Author:
Category:

Jimi Hendrix (Jimi Hendrix) - All about the musician: biography and facts

Jimi Hendrix is the greatest guitarist of all time! Musician's story...

Jimi Hendrix. History of the musician

He was called the greatest guitarist, included in various musical ratings and lists, he was awarded the most prestigious prizes and awards ... However, he only pointedly brushed aside any labels, striving to achieve the perfect sound, trying to comprehend the true performing art.

Hendrix was a tireless seeker and enthusiast, dreaming of learning to "read" music. He sincerely hated and reproached himself for the fact that he could not take certain notes, play all the sounds that flickered in his head and imagination.

Jimi Hendrix. When music becomes religion...
Jimi Hendrix. When Music Becomes Religion...

Childhood

The future guitarist was born on November 27, 1942 in a suburb of Seattle in a simple family of American hard workers. At birth, he was named Johnny Allen, but his father, who returned from the front, reacted extremely negatively to such a choice of name and changed it to James Marshall. The pseudonym "Jimi Hendrix" known to the public was assigned to the musician only in 1966, when he first arrived in London. Bass player Chas Chandler, then playing in The Animals, advised him to choose a more sonorous and memorable name. He subsequently became Hendrix's manager.

James Allen Hendrix with son Jimi
James Allen Hendrix with son Jimi

The legendary guitarist never graduated from high school, instead enlisting in the US Army. He became a member of the 101st Kentucky Airborne Group, where he was a trainee paratrooper. A year later, Hendrix already had more than twenty jumps. During the twenty-sixth, something went wrong and the musician landed badly, breaking his ankles. By decision of the medical commission, he was decommissioned into reserve and went home.

Jimi Hendrix in the army
Jimi Hendrix in the army

First guitar

Hendrix's father was a stern and very demanding man, but this did not prevent him from discerning musical inclinations in his son in time. When Jimi was fifteen, he gave him his first guitar. It was an acoustic instrument bought from a local store for five dollars. Hendrix began his career as a guitarist under the pseudonym "Morris James". Returning from the army, he completely immersed himself in music, forgetting about other activities and hobbies. Thanks to this, by the mid-1960s he was able to work with such cult performers as Tina Turner, Sam Cooke and many others.

Little Richard and Jimi Hendrix
Little Richard and Jimi Hendrix

In London

Deciding to follow the example of his British guitar idols, Hendrix went to conquer London. He arrived in the capital of Great Britain on September 24, 1966. At that time, the artist's only property was a small travel bag that contained his favorite guitar, a set of change of clothes, acne cream and pink plastic curlers. Hendrix was accompanied by his faithful friend (and part-time manager) Chas Chandler. It was he who persuaded the future rock star to this journey, promising a meeting with Eric Clapton. Surprisingly, Chandler managed to keep his promise, and already after 48 hours his ward was on the same stage with the then-popular Cream group.

Chas Chandler (Animals bassist and Jimi's manager) along with Jimi Hendrix
Chas Chandler (Animals bassist and Jimi's manager) along with Jimi Hendrix

The audience was mesmerized by the extraordinary and extravagant performances of Hendrix: he could play with only his teeth, holding the instrument behind his back, and at the same time not touching the strings with his hands. Such a virtuoso technique helped the musician earn the fame of a showman.

Jimi Hendrix (Jimi Hendrix)
Jimi Hendrix (Jimi Hendrix)

Hendrix has admitted that his favorite guitar is the Fender Stratocaste. However, he occasionally used models such as the Fender Duo-Sonic, Flying V, and Les Paul in performances.

Jimi Hendrix (Jimi Hendrix)
Jimi Hendrix (Jimi Hendrix)

The guitarist called his own music "electric church", perceived it as a real religion. Hendrix's faith is reflected in the Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle, one of the halls of which is called the Heavenly Temple. When creating it, the designers were inspired by the ideas of Hendrix, trying to model a place where people of different races and ages could come together just to feel the music.

Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle, one of the halls of which is called the "Heavenly Temple"
Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle, one of the halls of which is called the "Heavenly Temple"

One of Hendrix's fans was Paul Allen, better known as the co-founder of Microsoft. He was also born in Seattle, was extremely annoyed that in his city there was not a single place dedicated to the guitarist. In 1992, Allen proposed the establishment of the Jim Hendrix Museum. The musician's family supported the idea, but during the implementation of the plan, Frank Gehry joined the project. He greatly expanded on the initial idea, transforming Hendrix's house of fame into a massive, innovative arts complex, the "Experience Music Project".

