Author:

Category:

How Bananarama made Shocking Blue her song, and what does "Shizgarah" have to do with it?

"When Marishka came into the band, we came to life at once! Everything boiled up, everything spun, and we had hits. "Venus" is one of our first singles that got worldwide recognition!"

How "Venus" first became the calling card of Shocking Blue, and then moved into the repertoire of Bananarama

shock blue - a legendary rock band that left its profound mark on history. The band from The Hague The songwriters managed to achieve international recognition, because their repertoire includes many worthy songs that music lovers listen to today with pleasure! Some compositions, particularly romanticized and measured, have found a fervent response even in the hearts of modern listeners! And it's a great success for the band 60s and 70s years, even more so for a Dutch one!

A powerful weapon of Shocking Blue, of course, was their vocalist, the beautiful Mariska Vereswhose powerful voice is now associated with an entire era!

"When Marishka came into the band, we came to life at once! Everything boiled up and spun, and we had hits. "Venus" was one of our first singles to achieve worldwide recognition!" said Robbie Van Leeuwen, Blue's guitarist and songwriter, once.

Mariska Veres...
Mariska Veres

And it's true: Marishka brought a certain magic - the magic of success and popularity! And the legendary "Venus." - a striking and very melodic proof of that. But how did the cult hit come about? And why do many modern listeners know it thanks to the band Bananarama? Was it really plagiarism? Also, what does this have to do with the exotic "Shizgara"which was spoken of in the the USSR?

Creation history and dizzying success

Shocking Blue in the classic composition...
Shocking Blue in the classic lineup

The song was written by the aforementioned Robbie van Leeuwen. But in order for "Venus" to be born, I had to borrow the melodic basis from "The Banjo Song." groups The Big 3! By the way: this composition was in turn based on "Oh! Susanna" by Stephen Foster, a song that dates back as far as the 19th century! But that, however, is another story. Leuven also wasn't afraid to take the guitar riff from The Who From their track "Pinball Wizard. But the sacrifices were more than justified!

They recorded "Venus" in the Netherlands - Leuven was also the producer of the future hit. When the single was released in 1969, its success was not long in coming! "Venus" won the number one spot on the USA, France, Italy and in many other countries, including South Africa! But in his homeland Shocking Blue, ironically, was stuck in third place in the chart...

"Let's Get Young!" - Bananarama's version, which appealed to Western teens

Bananarama
Bananarama

As the years went by, "Venus" never lost its weight. What's more: soon the hit song became calling card an entirely different group - a girl's pop band Bananarama! In spite of the fact that the British girls released their cover as a single only in 1986, "Venus" had been in their repertoire practically from the very beginning of the band's existence. The girls were playing this hit at their concerts, but they didn't dare to record it - the band members wanted to become famous and with his own songs. But even though the band's tracks were a success in the 80's, it was "Venus" that became their biggest hit, thanks to which Bananarama is remembered to this day.

Soon after its release, their version became a wild success: "Venus" as performed by Bananarama began to be actively used in the media and on television. The younger generation was introduced to the hit in the early 2000s, when commercials for women's razors were often on TV. Gillette. Because of this, many modern music lovers to this day believe that the song belongs to sweet-voiced British women. And only avid music lovers know how history has evolved of this hit in fact.

Other covers

Not only Bananarama, but many other bands and even solo artists have interpreted the iconic "Venus" in their own way. Here, for example, is a version Jennifer Lopez:

And here's what it sounds like metal version:

Neither were they left out. national VIAs - "Hello Song," "Dr. Watson," and others also decided to experiment!

They all got their own. the special "Venus"which was different from the original. Still, the beautiful Mariška Veresz also sang this song in her own way, characteristically and uniquely. But despite the variety of covers, the most successful, favorite and undying remain Original Shocking Blue and Bananarama version.

Interesting to know

Shock Blue!
Shock Blue!

And lastly, we have three curious facts about this song for you! For example: back in 1959, that is, ten years before the release of "Venus" that we are discussing today, Frankie Avalon topped the U.S. chart with the song Venus! But this song has nothing in common with the hit Shocking Blue (except the title).

Both the original "Venus" and the Bananarama version achieved equal success on the charts! Both versions reached number one on the Billboard Hot 100, as well as number eight in the UK, where they spent 13 weeks each!

Why is it "Shizgara" (or "Sizgares")? What is this word so exotic? It's the name given to the hit in the USSRall because of the chorus line "She's got it, Yeah, baby, she's got it! So it's not like we're talking about the Sizzare in this song.

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

Автор:

Категория:

Как Bananarama сделала песню Shocking Blue своей, и причём здесь «Шизгара»

«Когда в группу пришла Маришка, мы сразу ожили! Всё как-то резко закипело, закрутилось, и у нас появились хиты. «Venus» – один из наших первых синглов, который добился мирового признания!»

Как «Venus» стала сначала визитной карточкой Shocking Blue, а после перекочевала в репертуар Bananarama

Shocking Blue – легендарная рок-группа, которая оставила свой глубокий след в истории. Коллективу из Гааги удалось добиться мирового признания, ведь в их репертуаре есть множество достойных песен, которые меломаны не без удовольствия переслушивают сегодня! Некоторые композиции, в частности романтизированные и размеренные, нашли пылкий отклик даже в сердцах современных слушателей! И это большой успех для группы 60-х – 70-х годов, тем более для голландской!

