн Маккаферти и лучшие песни в его исполнении Дэн Маккаферти – легенда шотландской рок-группы Nazareth и один из самых узнаваемых голосов классического рока. Родившийся в...