Author:

Category:

Paul Rodgers – All about the musician, biography, history, facts

Paul Rogers is rightfully considered the king of character performance. And this, for sure, will be confirmed by any listener who has ever seen Paul in action: take, for example, his tour with the legendary Queen or his own solo tour ... So who is this Paul Rogers really and why did he become a cult hero in rock world?

Paul Rodgers and his story

It is unlikely that among a number of uncountable rock vocalists there will be anyone even slightly like Paul Rodgers. Who not only showed the public luxurious studio solo albums, but was also the leader of three bands famous all over the world at once. It was his immortal masterpieces that received the status of timeless hits, and the artist himself was nicknamed "The Outstanding Voice of Rock", thanks to his extraordinary vocals ... Rogers is rightfully considered the king of character performance. And this, for sure, will be confirmed by any listener who has ever seen Paul in action: take, for example, his tour with the legendary Queen or his own solo tour ... So who really is this Paul Rogers and why he became a cult hero in the world of rock ?

Paul Rodgers
Paul Rodgers

Getting started

Paul Bernard Rogers was born in December 1949 in the conservative English town of Middlesbrough. While still a teenager, Rogers with great curiosity mastered the guitar donated by his parents, as well as the piano and drum kit, along the way writing the first lines of songs in his life. As soon as Paul turned thirteen, the guy was already rocking with might and main with a crowd of spectators in local clubs, and immediately after graduation he went to conquer the capital with its famous Big Ben as the vocalist of The Roadrunners.

Group «Free»

After The Roadrunners, the rhythm and blues bands The Wildflowers and Brown Sugar were a new stage in Rogers' career, but it was the latter that became something more than just an experience for Paul. It was in it that the guy met Paul Kossoff, a guitarist who seduced him to create his own joint project called Free. And, as you might guess, the idea took on a real shape, and very clear... Along with Led Zeppelin, famous at that time, the Free team became the most popular British supplier of heavy blues. Over the entire history of its existence, the band has released a huge number of unique works, among which the famous rock anthem "All Right Now" stood out noticeably.

bad company

It is curious, but already at the beginning of the 2000s, the number of radio broadcasts of this track, created by Rogers in collaboration with Andy Fraser, simply rolled over, generously exceeding several million! After the group broke up, together with guitarist Mick Ralphs, Rogers formed a new band called Bad Company. The project turned out to be no less successful than the previous one, and even longer. During the ten-year period of the Bad Company's existence, six excellent multi-platinum records were recorded and released. At that time, Paul had already shown the world such famous hits as "Bad Company", "Feel Like Making Love", "Shooting Star", "Run With The Pack" and many others ...

Paul Rodgers
Paul Rodgers

In addition, Rogers managed to declare himself not only as a unique and very powerful vocalist, but also as an outstanding guitarist and keyboardist. In 1983, Paul recorded the first solo album in his dazzling and promising career, in the role of producer and instrumentalist of which the musician himself acted. The Cut Loose record generously abounded with heavy guitar boogies and soulful romantic lingers... However, for ordinary listeners who are not ardent fans of Paul Rodgers and rock music in general, something was still missing. Unfortunately, the highest record the release achieved was only 135th position on Billboard.

Introduction to Jimmy Page and The Firm

Shortly thereafter, the musician met famed guitar wizard Jimmy Page, with whom they formed The Firm. And although the group did not last long, its work managed to make a real sensation in the rock world: the group held several tours with a huge sold-out and spawned two amazing platinum records, thanks to which the world recognized such timeless hits as "All The King's Horses", "Radioactive" and Satisfaction Guaranteed.

Meeting Kenny Jones

The dawn of the nineties gave Rogers an important new acquaintance - with Kenny Jones, the former drummer of the Who and the Faces. Their joint project became famous for the fact that it managed to break through the top of the Billboard AOR chart with the loud single "Laying Down The Law".

"The Hendrix Set" and "Muddy Waters Blues"

Subsequent solo works of the musician were tributes. The first of them - "The Hendrix Set" - was dedicated to the great genius of the guitar solo Jimi Hendrix, and the second - to the outstanding bluesman of all time, Muddy Waters. The record "Muddy Waters Blues", which was created by cult musicians of our time Jeff Beck, Richie Sambora, David Gilmour, Steve Miller, Brian May and many others, became a Grammy nominee.

"Now" and "Live"

The second half of the nineties was marked by the release of such worthy albums as "Now" and "Live". Each of the discs was published both individually and in combination with each other. Such a move was quite justified: although the works abounded with fresh things, they also contained a lot of old Free and Bad Company songs, which undoubtedly pleased the fans of both groups. With the release of new records, Rogers organized a world tour in support of them, and also released the famous single "Soul Of Love", which was stuck on the radio for more than six months.

