Author:
Category:

How the Cranberries ' song "Zombie" helped end hostilities

On August 31, 1994, a few months after the release of this composition, the IRA announced the end of hostilities after 25 years of conflict.

"The Cranberries" - "Zombie" (1994): the meaning of the song, video clip, public outcry

"Zombie" - The song protest Irish rock band "The Cranberries". The track was released in autumn 1994 and was leading composition from the second studio album "No Need to Argue". By "Zombie" is the vocalist of the band Dolores O'Riordan. Song was in the lead long time on the charts Australia and some countries Europeespecially France and Germany.

The song is about war in Northern Ireland between people who wanted to remain part of UK, and those who wanted to turn the region into a separate country. This conflict is source violence, suffering and death of people throughout over a hundred years, since section Ireland. Irish Republican Army (IRA) и loyalist paramilitaries fought each other prolonged time.

One of the covers of the single "Zombie" by The Cranberries
One of the covers of the single "Zombie" by The Cranberries

History of creation

Text songs were written after bombing IRA in Warrington, Cheshire, England on March 20 1993. IN result military operations died two children: three years old Jonathan Ball died instantly, and the twelve-year-old Tim Perry died five days later in the hospital. Yet 56 human received injured, four of them are serious. Both sides accuse each other in death: British police accuse IRA in installation bombs; The IRA believes that British law enforcement ignored warnings about mopping up district.

"The Cranberries" wrote "Zombie" during tour 1993 in England. Vocalist Dolores O'Riordan admitted:

“On the road, tracks are written faster and livelier. "Zombie" turned out quite by accident. If you compare it to the songs from our first album, you can see how we gradually moved away from the restrained sound to the rock and roll style.

Dolores O'Riordan at the beginning of her journey...
Dolores O'Riordan

The meaning of the song

The composition looks like either conversations about people, losing their souls and becoming meaningless machines for killings, or as random images zombie against a cool musical background. First verse quite vividly describes the tears and the severity of the loss mothers and gives political shade single: "Another head hangs lowly / Child is slowly taken" - "With a bowed head / The child is taken away." Words "slowly taken" may also be a reference to the fact that many children and adults through deceit make you believe that they struggling for justice, although in reality everything is quite different.

There are also other linesworth draw Attention. "And the violence caused such silence" ("And the violence caused silence") can mean that each side made such terrible wars atrocitiesthat none of them is ready to lead negotiationand therefore the violence continued. "But you see it's not me, / It's not my family / In your head, in your head they are fighting" ) – given phrase stands out as talk with someone who going crazy and tries to explain death and murder - it all happens in head, not really. It is also possible that interpretation: all violencethat a person has ever experienced in relation to himself, the way he suppressed all emotions and experiences made it thoughtless and indifferentsimilar to zombie.

The image of Dolores O'Riordan the vocalist for the video "Zombie" by "The Cranberries
The image of vocalist Dolores O'Riordan for the clip "Zombie" of the group "The Cranberries"

Specific link to 1916 ("It's the same old theme / Since 1916" ("It's still the same old theme / Since 1916") - we are talking about Easter uprising, armed collision in Northern Ireland during Easter week, in April 1916. Insurrection was started by Irish Republicansto put the end British rule in the country and create an independent, free state, while the United Kingdom was involved in World War I.

If you want to better understand what is meaning track, you need to carefully listen carefully into words, gradually scrolling them in my head and convert pay attention to the feelings they evoke in you. Such deep song it is forbidden interpret only on one side, it must be considered from different angles and search secret meanings.

One of the covers of the single "Zombie" by The Cranberries
One of the covers of the single "Zombie" by The Cranberries

May exist many versions about what is really means this composition. But for sure it's clear: war - it's unjustified crueltywhere innocent people die, even children. None politics, freedom and philosophy cannot justify.

Video clip

The video for "Zombie" was filmed Samuel Bayerwho arrived in Belfast shortly before termination fire to film footage in the area. In video no staged scenes, these are real British soldiers and local children. Bayer mixes it with startling images of Dolores O'Riordan standing by cross and covered gold paint, which look the same gilded children.

Paint yourself gold for the video was idea O'Riordan. explaining symbolism, She said:

"It was metaphorical for all the pain that was inflicted on innocent people, and a bit religious."

