Author:

Category:

"The Queen Is Dead" - about the legendary album by The Smiths

Telling the story of the iconic "Dead Queen" by The Smiths...

History of the album "The Queen Is Dead" by The Smiths

The Queen Is Dead - the third studio album by the British The Smiths. It was released in June 1986 year - more 30 years ago! The album stayed on the UK charts. 22 weeks, taking second place. She also entered the American Billboard 200 and became gold at the beginning of the new decade ... Many years later, The Queen Is Dead entered the list of Rolling Stone magazine "The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time", and NME magazine called this album greatest in history... But what is his own history? Let's find out together!

Prerequisites

The Smiths at the hotel
The Smiths at the hotel

History The Queen Is Dead starts in the middle 80s years when Smiths toured the UK: it was then that the guitarist Johnny Marr wrote the music for several songs that later appeared on the album ... The title of the record was inspired by the novel Hubert Selby Jr. "Last Exit to Brooklyn". The cover was decorated by a French actor Alain Delon: a frame from the movie was selected by the group 1964 of the year "Insumi".

Produced by Marr himself, vocalist Morrisseyand also an engineer Stephen Street. Concerning Marra, then in his words - a huge influence on him at that time was Stooges, Velvet Underground, as well as Detroit garage rock. By the way: at that time the group had problems with the Rough Trade record label. But, fortunately, this did not prevent the Smiths from recording a first-class record!

“The three of us had a great, very warm working relationship. We were about the same age, and were into similar things… In the studio, we felt as relaxed and comfortable as possible!” Street later recalled.

Recording

The Smiths
The Smiths

The first song recorded for "Dead Queen", became "The Boy with the Thorn in His Side": initially the track was conceived as a demo, but soon all the participants of the recording considered it to be a great single! And they did not lose: after the release in September of the same year, it reached 23rd positions in UK Singles Chart! Pretty good result… The Smiths soon recorded "Bigmouth Strikes Again" and "Some Girls Are Bigger Than Other". In general - most of the album was recorded in winter 1985 years at Jacob Studios in Farnham: the record then had the working title Margaret on the Guillotine. The self-titled "The Queen Is Dead" was one of the last songs recorded for the album... And for Frankly, Mr. Shankly Smiths asked Linda McCartney to play the piano, but she refused, and the first double with the trumpeter was canceled ...

The Queen is Dead Musical album – The Smiths
The Queen is Dead Musical album – The Smiths

Release and critical reception

The Queen Is Dead released in June 1986 of the year. Despite the fact that commercial success was moderate, the album still became an international hit! It did not leave the European chart for 22 weeks, and at the beginning 90s became gold in the United States ... According to Marra, single "Bigmouth Strikes Again", leading up to the release of the record, was supposed to let the fans know that the Smiths are here again!

The critics were favorable. Some noted that The Queen Is Dead "represents everything that is admirable and at the same time annoying in British new music", others even called this record the best of its kind for the period 80s years ... Interest in The Queen Is Dead did not fade even decades later: for example, in 2006, the magazine NME called it "the greatest British album in history ..." List all the credits and lists that included The Queen Is Dead, is possible ad infinitum. But what's the point, if it's so obvious: this is an album you can get lost in... It has depth, focus and at least some great melodies! It's easy to see why this album is so highly regarded by The Smiths fans...

Tracks

Total album included 10 tracks. Opening the list is a song of the same name based on a song that Marr started writing as a teenager... "The Boy with the Thorn in His Side" was written as a light piece while on tour in the spring of 1985. Lyric refers to experience Smiths in the music business… Track "Cemetry Gates" became a late addition to the album. Remarkable, but at first Marr did not believe that the guitar part was interesting enough to develop it, however Morrissey did not agree with this (fortunately).

"The Queen Is Dead"

Frankly, Mr. Shankly"

"I Know It's Over"

"Never Had No One Ever"

"Cemetry Gates"

"Bigmouth Strikes Again"

"The Boy with the Thorn in His Side"

"Vicar in a Tutu"

"There Is a Light That Never Goes Out"

"Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others"

Finally…

The Smiths outside the Salford Lads Club. Photo: Stephen Wright
The Smiths outside the Salford Lads Club. Photo: Stephen Wright

Masterpiece Smiths 1986 of the year is still a lasting testament to 80s Britpop, the complex relationship between performer and fan, and the ecstasy of emptiness ... Certainly: without wit and strange visions Morrissey would not be The Queen Is Dead, absolutely - how would this legendary album not exist without the beauty brought to work Marr… It is a pity that the two subsequently parted ways for reasons that are still not fully explained. These two geniuses are made for each other - and of course, deep down they still know it...

10kFollowers

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Related Articles

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Автор:

Категория:

«The Queen Is Dead» – о легендарном альбоме The Smiths

Рассказываем историю культовой «Мёртвой королевы» The Smiths...

История альбома «The Queen Is Dead» группы The Smiths

The Queen Is Dead — третий студийный альбом британцев The Smiths. Он был выпущен в июне 1986 года — более 30-ти лет назад! Пластинка продержалась в британском чарте 22 недели, заняв второе место. Она также вошла в американский Billboard 200 и уже в начале нового десятилетия стала золотой… Спустя много лет The Queen Is Dead вошла в список журнала Rolling Stone «500 лучших альбомов всех времён», а журнал NME назвал этот альбом величайшим в истории… Однако какова его собственная история? Предлагаем узнать вместе!

Предпосылки

Группа The Smiths в отеле
Группа The Smiths в отеле

История The Queen Is Dead берёт своё начало в середине 80-х годов, когда Smiths гастролировали по Великобритании: именно тогда гитарист Джонни Марр написал музыку для нескольких песен, которые, впоследствии, появились на альбоме… Название пластинки было вдохновлено романом Хьюберта Селби-младшего «Последний поворот на Бруклин». Обложку украсил французский актёр Ален Делон: группой был выбран кадр из фильма 1964 года «Инсуми».

