Author:
Category:

The Crazy Parisian Sessions That Spawned Three Classic Beatles Songs

The crazy Parisian sessions are truly a powerful quintessence of what made The Beatles such a colossal pop culture! Faced with a busy live schedule and a hysterical crowd in Paris, the band still managed to find time to write some of the most fun and popular songs of their early canon...

How the Beatles sessions in Paris were held - the events of 1964

When The Beatles landed at paris in 1964 year, they were already some of the most powerful songwriters the world has ever seen! It was during this period "Fab Four from Liverpool" quickly became the most in-demand band on the planet... The world was literally buzzing with Beatlemania, and as the group set about implementing their plan to achieve the title of pop idol, the demand for more and more "content" became stronger... This meant that during the tour the band will also have to actively write new material. But back to the topic...

So: January 14, 1964, without Ringo Starra, The Beatles went to Paris to play their first concerts in France, having already performed before a large German audience. During the performance, the group lived in a prestigious hotel. George V, and to increase productivity, a piano was installed in their room. With John Lennon and Paul McCartney's close songwriting collaboration, it was expected that the Beatles would do their best and write some new pop masterpieces. As a result, in the belly of a Parisian hotel, they will write three of them ...

How it all began: arrival in Paris

The Beatles in Paris, 1964
The Beatles in Paris, 1964

In a grueling set of performances that no artist could complete today, The Beatles played 18 days concerts at the Parisian theater "Olympia", playing up to three sets every day ... The group's fame quickly grew, and although France never hosted "Magnificent Four" too close to the heart, when the musicians landed, they were still greeted by a huge crowd ...

During this period, the group prepared A Hard Day's Night, and expected to submit songs for the album and film in three intense writing sessions, the first of which took place at the George V Hotel. "Can't Buy Me Love", "If I Fell" and "I Should Have Known Better" — they were all three of the most beloved songs on the album! They appeared when Lennon and McCartney staring at each other, banging on the piano keys and trying to find the right tune ...

John Lennon and Paul McCartney
John Lennon and Paul McCartney

The band's debut film has always put pressure on the two main songwriters - Paul and John. They felt the need to bring moments of pop perfection to the screen and ensure that the album surpassed their previous efforts. The upright piano set up in the Beatles' hotel room was most likely a demon looming in the corner, demanding that they sacrifice their blood, sweat, and tears in the name of their craft... And they did, writing three sumptuous tracks...

A little about the songs themselves

The Beatles in Paris, 1964
The Beatles in Paris, 1964

Faced with writing their new album, the band turned their attention to several aspects in songwriting − Lennon and McCartney wanted to give them a cheerfulness! New pop songs needed direction and Paul McCartney, in particular, has always looked for inspiration in the past:

“Can't Buy Me Love is my attempt at a blues style. The idea was that all these material things are very good, but they won't give me what I really want. It was a very interesting song. Later, Ella Fitzgerald performed her own version, for which I was very flattered ... "

Although the song was reportedly written by Paul in a hotel George V together with John, Lennon usually distanced himself from this track:

“It belongs entirely to Paul. Maybe I had something to do with the chorus, I don’t remember exactly… Anyway, I always thought it was his song…”

After a dazzling number Paul McCartney it seems right that Lennon should have released his ballad. So, the next song supposedly written in the hotel was a great "If I Fell"… Talking about this track, John confessed:

“This is my first attempt at writing a ballad properly… It was the precursor to In My Life. "If I Fell" has the same chord progression as "In My Life": D minor, B minor, etc. And it's semi-autobiographical, but not consciously. It shows that I wrote sentimental love ballads, stupid love songs, a long time ago…”

In its turn McCartney always noted that this song shows the other side of the usually polarizing figure John Lennon:

“People often forget that John wrote some good ballads. People tend to think of him as a sharp, aggressive wit, but in fact he always had a very warm side that he didn't want to show too much... We wrote "If I Fell" together, but with an emphasis on John, because he sang. It was a good harmonious number, very similar to a ballad!”

Another song, apparently the last one written with piano accompaniment, was "I Should Have Known Better". It is noteworthy, but one of the authors did not like this composition - Lennon said it was "just a song that doesn't mean a damn thing!" But the track is still an accurate reflection of a pop group that gained its strength as it was influenced by the nations New York, namely Bob Dylan and his harmonica! It's also one of the cleanest scenes in the movie where the group plays cards on the train while the wife-to-be George Harrison - Patty Boyd peacefully watching...

Finally…

The crazy Parisian sessions are truly a powerful quintessence of what made The Beatles such a colossal pop culture! Faced with a busy live schedule and a hysterical crowd in Paris, the band still managed to find time to write some of the most fun and popular songs of their early canon... Given a piano and a few hours a day to share their thoughts and sketches, Paul McCartney and John Lennon could write such a popular song as "Can't Buy Me Love"under the most unusual circumstances!

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

Безумные парижские сессии, породившие три классические песни The Beatles

Безумные парижские сессии — поистине мощная квинтэссенция того, что сделало The Beatles столь колоссальной поп-культурой! Столкнувшись в Париже с плотным графиком живых выступлений и с истеричной публикой, группе всё же удалось найти время, чтобы написать некоторые из самых весёлых и популярных песен своего раннего канона...

