Author:
Category:

The story of the most famous song in the career of Chris de Burgh: about "The Lady in Red"

"I don't want to risk my marriage and my family anymore..."

On the song "Lady in Red", which has become a huge part of the cultural landscape of Great Britain

Composition "The Lady in Red" became most famous in the career of British-Irish singer-songwriter Chris de Burgh. It was released in 1986 as the second single from the album Into the Light. Soon the track became a hit, and today the author owes him his loud, well-known name all over the world. Exactly "Lady in Red" widely glorified de Burgh and turned him into a cult star. The lyrics were inspired by the artist's wife, Diane Davison: the girl came to watch Chris' performances at his parents' hotel, and the couple ended up signing. Chris and Diane have been together since 1977, despite the fact that their love story has also seen dark times ...

History of creation

Chris de Burgh
Chris de Burgh

By the end of the 80s, a song about "Lady in Red" has become a huge part of the cultural landscape in the UK. At the same time, many listeners to this day cannot come to the conclusion: was this composition the sweetest love lyric or is it an overly sentimental "pop"? One way or another, well "The Lady in Red" remains a big hit even decades later.

https://youtu.be/2h6xe4H4qBA

The story of this song began on a sad note. De Burgh started writing love lyrics after a quarrel with Diane. According to the author, he managed to finish his creation with great difficulty. Largely because of the name: initially, Chris planned to call his masterpiece "The Way You Look Tonight", but a song with that name already existed ... The problem was solved by chance: a few months later, Burg went to a nightclub, where he saw Diane in a charming red dress. It was like a sign from above, prompting Chris to the idea of the name.

Meaning and inspiration

Chris de Burgh in his youth
Chris de Burgh in his youth

The song tells about the bright feelings of a man for a woman, but was "The Lady in Red" is devoted Diane? It is difficult to answer this question, because Burg himself contradicts his own words. In one interview, the author stated that the composition was inspired by the memories of their first meeting with Diane ... De Burgh also added that in this song he sings about how some men often can't even remember what their wives were wearing when they first met. Chris later stated that the song is not about his wife, but about recognizing the most important people in life:

“In general, this song is dedicated to the most important people in our lives, whom we often take for granted. This is selfish! We often do not even pay attention to what attracted us in a person at our first meeting ... But this is important. This is part of our memories, part of our destiny and our choice,” commented the musician.

Graduation and Success

Musician Chris de Burgh
Musician Chris de Burgh

"The Lady in Red" released as the second single from the album Into the Light in 1986. Very quickly, the song became a hit - and not only in the UK, but also in many other countries: the first line in the charts of Canada, de Burgh's native Ireland, Belgium ... It was an unquestioning success. In the US, the track reached the top 3. Due to the success of the single, the album also took prestigious positions in the charts and was popular with listeners. For de Burgh, it was his first entry in the UK Top 40.

Not without criticism. At the beginning of the noughties "The Lady in Red" was named the tenth most annoying song of all time in a Dotmusic poll. Rolling Stone readers voted it the third worst song of the 1980s, and British news site Gigwise voted it "Lady in Red" as the worst love song of all time. Nevertheless, all these results did not affect the popularity and influence of the composition. Curiously, this was the favorite song of Princess Diana, comedian Mel Smith and many other famous personalities.

Music video and use in film

We bring to your attention the music video for the song, which has gained more than 14 million views on YouTube with 2016 of the year:

Composition "The Lady in Red" popular in cinema: vivid examples of its use are films "American Psycho", "Bouncers" and "Oh Moms".

Lastly

Chris de Burgh with family
Chris de Burgh with family

In the middle 90s de Burgh revealed that he had a torrid affair with a 19-year-old nanny he hired when Diane was recovering from an accident while riding a horse. The musician publicly repented, but said that he was very happy that he and Diane managed to maintain family happiness:

“I don’t want to risk my marriage and my family anymore…”

She and Diane have two sons and a daughter named Rosannawho won the Miss World contest! This family seems to be doing really well.

"Didn't want to, but became part of the story" - Abbey Road cover man

Paul Cole is the man on the cover of Abbey Road: History and Facts It's been over half a century since the Beatles released their masterpiece "Abbey...

Simon Le Bon - Top 6 Facts About the Duran Duran Vocalist

Simon Le Bon - interesting facts about the vocalist of Duran Duran Few bands have been as influential as Duran Duran in the 1980s. The British kings of the new wave...