In the UK, the song took only 14th place in the charts. The success of the video prevented ban BBC and Irish broadcaster RTE: they didn't like riot scenesfilmed in Belfast and children playing into the war. They showed edited version video. As of 2022, the original version of the video has scored 1.1 billion views on YouTube.

August 31, 1994, in a few months after release this composition, IRA announced Completion hostilities after 25 years conflict.

Covers

"Zombie" - very powerful The song, but it is also quite simply sing and play, so the composition was cover many times in different genres and often performed by contestants in TV show. For example, the Gibraltar metal band Breed77 recorded her version and included it on the album "Insects" in 2009. Italian group New Hope covered the song for the album "What Never Dies" in the same year.

In 2018 American groove metal band "Bad Wolves" released great cover with at least great clip: a girl appears in the video in a "gilded" image Dolores O'Riordan.

"Mongol Shudan - domestic kings of anarcho-rock

Mongol Shuudan" band: history of creation, cast, best songs, interesting facts, influence Russian rock is a unique genre, which gave the domestic listener a huge collection of material, which can be the envy of...

A Real People's Idol: Joe Dassin and Russia

All about Joe Dassin: early years, hits and love for Russia Despite the fact that many artists often left Russia because they were not given...

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...
Related Articles

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Автор:
Категория:

Как песня «Zombie» группы «The Cranberries» помогла прекратить военные действия

31 августа 1994 года, через несколько месяцев после релиза данной композиции, ИРА заявила о завершении военных действий после 25 лет конфликта.

«The Cranberries» – «Zombie» (1994): смысл песни, видеоклип, общественный резонанс

«Zombie»песня протеста ирландской рок-группы «The Cranberries». Трек вышел осенью 1994 года и был ведущей композицией со второй студийной пластинки «No Need to Argue». Автором «Zombie» является вокалистка коллектива Долорес О’Риордан. Песня лидировала продолжительное время в чартах Австралии и некоторых странах Европы, в частности Франции и Германии.

Песня рассказывает о войне в Северной Ирландии между людьми, которые хотели остаться частью Великобритании, и теми, кто хотел превратить регион в отдельную страну. Этот конфликт является источником насилия, страданий и смерти людей на протяжении более ста лет, с момента раздела Ирландии. Ирландская республиканская армия (ИРА) и лоялистские военизированные формирования воевали друг с другом продолжительное время.

Одна из обложек сингла «Zombie» группы «The Cranberries»
Одна из обложек сингла «Zombie» группы «The Cranberries»

История создания

Текст песни был написан после бомбёжки ИРА в Уоррингтоне, Чешир, Англия, 20 марта 1993 года. В результате военных действий погибло двое детей: трёхлетний Джонатан Болл скончался мгновенно, а двенадцатилетний Тим Пэрри скончался через пять дней в больнице. Еще 56 человек получили ранения, четверо из них – серьёзные. Обе стороны обвиняют друг друга в смертях: британская полиция обвиняет ИРА в установке бомб; ИРА считает, что британская правоохранители проигнорировали предупреждения о зачистке района.

«The Cranberries» написали «Zombie» во время тура 1993 года по Англии. Вокалистка Долорес О’Риордан признавалась:

«В пути треки пишутся быстрее и живее. «Zombie» получился совершенно случайно. Если сравнивать его с композициями из нашего первого альбома, то можно заметить, как мы постепенно отходили от сдержанного звучания к рок-н-ролльному стилю».

Долорес О'Риордан в начале своего пути...
Долорес О’Риордан

Смысл песни

Композиция выглядит либо как разговоры о людях, теряющих свои души и становящихся бессмысленными машинами для убийств, либо как случайные образы зомби на крутом музыкальном фоне. Первый стих довольно ярко описывает слёзы и тяжесть утраты матери и придаёт политический оттенок синглу: «Another head hangs lowly / Child is slowly taken» – «С поникшей головой / Ребёнка прочь уносят». Слова «slowly taken» могут также быть ссылкой на то, что многих детей и взрослых путём обмана заставляют поверить, будто бы они борются за справедливость, хотя на самом деле всё совсем иначе.