Как проходили сессии «Битлз» в Париже – события 1964 года

Когда The Beatles приземлились в Париже в 1964 году, они уже были одними из самых могущественных авторов песен, которых когда-либо видел мир! Именно в этот период «Великолепная четвёрка из Ливерпуля» быстро стала самой востребованной группой на планете… Мир буквально гудел от битломании, и по мере того, как группа приступила к реализации своего плана по достижению титула поп-кумиров, требования о всё большем и большем количестве «контента» становились всё сильнее… Это означало, что во время турне группе придётся ещё и активно писать новый материал. Но вернёмся к теме…

Итак: 14 января 1964 года, без Ринго Старра, The Beatles отправились в Париж, чтобы отыграть свои первые концерты во Франции, уже выступив до этого перед многочисленной немецкой аудиторией. Во время выступления группа проживала в престижном отеле George V, и, чтобы повысить продуктивность, в их номере было установлено пианино. Ожидалось, что благодаря плотному сотрудничеству Джона Леннона и Пола Маккартни в области написания песен, «битлы» приложат максимум усилий и напишут несколько новых поп-шедевров. В итоге в чреве парижского отеля они напишут три из них…

С чего всё начиналось: прибытие в Париж

The Beatles в Париже, 1964 год
The Beatles в Париже, 1964 год

В изнурительном наборе выступлений, который ни один артист не смог бы завершить сегодня, The Beatles отыграли 18 дней концертов в парижском театре «Олимпия», играя до трёх сетов каждый день… Слава группы быстро росла, и хотя Франция никогда не принимала «Великолепную четвёрку» слишком близко к сердцу, когда музыканты приземлились, они всё же были встречены огромной толпой…

В этот период группа готовила A Hard Day’s Night, и рассчитывала представить песни для альбома и фильма за три интенсивных сочинения, первое из которых прошло в отеле George V. В результате него на свет появились «Can’t Buy Me Love», «If I Fell» и «I Should Have Known Better» — все они были тремя из самых любимых песен альбома! Появились они, когда Леннон и Маккартни уставились друг на друга, стуча по клавишам пианино и пытаясь найти нужный мотив…

Джон Леннон и Пол Маккартни
Джон Леннон и Пол Маккартни

Дебютный фильм группы всегда оказывал давление на двух основных авторов песен — Пола и Джона. Они чувствовали необходимость воспроизводить на экране моменты совершенства поп-музыки и следить за тем, чтобы альбом превосходил их предыдущие усилия. Вертикальное пианино, установленное в гостиничном номере «битлов», скорее всего, представляло собой надвигающегося в углу демона, требующего, чтобы они пожертвовали своей кровью, потом и слезами во имя своего мастерства… И они это сделали, написав три роскошных трека…

Немного о самих песнях

The Beatles в Париже, 1964 год
The Beatles в Париже, 1964 год

Столкнувшись с написанием своего нового альбома, группа обратила внимание на несколько аспектов в написании песен — Леннон и Маккартни хотели придать им жизнерадостность! Новые поп-песни нуждались в направлении, и Пол Маккартни, в особенности, всегда искал вдохновения в прошлом:

«Композиция «Can’t Buy Me Love» — это моя попытка создать блюзовый стиль. Идея заключалась в том, что все эти материальные ценности очень хороши, но они не дадут мне то, что я действительно хочу. Это была очень интересная песня. Позднее Элла Фицджеральд исполнила свою версию, за которую я был очень польщён…»

Хотя, как сообщается, песня была написана Полом в отеле George V совместно с Джоном, Леннон обычно дистанцировался от этого трека:

«Это полностью принадлежит Полу. Может быть, я имел какое-то отношение к припеву, не помню точно… В любом случае, я всегда считал это его песней…»

После ослепительного номера Пола Маккартни кажется правильным, что Леннон должен был выпустить свою балладу. Так, следующей песней, якобы написанной в отеле, была великолепная «If I Fell»… Говоря об этом треке, Джон исповедуется:

«Это моя первая попытка написать балладу как следует… Это было предшественником «In My Life». В «If I Fell» та же последовательность аккордов, что и в «In My Life»: ре минор, си минор и тому подобное. И это полуавтобиографично, но не осознанно. Это показывает, что я писал сентиментальные любовные баллады, глупые любовные песни, когда-то давно…»

В свою очередь Маккартни всегда отмечал, что эта песня показывает другую сторону обычно поляризующей фигуры Джона Леннона:

«Люди часто забывают, что Джон написал несколько хороших баллад. Люди склонны думать о нём как о резком, агрессивном остроумии, но на самом деле у него всегда была очень тёплая сторона, которую он не хотел слишком показывать… Мы написали «If I Fell» вместе, но с акцентом на Джона, потому что он её спел. Это был хороший гармоничный номер, очень похожий на балладу!»

Ещё одна песня, очевидно последняя написанная под аккомпанементы пианино, была «I Should Have Known Better». Примечательно, но эта композиция не нравилась одному из авторов — Леннон сказал, что это «просто песня, которая ни черта не значит!» Но трек по-прежнему является точным отражением поп-группы, обретшей свою силу, поскольку на него повлияли народы Нью-Йорка, а именно Боб Дилан и его губная гармошка! Это также одна из самых чистых сцен в фильме, где группа играет в карты в поезде, в то время как будущая жена Джорджа Харрисона — Патти Бойд — мирно наблюдает…

Напоследок…

Безумные парижские сессии — поистине мощная квинтэссенция того, что сделало The Beatles столь колоссальной поп-культурой! Столкнувшись в Париже с плотным графиком живых выступлений и с истеричной публикой, группе всё же удалось найти время, чтобы написать некоторые из самых весёлых и популярных песен своего раннего канона… Получив пианино и несколько часов в день, чтобы делиться своими мыслями и зарисовками, Пол Маккартни и Джон Леннон могли написать такую популярную песню, как «Can’t Buy Me Love», при самых необычных обстоятельствах!

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...