Продюсированием занимались сам Марр, вокалист Моррисси, а также инженер Стивен Стрит. Что касается Марра, то с его слов — огромное влияние в тот период на него оказали Stooges, Velvet Underground, а также детройтский гаражный рок. К слову: на тот момент у группы были проблемы с рекорд-лейблом Rough Trade. Но, к счастью, это не помешало Smiths записать первоклассную пластинку!

«У нас троих были отличные, очень тёплые рабочие отношения. Мы были примерно одного возраста, и увлекались похожими вещами… В студии мы чувствовали себя максимально расслабленно и уютно!» — вспоминал впоследствии Стрит.

Запись

Группа The Smiths
Группа The Smiths

Первой песней, записанной для «Мёртвой королевы», стала «The Boy with the Thorn in His Side»: изначально трек был задуман как демо, однако вскоре все участники записи сочли его за отличный сингл! И не прогадали: после выпуска в сентябре того же года он достиг 23-ей позиции в UK Singles Chart! Довольно неплохой результат… Вскоре Smiths записали «Bigmouth Strikes Again» и «Some Girls Are Bigger Than Other». В целом — большая часть альбома была записана зимой 1985 года на студии Jacob Studios в Фарнеме: тогда пластинка носила рабочее название Margaret on the Guillotine. Одноимённая «The Queen Is Dead» стала одной из последних песен, записанных для альбома… А для «Frankly, Mr. Shankly» Smiths попросили Линду Маккартни сыграть на фортепиано, однако та отказала, и первый дубль с трубачом был отменён…

The Queen is Dead Музыкальный альбом – The Smiths
The Queen is Dead Музыкальный альбом – The Smiths

Выпуск и критический приём

The Queen Is Dead вышел в свет в июне 1986 года. Несмотря на то, что коммерческий успех был умеренным, альбом всё же стал международным хитом! Он не покидал европейский чарт 22 недели, а в начале 90-х стал золотым в Соединённых Штатах… Со слов Марра, сингл «Bigmouth Strikes Again», предшествующий выходу пластинки, должен был дать поклонникам понять, что Smiths снова здесь!

Критики были благосклонны. Некоторые отметили, что The Queen Is Dead «олицетворяет всё, что достойно восхищения и в то же время раздражает в британской новой музыке», другие и вовсе назвали эту пластинку лучшей в своём роде за период 80-х годов… Интерес к The Queen Is Dead не угас даже спустя десятилетия: так, в 2006 году журнал NME назвал его «величайшим британским альбомом в истории…» Перечислять все заслуги и списки, в которые вошёл The Queen Is Dead, можно до бесконечности. Но какой в этом смысл, если и так очевидно: это альбом, в котором можно потеряться… В нём есть глубина, фокус и как минимум несколько отличных мелодий! Легко понять, почему этот альбом так высоко ценится фанатами The Smiths…

Треки

Всего в альбом вошло 10 треков. Открывает список одноимённая композиция, основанная на песне, которую Марр начал писать в подростковом возрасте… «The Boy with the Thorn in His Side» была написана как лёгкое произведение во время турне весной 1985 года. Лирика отсылает к опыту Smiths в музыкальном бизнесе… Трек «Cemetry Gates» стал поздним дополнением к альбому. Примечательно, но поначалу Марр не верил, что партия гитары достаточно интересна, чтобы развить её, однако Моррисси не согласился с этим (к счастью).

«The Queen Is Dead»

«Frankly, Mr. Shankly»

«I Know It’s Over»

«Never Had No One Ever»

«Cemetry Gates»

«Bigmouth Strikes Again»

«The Boy with the Thorn in His Side»

«Vicar in a Tutu»

«There Is a Light That Never Goes Out»

«Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others»

Напоследок…

The Smiths возле Клуба Солфорд Ладс. Фото: Стивен Райт
The Smiths возле Клуба Солфорд Ладс. Фото: Стивен Райт

Шедевр Smiths 1986 года до сих пор является непреходящим свидетельством брит-попа 80-х, сложных взаимоотношений между исполнителем и поклонником, а также экстаза пустоты… Безусловно: без остроумия и странных видений Моррисси не было бы The Queen Is Dead, ровным счётом — как не было бы этого легендарного альбома без красоты, привнесённой в работу Марром… Жаль, что впоследствии эти двое разошлись по причинам, которые до сих пор не полностью объяснены. Эти два гения созданы друг для друга — и, конечно же, в глубине души они всё ещё знают это…

10kFollowers

Классические альбомы молодых музыкантов, которые бросили вызов возрасту и всему миру

Классика, выпущенная подростками: альбомы, представленные молодыми музыкантами и ставшие шедеврами Всем битлам было за 20, когда они записали серию альбомов, изменивших мир рок-н-ролла. Но это...

Сочетание силы и утончённой красоты – вспоминаем Томми Болина

Вспоминаем Томми Болина, одну из самых молодых легенд гитары Во время последнего живого выступления Томми Болина на разогреве у Джеффа Бека, 3 декабря 1976 года,...

Тони Айомми – легенда тяжёлого звука и просто «самый крутой ребёнок на блоке»

Тони Айомми и секрет его легендарно известного стиля игры Человек в чёрном, чьё уникальное звучание восходит к несчастному случаю – Тони Айомми переписал историю рока,...

Похожие статьи

«Истерия»: как Def Leppard довели мир до безумия

История альбома «Hysteria» – культовой классики Def Leppard Пластинка «Hysteria», наполненная хитами, по-прежнему считается определяющим моментом в карьере Def Leppard и остаётся такой же актуальной...

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...