Мощным оружием Shocking Blue, конечно же, была и их вокалистка – красавица Маришка Вереш, чей мощный голос ассоциируется сегодня с целой эпохой!

«Когда в группу пришла Маришка, мы сразу ожили! Всё как-то резко закипело, закрутилось, и у нас появились хиты. «Venus» – один из наших первых синглов, который добился мирового признания!», – сказал как-то Робби ван Леувен, гитарист и автор песен Blue.

Маришка Вереш...
Маришка Вереш

И это действительно так: с собой Маришка принесла в группу некую магию – магию успеха и популярности! И легендарная «Венера» – яркое, и очень мелодичное тому доказательство. Но как возник культовый хит? И почему многие современные слушатели знают его благодаря группе Bananarama? Действительно ли был плагиат? А также причём тут экзотическая «Шизгара», о которой говорили в СССР?

История создания и головокружительный успех

Shocking Blue в классическом составе...
Shocking Blue в классическом составе

Написал песню уже упомянутый Робби ван Леувен. Но чтобы «Венера» родилась, пришлось позаимствовать мелодическую основу из «The Banjo Song» группы The Big 3! К слову: в свою очередь эта композиция была основана на «Oh! Susanna» Стивена Фостера, песне, которая датируется аж XIX веком! Но это, впрочем, другая история. Леувен также не побоялся взять гитарный рифф у The Who из их трека «Pinball Wizard». Но жертвы оправдали себя с лихвой!

Записывали «Венеру» в Нидерландах – Леувен также выступил продюсером будущего хита. Когда сингл вышел в 1969 году, его успех не заставил себя долго ждать! «Venus» завоевал первую строчку в США, Франции, Италии и во многих других странах, включая Южную Африку! А вот на родине Shocking Blue, по иронии судьбы, застрял на третьем месте чарта…

«Даёшь молодёжь!» – версия Bananarama, которая пришлась по душе западным подросткам

Bananarama
Bananarama

Годы шли, но свой вес «Venus» так и не растерял. Более того: вскоре шлягер стал визитной карточкой совершенно другой группы – девчачьего поп-бэнда Bananarama! Несмотря на то, что синглом свой кавер британки выпустили лишь в 1986 году, «Венера» была в их репертуаре практически с самого начала существования группы. Девушки задорно исполняли этот хит на своих концертах, но записывать его никак не решались – участницам всё же хотелось прославиться и собственными песнями. Но несмотря на то, что треки коллектива имели успех в 80-х, именно «Venus» стал их самым большим хитом, благодаря которому о Bananarama помнят по сей день.

Вскоре после выпуска их версия обрела дикий успех: «Венера» в исполнении Bananarama начала активно использоваться в СМИ и на телевидении. А молодое поколение познакомилось с этим хитом уже в начале 2000-х, когда по телевизору часто крутили рекламу женских бритв Gillette. Благодаря этому многие современные меломаны по сей день считают, что песня принадлежит сладкоголосым британкам. И лишь заядлые меломаны знают, как развивалась история этого хита на самом деле.

Другие кавер-версии

Не только Bananarama, но и многие другие коллективы и даже сольные артисты интерпретировали культовую «Венеру» на свой лад. Вот, например, версия Дженнифер Лопес:

А вот как звучит метал-версия:

Не остались в стороне и отечественные ВИА – «Здравствуй, песня», «Доктор Ватсон» и другие тоже решили поэкспериментировать!

У всех получалась своя – особенная «Венера», которая отличалась от оригинала. Всё-таки красавица Маришка Вереш тоже исполнила эту композицию по-своему – характерно и неповторимо. Но несмотря на многообразие каверов, наиболее удачными, любимыми и неугасающими остаются оригинал Shocking Blue и версия Bananarama.

Интересно знать

Shocking Blue!
Shocking Blue!

А напоследок припасли для вас три любопытных факта об этой песне! Ну например: ещё в 1959 году, то есть за 10 лет до выхода обсуждаемой сегодня «Венеры», Фрэнки Авалон занял в американском чарте первую строчку с песней «Venus»! Но ничего общего с хитом Shocking Blue у этой песни нет (кроме названия).

И оригинальная «Venus», и версия Bananarama добились одинакового успеха в чартах! Обе версии заняли первое место в Billboard Hot 100, а также восьмое место в Великобритании, где провели по 13 недель!

Почему же «Шизгара» (или «Шизгарес»)? Что это за слово такое экзотическое? Такое название хиту дали в СССР, и всё из-за строчки припева «She’s got it, Yeah, baby, she’s got it!». Так что – ни о какой Шизгаре речи в этой песни и не шло.

9kFollowers

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Похожие статьи

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...

«Рано ушла, но оставила яркий след» – история Янки Дягилевой

Яркая представительница отечественного андеграунда – история Янки Дягилевой Янка Дягилева вошла в историю как яркая представительница сибирского андеграунда, женщина, которая на протяжении своей короткой карьеры...