Who is she - the woman from the cover of the legendary Black Sabbath album

The woman on the cover of the Black Sabbath album - who is she: history and facts The 1970 release of Black Sabbath's debut album changed the music industry forever. This...
Related Articles

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

Домой Хиты Хиты 80-х История самой известной песни в карьере Криса де Бурга: о «The Lady in Red»

История самой известной песни в карьере Криса де Бурга: о «The Lady in Red»

0
История самой известной песни в карьере Криса де Бурга: о «The Lady in Red»
The Lady in Red – Крис де Бург (обложка сингла)

О песне «Дама в красном», ставшей огромной частью культурного ландшафта Великобритании

Композиция «The Lady in Red» стала самой известной в карьере британо-ирландского певца и автора песен Криса де Бурга. Она увидела свет в 1986 году в качестве второго сингла из альбома Into the Light. Вскоре трек стал хитом, и сегодня автор обязан ему своим громким, хорошо известным во всём мире именем. Именно «Леди в красном» широко прославила де Бурга и превратила его в культовую звезду. Лирика была вдохновлена супругой исполнителя, Дайан Дэвисон: девушка приходила смотреть выступления Криса в отеле его родителей, и в конечном итоге пара расписалась. Крис и Дайан вместе с 1977 года, несмотря на то, что история их любви видела и мрачные времена…

История создания

Крис де Бург
Крис де Бург

Уже к концу 80-х песня про «леди в красном» стала огромной частью культурного ландшафта в Великобритании. При этом многие слушатели по сей день не могут прийти к выводу: была ли данная композиция самой сладкой лирикой о любви или она представляет собой излишне сентиментальную «попсу»? Так или иначе, а «The Lady in Red» остаётся большим хитом даже спустя десятилетия.

История этой песни началась с грустной ноты. Де Бург приступил к написанию любовной лирики после ссоры с Дайан. По словам автора, ему с большим трудом удалось закончить своё творение. Во многом из-за названия: первоначально Крис планировал называть свой шедевр «The Way You Look Tonight», но песня с таким названием уже существовала… Проблема была решена волей случая: спустя несколько месяцев Бург отправился в ночной клуб, где увидел Дайан в очаровательном красном платье. Это был словно знак свыше, натолкнувший Криса на идею названия.

Смысл и источник вдохновения

Крис де Бург в молодости...
Крис де Бург в молодости

Песня повествует о светлых чувствах мужчины к женщине, но была ли «The Lady in Red» посвящена Дайан? Ответить на этот вопрос трудно, ибо сам Бург противоречит собственным словам. В одном интервью автор заявил, что композиция была вдохновлена воспоминаниями об их с Дайан первой встрече… Де Бург также добавил, что в этой песне он поёт о том, как некоторые мужчины часто не могут даже вспомнить, во что были одеты их жёны, когда они впервые встретились. Позже Крис заявил, что песня не о его жене, а о признании самых важных людей в жизни:

«В целом, эта песня посвящена самым важным людям в нашей жизни, которых мы зачастую воспринимаем как должное. Это эгоистично! Мы часто даже не обращаем внимание на то, что привлекло нас в человеке при первой нашей встрече… А ведь это важно. Это часть наших воспоминаний, часть нашей судьбы и нашего выбора», — прокомментировал музыкант.

Выпуск и успех

Музыкант Крис де Бург
Музыкант Крис де Бург

«The Lady in Red» вышла в качестве второго сингла из альбома Into the Light в 1986 году. Очень быстро песня стала хитом — причём не только в Великобритании, но и во многих других странах: первая строчка в чартах Канады, родной для де Бурга Ирландии, Бельгии… Это был беспрекословный успех. В США трек добрался до топ-3. Благодаря успеху сингла альбом также занимал престижные строчки в чартах и пользовался популярностью у слушателей. Для де Бурга это была его первая песня, вошедшая в британский топ-40.

Не обошлось и без критики. В начале нулевых «The Lady in Red» была названа десятой самой раздражающей песней всех времён по результатам опроса Dotmusic. Читатели Rolling Stone признали её третьей худшей песней 1980-х годов, а британский новостной сайт Gigwise и вовсе определил «Леди в красном» как худшую песню о любви за всё время. Тем не менее все эти итоги никак не сказались на популярности и влиянии композиции. Любопытно, но это была любимая песня принцессы Дианы, комика Мела Смита и многих других известных личностей.

Музыкальное видео и использование в фильме

Предлагаем вашему вниманию музыкальный видеоряд к песне, который набрал более 14 млн просмотров на YouTube с 2016 года:

Композиция «The Lady in Red» популярна в кинематографе: яркие примеры с её использованием — фильмы «Американский психопат», «Вышибалы» и «Ой, мамочки».

Напоследок

Крис де Бург с семьёй
Крис де Бург с семьёй

В середине 90-х годов де Бург рассказал, что у него был бурный роман с 19-летней няней, которую он нанял, когда Дайан восстанавливалась после несчастного случая во время езды на лошади. Музыкант публично раскаялся, но заявил, что очень счастлив, что им с Дайан удалось сохранить семейное счастье:

«Я больше не хочу рисковать своим браком и своей семьёй…»

У них с Дайан два сына и дочь по имени Розанна, которая выиграла конкурс «Мисс Мира»! Кажется, у этой семьи действительно всё прекрасно.

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

36 + = 46