Bad Company and Electric

At the end of the last century, Paul took part in the reunion of the classic composition of Bad Company. However, with his growing influence as a solo artist, without straying too far from the style of his old bands, Rodgers returned with a deluxe solo album, Electric. The composition "Drifters", released as a single from the mentioned disc, spent two whole months in the top ten hits.

Brian May and Queen

Paul Rogers and Brian May
Paul Rogers and Brian May

Over the next three years, the musician traveled the whole world, both with Bad Company and alone. In 2004, Rodgers participated in the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the Fender Stratocaster, along with other acclaimed artists, including Brian May, the permanent guitarist of the band Queen. Together, the two performed "All Right Now", which became a new starting point both in the career of each of them and in cooperation.

Not even a couple of months had passed since that performance, when Paul, in the company of two Queens, went on tour under the Queen + Paul Rodgers project. As a result of this tour, the deluxe live album "Return Of The Champions" was released. But already in 2009, Rogers announced that he was leaving the project to develop as a solo artist. In the following years, the musician toured with the reunited Bad Company, gave solo concerts and even prepared an amazing program called "The Royal Sessions", in which he boldly declared his interest in the soul genre.

Paul Rogers is an independent, strong and unrestricted performer. His voice is a bright touch in the history of rock of the last century ...

10kFollowers

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Related Articles

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

Автор:

Категория:

Пол Роджерс (Paul Rodgers) – Всё о музыканте, биография, история, факты

Пол Роджерс по праву считается королём характерного исполнения. И это, наверняка, подтвердит любой слушатель, который хоть раз видел Пола в действии: взять, к примеру, его тур с легендарными Queen или собственное сольное турне... Так кто же на самом деле этот Пол Роджерс и почему он стал культовым героем в мире рока?

Пол Роджерс (Paul Rodgers) и его история

Вряд ли среди ряда несчётных рок-вокалистов найдётся кто-нибудь, хоть немного похожий на Пола Роджерса. Кто не только являл публике роскошные студийные сольники, но и был лидером сразу трёх прославленных во всём мире бэндов. Именно его бессмертные шедевры получили статус вневременных хитов, а сам артист был прозван «Выдающимся голосом рока», благодаря необыкновенному вокалу… Роджерс по праву считается королём характерного исполнения. И это, наверняка, подтвердит любой слушатель, который хоть раз видел Пола в действии: взять, к примеру, его тур с легендарными Queen или собственное сольное турне… Так кто же на самом деле этот Пол Роджерс и почему он стал культовым героем в мире рока?

Пол Роджерс (Paul Rodgers)
Пол Роджерс (Paul Rodgers)

Начало пути

Пол Бернард Роджерс появился на свет в декабре далёкого 1949 года в консервативном английском городке Мидлсбро. Ещё будучи подростком, Роджерс с большим любопытством осваивал подаренную родителями гитару, а также пианино и ударную установку, попутно сочиняя первые в своей жизни строчки песен. Как только Полу исполнилось тринадцать, парень уже вовсю зажигал с толпой зрителей в местных клубах, а сразу после окончания школы отправился покорять столицу с её прославленным Биг-Беном в качестве вокалиста The Roadrunners.

Группа «Free»

После The Roadrunners новым этапом в карьере Роджерса были ритм-энд-блюзовые бэнды The Wildflowers и Brown Sugar, однако именно последняя стала для Пола чем-то большим, чем просто опытом. Именно в ней парень познакомился с Полом Коссоффом, гитаристом, соблазнившим его на создание собственного совместного проекта под названием Free. И, как нетрудно догадаться, идея обрела реальные очертания, причём очень чёткие… Наряду с прославленными в то время Led Zeppelin, команда Free стала самым популярным британским поставщиком тяжёлого блюза. За всю историю существования коллективом было выпущено огромное количество уникальных работ, среди которых заметно выделялся знаменитый рок-гимн «All Right Now».

Bad Company

Любопытно, но уже в начале нулевых число радиоэфиров этого трека, сотворённого Роджерсом в соавторстве с Энди Фрэйзером, просто зашкаливало, щедро перевалив за несколько миллионов! После распада группы, вместе с гитаристом Миком Ральфсом, Роджерс организовал новый бэнд под названием Bad Company. Проект оказался не менее успешным по сравнению с предыдущим, и даже более долгим. За десятилетний период существования «Плохой компанией» было записано и выпущено шесть прекрасных мультиплатиновых пластинок. На тот момент Пол уже явил миру такие свои прославленные хиты, как «Bad Company», «Feel Like Making Love», «Shooting Star», «Run With The Pack» и многие другие…

Пол Роджерс (Paul Rodgers)
Пол Роджерс (Paul Rodgers)