In 1969, the guitarist performed the US national anthem at the popular Woodstock Music Festival. Contrary to the considered opinion, the action was not at all patriotic in nature, but conceived as a protest against the occupation of Vietnam. The then manager advised the performer to abandon the dangerous idea, but he did not succumb to persuasion. A close friend of Hendrix was the jazz musician Miles Davis, with whom he became close during a period of serious "personal problems". Together they planned to record an album, but the dreams of a duet were never realized. Later critics noted that it was the friendship with Jimi that made Davis move away from classical jazz forms completely.

Jimi Hendrix
Jimi Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix passed away on September 18, 1970. There are many mysterious theories and legends around his untimely death. His then-girlfriend, Monica Charlotte Daneman, who witnessed his untimely death, claimed that the musician died by choking on his own vomit. However, the testimony of the woman was so confused, strange, and sometimes completely contradictory, that they were often questioned, adding even more mysticism to the tragic event. One way or another, the guitarist died at the twenty-seventh year of his life, forcing his devoted fans to put on mourning things. He left at the peak of his popularity, imprinted in the memory of millions with a bright flash!

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

Jimi Hendrix (Джими Хендрикс) – Всё о музыканте: биография и факты

Джими Хендрикса – величайший гитарист всех времён! История музыканта...

Джими Хендрикс. История музыканта

Его называли величайшим гитаристом, включали в разнообразные музыкальные рейтинги и списки, ему присуждали престижнейшие премии и награды… Однако он лишь многозначительно отмахивался от любых ярлыков, стремясь к достижению идеального звучания, пытаясь постичь подлинное исполнительское искусство.

Хендрикс был неутомимым искателем и энтузиастом, мечтал научиться «читать» музыку. Он искренне ненавидел и корил себя за то, что не мог взять определенные ноты, сыграть все звуки, мелькавшие в его голове и воображении.

Джими Хендрикс. Когда музыка становится религией...
Джими Хендрикс. Когда музыка становится религией…

Детство

Будущий гитарист появился на свет 27 ноября 1942 года в пригороде Сиэтла в простой семье американских работяг. При рождении он был наречен Джонни Алленом, однако вернувшийся с фронта отец крайне негативно отреагировал на подобный выбор имени и изменил его на Джеймс Маршалл. Известный публике псевдоним «Джими Хендрикс» закрепился за музыкантом только в 1966 году, когда он впервые прибыл в Лондон. Подобрать более звучное и запоминающееся имя ему посоветовал бас-гитарист Час Чандлер, тогда игравший в группе «The Animals». Впоследствии он стал менеджером Хендрикса.

Джеймс Аллен Хендрикс с сыном Джими
Джеймс Аллен Хендрикс с сыном Джими

Легендарный гитарист так и не окончил среднюю школу, вместо этого поступив на службу в американскую армию. Он стал членом 101-ой воздушно-десантной группы штата Кентукки, где числился стажером-парашютистом. Спустя год на счету Хендрикса уже было более двадцати прыжков. Во время двадцать шестого, что-то пошло не так, и музыкант неудачно приземлился, сломав лодыжки. По решению медицинской комиссии он был списан в резерв и отправился домой.

Джими Хендрикс в армии
Джими Хендрикс в армии

Первая гитара

Отец Хендрикса был человеком суровым и очень требовательным, однако это не помешало ему вовремя разглядеть в сыне музыкальные задатки. Когда Джими исполнилось пятнадцать лет, он вручил ему первую гитару. Это был акустический инструмент, купленный в местной лавке за пять долларов. Карьеру гитариста Хендрикс начинал под псевдонимом «Моррис Джеймс». Вернувшись из армии, он полностью погрузился в музыку, забыв об остальных занятиях и увлечениях. Благодаря этому к середине 1960-х годов ему удалось поработать с такими культовыми исполнителями как Тина Тернер, Сэм Кук и многими другими.

Little Richard and Jimi Hendrix
Little Richard and Jimi Hendrix

В Лондоне

Решив последовать примеру своих британских гитарных кумиров, Хендрикс отправился покорять Лондон. В столицу Великобритании он прибыл 24 сентября 1966 года. На тот момент единственным имуществом артиста была небольшая дорожная сумка, в которой умещалась любимая гитара, комплект сменной одежды, крем от прыщей и пластиковые бигуди розового цвета. Компанию Хендриксу составлял его верный приятель (а по совместительству менеджер) Час Чандлер. Именно он и уговорил будущую звезду рока на это путешествие, пообещав встречу с Эриком Клэптоном. Удивительно, но Чандлеру удалось сдержать обещание, и уже спустя 48 часов его подопечный стоял на одной сцене с популярной в то время группой «Cream».