Есть и другие строчки, на которые стоит обратить внимание. «And the violence caused such silence» («И насилие вызвало молчание») может означать, что каждая сторона войны совершила такие ужасные зверства, что ни одна из них не готова вести переговоры, и поэтому насилие продолжалось. «But you see it’s not me, / It’s not my family / In your head, in your head they are fighting» («Но ты видишь: это не я/ Это не моя семья / В твоей голове, в твоей голове они дерутся»)– данная фраза выделяется как разговор с кем-то, кто сходит с ума и пытается объяснить, что смерть и убийство – это всё происходит в голове, а не самом деле. Возможна и такая трактовка: всё насилие, которое человек когда-либо испытывал по отношению к себе, то, как он подавлял все эмоции и переживания, сделало его бездумным и безразличным, похожего на зомби.

Образ вокалистки Долорес О'Риордан для клипа «Zombie» группы «The Cranberries»
Образ вокалистки Долорес О’Риордан для клипа «Zombie» группы «The Cranberries»

Конкретная ссылка на 1916 год («It’s the same old theme / Since 1916» («Это всё та же старая темя / С 1916-го») – речь идёт о Пасхальном восстании, вооружённом столкновении в Северной Ирландии во время Пасхальной недели, в апреле 1916 года. Восстание было начато ирландскими республиканцами, чтобы положить конец британскому правлению в стране и создать независимое, свободное государство, в то время как Соединённое Королевство было вовлечено в Первую мировую войну.

Если вы хотите лучше понять, в чём смысл трека, нужно внимательно вслушиваться в слова, постепенно прокручивая их в голове и обращать внимания на те чувства, что они у вас вызывают. Такую глубокую песню нельзя интерпретировать только с одной стороны, её нужно рассматривать с разных ракурсов и искать потайные смыслы.

Одна из обложек сингла «Zombie» группы «The Cranberries»
Одна из обложек сингла «Zombie» группы «The Cranberries»

Может существовать много версий про то, что на самом деле означает данная композиция. Но точно понятно: война – это неоправданная жестокость, где погибают невинные люди, даже дети. Никакая политика, свобода и философия не могут её оправдать.

Видеоклип

Клип на «Zombie» был снят Сэмюэлем Байером, прилетевшим в Белфаст незадолго до прекращения огня, чтобы снять кадры в этом районе. В видео нет постановочных сцен, это настоящие британские солдаты и местные дети. Байер смешивает это с поразительными изображениями Долорес О’Риордан, стоящей у креста и покрытой золотой краской, на которую смотрят такие же позолоченные дети.

Покрасить себя в золото для видео было идеей О’Риордан. Объясняя символизм, она рассказала:

«Это было метафорично для всей боли, которая причинялась ни в чём не виновным людям, и немного религиозно».

В Великобритании песня заняла всего лишь 14-е место в чартах. Успеху видео помешал запрет BBC и ирландской телерадиокомпании RTE: им не нравились сцены беспорядков, снятые в Белфасте, и дети, играющие в войну. Они показывали отредактированную версию видео. По состоянию на 2022 год оригинальная версия клипа набрала 1,1 миллиарда просмотров на YouTube.

31 августа 1994 года, через несколько месяцев после релиза данной композиции, ИРА заявила о завершении военных действий после 25 лет конфликта.

Каверы

«Zombie» – очень мощная песня, но её также довольно просто петь и играть, поэтому композиция была перепета много раз в различных жанрах и часто исполнялась конкурсантами в телешоу. Например, гибралтарская метал-группа «Breed77» записала свою версию и включила её в альбом «Insects» в 2009 году. Итальянская группа «New Hope» перепела песню для альбома «What Never Dies» в том же году.

В 2018 году американская грув-метал группа «Bad Wolves» выпустила великолепный кавер с не менее прекрасным клипом: в видео появляется девушка в «позолоченном» образе Долорес О’Риордан.

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...
Похожие статьи

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...

Чего вы ещё не знали о мировой легенде Мирей Матьё – рассказываем историю, полную удивительных эпизодов

История Мирей Матьё в фактах: от ранних лет до мировой славы Одна из легендарнейших французских певиц в истории, Мирей Матьё завоевала свой статус легенды полностью...

«Две личности в одном разуме»: вспоминаем Иэна Кёртиса

История Иэна Кёртиса, рано ушедшего, но такого талантливого вокалиста Joy Division К нему можно относиться по-разному, и всё же мало кто станет оспаривать тот факт,...