Помимо этого, Роджерс успел заявить о себе не только как об уникальном и очень мощном вокалисте, но и как о незаурядном гитаристе и клавишнике. В 1983 году Полом был записан первый в его ослепительной и многообещающей карьере сольник, в роли продюсера и инструменталиста которого музыкант выступил сам. Пластинка Cut Loose щедро изобиловала и тяжёлыми гитарными буги, и задушевными романтическими медляками… Однако обычным слушателям, не входящим в ряды горячих поклонников Пола Роджерса и рок-музыки в целом, всё равно чего-то не хватало. К сожалению, максимальным рекордным показателем, которого добился релиз, стала всего лишь 135-я позиция в Billboard.

Знакомство с Джимми Пейджом и «The Firm»

Вскоре после этого музыкант познакомился с прославленным гитарным чародеем Джимми Пейджем, с которым они основали The Firm. И хоть группа просуществовала недолго, её творчество успело произвести настоящий фурор в мире рока: группа провела несколько туров с громадным аншлагом и породила две потрясающие платиновые пластинки, благодаря которым мир узнал такие вневременные хиты, как «All The King’s Horses», «Radioactive» и «Satisfaction Guaranteed».

Знакомство с Кенни Джонсом

Рассвет девяностых преподнёс Роджерсу новое важное знакомство — с Кенни Джонсом, бывшим ударником Who и Faces. Их совместный проект прославился тем, что сумел пробить вершину AOR-чарта Billboard с громогласным синглом «Laying Down The Law».

«The Hendrix Set» и «Muddy Waters Blues»

Последующие сольные работы музыканта представляли собой трибьюты. Первая из них — «The Hendrix Set» — посвящалась великому гению гитарного соло Джими Хендриксу, а вторая — выдающемуся блюзмену всех времён Мадди Уотерсу. Пластинка «Muddy Waters Blues», в создании которой были задействованы культовые музыканты современности Джефф Бек, Ричи Самбора, Дэвид Гилмор, Стив Миллер, Брайан Мэй и многие другие — стала номинантом на премию Грэмми.

«Now» и «Live»

Вторая половина девяностых была ознаменована выходом таких достойных альбомов, как «Now» и «Live». Каждый из дисков был опубликован как по отдельности, так и в сочетании друг с другом. Такой ход был вполне обоснован: хоть работы и изобиловали свежими вещами, старых песен Free и Bad Company в них также было много, что, несомненно, порадовало фанатов обеих групп. С выходом новых пластинок Роджерс организовал мировое турне в их поддержку, а также выпустил прославленный сингл «Soul Of Love», который застрял в радиоэфире более чем на шесть месяцев.

Bad Company и Electric

Под завершение прошлого столетия Пол принял участие в воссоединении классического состава Bad Company. Однако с возрастанием своего влияния в качестве сольного артиста, не уходя далеко от стилистики своих старых бэндов, Роджерс вернулся с роскошным сольником Electric. Композиция «Drifters», выпущенная синглом с упомянутой пластинки, провела в горячей десятке хитов целых два месяца.

Брайан Мэй и Queen

Пол Роджерс и Брайан Мэй
Пол Роджерс и Брайан Мэй

В течение последующих трёх лет музыкант исколесил весь мир, причём как с Bad Company, так и в одиночестве. В 2004 году Роджерс поучаствовал в праздновании пятидесятого юбилея Fender Stratocaster, вместе с другими прославленными артистами, включая Брайана Мэйя, бессменного гитариста группы Queen. Вместе эти двое исполнили «All Right Now», что стало новой точкой отсчёта как в карьере каждого из них, так и в сотрудничестве.

Не успело пройти и пары месяцев с того выступления, как Пол в компании двух Квинов уехали гастролировать под проектом «Queen + Paul Rodgers». В результате этого турне был выпущен роскошный концертник «Return Of The Champions». Но уже в 2009-ом Роджерс объявил, что покидает проект, чтобы развиваться в качестве сольного артиста. Последующие годы музыкант проводил туры вместе с воссоединёнными Bad Company, давал сольные концерты и даже подготовил потрясающую программу под названием «The Royal Sessions», в которой смело заявил о своём интересе к жанру соул.

Пол Роджерс — независимый, сильный и ничем не ограниченный исполнитель. Его голос — яркий штрих в истории рока прошлого столетия…

10kFollowers

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Похожие статьи

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...

Им нет равных – вспоминаем легендарных джазовых исполнителей, которым пытались подражать миллионы

Вспоминаем лучших джазовых исполнителей за всю историю Многие описывают джазовую музыку как ритмичную, эмоциональную, свободную и плавную. Этот легендарно известный и вот уже долгие десятилетия...