Час Чандлер (басист Animals и менеджер Джими) вместе с Джими Хендриксом
Час Чандлер (басист Animals и менеджер Джими) вместе с Джими Хендриксом

Публика была заворожена неординарными и экстравагантными выступлениями Хендрикса: он мог играть одними зубами, держа инструмент за спиной, и при этом не касаясь струн руками. Такая виртуозная техника помогла музыканту заработать славу шоу-мена.

Jimi Hendrix (Джими Хендрикс)
Jimi Hendrix (Джими Хендрикс)

Хендрикс признавался, что его любимая гитара – «Fender Stratocaste». Однако на выступлениях он иногда использовал такие модели как «Fender Duo-Sonic», «Flying V» и «Les Paul».

Jimi Hendrix (Джими Хендрикс)
Jimi Hendrix (Джими Хендрикс)

Собственную музыку гитарист называл «электрической церковью», воспринимал её как настоящую религию. Вера Хендрикса нашла свое отражение в Музее поп-культуры в Сиэтле, один из залов которого носит название «Небесный храм». При его создании дизайнеры вдохновлялись идеями Хендрикса, пытались смоделировать такое место, где бы люди разных рас и возрастов могли собираться вместе, чтобы просто прочувствовать музыку.

Музей поп-культуры в Сиэтле, один из залов которого носит название «Небесный храм»
Музей поп-культуры в Сиэтле, один из залов которого носит название «Небесный храм»

Одним из поклонников творчества Хендрикса был Пол Аллен, более известный как соучредитель компании «Microsoft». Он также родился в Сиэтле, был крайне раздосадован тем, что в его городе нет ни одного места, посвященного гитаристу. В 1992 году Аллен выступил с предложением учредить музей имени Джима Хендрикса. Семья музыканта поддержала идею, однако в ходе реализации задуманного к проекту подключился Фрэнк Гери. Он значительно расширил начальную идею, превратив дом славы Хендрикса в огромный инновационный комплекс искусства «Experience Music Project».

В 1969 году гитарист выступил с гимном США на популярном музыкальном фестивале в Вудстоке. Вопреки рассмотренному мнению, акция вовсе не носила патриотический характер, а задумывалась как протест против оккупации Вьетнама. Тогдашний менеджер советовал исполнителю отказаться от опасной задумки, однако он не поддался на уговоры. Близким другом Хендрикса был джазовый музыкант Майлс Дейвис, с которым он сблизился в период серьезных «личных проблем». Вместе они планировали записать альбом, однако мечты о дуэте так и не были претворены в жизнь. Позднее критики отмечали, что именно завязавшаяся дружба с Джими заставила Дейвиса полностью уйти от классических джазовых форм.

Джими Хендрикс
Джими Хендрикс

Джими Хендрикс ушел из жизни 18 сентября 1970 года. Вокруг его безвременной кончины витает множество загадочных теорий и легенд. Его тогдашняя подружка, Моника Шарлотт Данемен, ставшая свидетельницей безвременной кончины, утверждала, что музыкант умер, захлебнувшись собственной рвотой. Однако показания женщины были такими путанными, странными, а иногда и вовсе противоречивыми, что нередко подвергались сомнениями, добавляли трагичному событию еще больше мистицизма. Так или иначе, гитарист скончался на двадцать седьмом году жизни, заставив своих преданных поклонников облачиться в траурные вещи. Он ушел на пике популярности, яркой вспышкой отпечатавшись в памяти миллионов!

Вспоминаем легендарнейшие рок-оперы за всю историю жанра – часть первая

Лучшие рок-оперы в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»: подборка, исполнители, интересные факты Более полувека назад The Who выпустили «Tommy», и познакомили поклонников с новой...

Карлос Сантана переносится в «путешествие по воспоминаниям и глубоким размышлениям»

Гитарист Карлос Сантана: интересные факты, интервью, фото и видео, треки Карлос Сантана – легенда латиноамериканского рока, гитарист, который не просто сумел добиться успеха на мировой...

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...
Похожие статьи

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...